RC Nitro Stadium Trucks Discuss all aspects of rc nitro stadium trucks here

Official HPI MT2 Thread

Old 09-14-2007, 04:51 PM
  #15876
stadium truck freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: london, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 553
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

lol thanks . its just i want to use 3 shoe clutches and k factory clutch bells just im not sure they will fit . maby if i fit ligter springs ?
stadium truck freak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2007, 05:07 PM
  #15877
catbutt
 
catbutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Seaside, CA
Posts: 214
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

Quote:
ORIGINAL: 46u

Yes my Hyper 8 wing mounts look similar and is why I was asking and if so the front mounts must have been cut off.

Wonder if this is what he is using?
http://www.neweramodels.com/item.cgi...s&part_id=3115

That's the correct one, 46u, I got mine at New Era models along with the wing. Both are on the MT2 hop-up page. I'm not sure if it will fit on the MT, as the shock towers are different from th MT2. My brother-in-law has an MT, the towers look similar to mine, but they don't look as beefy. I'm sure they could be made to fit with minor modding. 46u, do you even run the MT towers, or have you switched to the ones for the MT2? To get the wing to mount correctly, I had to dremmel a flat spot on the X cross brace reinforcement area on the shock towers. The X comes to a point in the middle, this is the area I ground flat so the wing mounting plate would fit flat against the shock tower. I only had to grind off alittle, so I doubt much structural support was lost. The wing works great, keeps the butt on the road in high speed runs and improves overall stability. It adds some weight to the rear, but it isn't much, really. The handling characteristics while jumping changed slightly, but not much. It is still mostly hands free while jumping, but now has a tendency to nose down after the apex of a long jump, due to the weight in the rear making it do a slight nose up on takeoff. After most of the inertia has been lost after the apex of the jump, it noses down slightly. This is countered easily and still very controllable. It had this tendency before the addition of the wing, it is just exaggerated alittle now. The extra stability is worth the extra weight, IMHO, plus it looks bad a** and who doesn't want that?!
catbutt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2007, 06:44 PM
  #15878
boohoo
 
boohoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: bathgate, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

any one know were i can get HPI MT2 Purple Hop Up Engine Mount with Screws tried tower hobbies and it said dont have it cheapest i have found is £22 excluding p@p
boohoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2007, 06:54 PM
  #15879
46u
 
46u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22,095
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

These mounts? http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXCLR3&P=Z Those are the ones I run. I like them better then the cheap ones as the are made of billet which is stronger then the cast and have an extra mounting hold where it bolts to the chassis.

My MT is a MT 1 3/4 and the only thing still MT1 one is the chassis, upper deck, radio box and slipper clutch housing but I have a MT2 slipper clutch. Every thing else is MT2 or MT2 SS.
46u is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 05:25 AM
  #15880
boohoo
 
boohoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: bathgate, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 273
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

thanx i couldnt find them anywere kept saying no item found
boohoo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 11:58 AM
  #15881
grbxtony
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: st. paul, MN
Posts: 339
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

would this http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXPNC1 work? on the mt2? its only a inch or so longer
grbxtony is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 05:31 PM
  #15882
catbutt
 
catbutt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Seaside, CA
Posts: 214
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

I have seen a few people who have mounted savage bodies on their MTs, just not that particular body. Likely you would need to cut new body mount holes and possibly enlarge/change the shape of the wheel wells. Post some pics of the finished product if you decide to get it, it should look sweet with that shell.
catbutt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 11:52 AM
  #15883
46u
 
46u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22,095
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

I guess you could but the MT is 1/10 scale and the Savage is 1/8. Might look funny but hard to say will out actually putting it on and seeing. Some where in this LONG tread there is pictures of the Savage doge charger body on a MT. Many off brand bodies like Pro Line you have to drill the body holes and custom fit them.
46u is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 12:17 PM
  #15884
calvino
 
calvino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 8,958
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread


