Notices
RC Nitro Stadium Trucks Discuss all aspects of rc nitro stadium trucks here

engine stalls when brake applied

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2014, 01:31 PM
Tfrank3

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default engine stalls when brake applied

I have a Duratrax Raze ST and whenever I try to either go in reverse, or slow the car down by applying the brake, the engine dies out and stalls. Is this due to my low idle speed being too rich, or is there another cause to this problem? The truck is completely broke in and this has been a persistent problem from the beginning. Disclaimer--be a little more specific than usual when giving advice or explaining how to tinker with something...I am new to the nitro rc world.
Old 01-10-2014, 03:48 PM
Cowboy420

The problem is that your idle screw is in to far, so when you hit the brake the carb is closing and killing the engine. You need to turn the screw so the carb is open 1mm when the brake is applied. Look in your manual for the diagram of the engine and it will tell you where the idle screw is. If you pull off the air filter you can see into the carb and check the size of the gap.
Old 02-01-2014, 10:01 AM
dee_the_narcotic

it may also be a broken clutch spring. my jato was doing the same thing on a perfect tune and my lhs found a snapped clutch spring. if tuning doesnt work it wont hurt to check.
Old 02-27-2014, 11:21 PM
ReMiXeDg

Most likely could be due to you hitting the brakes the carburetor is closing. Remove your air filter and when you apply brakes or come to a full stop try to see if your carb is open at least 1mm if not then you found your problem

Look at this picture for example:
http://i1.ytimg.com/vi/qBZbpPpD4ag/maxresdefault.jpg
Old 03-01-2014, 04:52 PM
Cowboy420

Originally Posted by ReMiXeDg