Quote:
ORIGINAL: 46u

I guess you could but the MT is 1/10 scale and the Savage is 1/8. Might look funny but hard to say will out actually putting it on and seeing. Some where in this LONG tread there is pictures of the Savage doge charger body on a MT. Many off brand bodies like Pro Line you have to drill the body holes and custom fit them.
which could be an advantage
calvino is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 12:42 PM
  #15885
crohbober
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: fort lee, NJ
Posts: 738
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

lol i dont think it looks good. i know a person with that body on his mt2.. i forgot who it was but it looks weird. the body like covers over the wheels and its just huge
crohbober is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 05:37 PM
  #15886
grbxtony
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: st. paul, MN
Posts: 339
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

k well thanks guys...yeah i wish that there were more body options for the Mt2 but i like the jato body by proline so possibly i could redrill that?
grbxtony is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 06:13 PM
  #15887
grbxtony
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: st. paul, MN
Posts: 339
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

mmk i think this would be awesome! http://cgi.ebay.com/HPI-1970-Plymout...ayphotohosting

the jato body would be harder to mount because of chape but this just would be badass
grbxtony is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 03:57 AM
  #15888
evo165
 
evo165's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Singapore, SINGAPORE
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

My new twin 775size motor starter box


Truck on box!!


Matching engine head with my body colour ya..


Killer OS 18TZ is finally here, may god bless me and the truck...


Let me know how do you great guys think. Hopefully i'll be able to run in the TZ very soon once i get 2 of 7.2V battery for the starter box.
evo165 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 03:58 AM
  #15889
cyrustam
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: hong kong, HONG KONG
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

I am sorry. I am from Hong Kong. I 've got a 2nd hand MT2 last month and I just buy a new engine for it. The problem comes now. The new engine carb is "slide" mode but not that one of the stock one (rotatary). According to manual, I use the servo horn of #85039 but I cannot fix it well. The opening of carb of the new engine and the brake are not that smooth......

Do your big brother encounter this problem before? any advice??

thanks in advance.
cyrustam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 04:00 AM
  #15890
cyrustam
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: hong kong, HONG KONG
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

evo 165,

could you pls show me how could you connect the servo to your brake and engine carb?

thanks !
cyrustam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 04:09 AM
  #15891
evo165
 
evo165's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Singapore, SINGAPORE
Posts: 103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

HI cyrustam, mine is the rotatary carb which is the same connection of the stock engine carb. The part number you got is the correct one for the slide carb. Think those are the problems you might be facing here.

1. You may conect wrongly with the new slide servo horn. i've attact a link of the picture as slide carb for you to refer.

2. You may need to re-adjust your carb position as seen in the link to allow the smooth operation of the slide carb.

Hope it'll help...

http://tsais.com/products/exhaust/tu...E1019/RR02.jpg
evo165 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 04:35 AM
  #15892
cyrustam
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: hong kong, HONG KONG
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

thank you so much!

I think I've got the clue in making it.

thanks again !!
cyrustam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 09:52 AM
  #15893
kelloggair
 
kelloggair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: centennial, CO
Posts: 73
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

hey every body i am am syked because i just got my mt2. but the only prob is that i killed my brake soon after i got and installed a new one and am set to go now all i have to do is to get it to idle right and ill be ready to run.(i know i said i killed my brake and that was because i tightened them down to tight and melted them now i have to readjust the idle because what i thought the right speed was i later found out was just the brakes restricting it) any help would be appreciated.
kelloggair is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 11:02 AM
  #15894
46u
 
46u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22,095
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

If you have the plastic brake disc get a fiber one as it is much better all around!!!!

As far as putting a slide carburetor engine in a MT HPI recommends this.
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...889+&search=Go
I am sure there are other ways but for the price might cut down on the hassles.
46u is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 12:41 PM
  #15895
mark_y
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Prishtina, YUGOSLAVIA
Posts: 95
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

Does anyone know about the proline moab tires, if they are compatible with the MT-2?? Any suggetions about tires and what works best for the MT-2?
mark_y is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 03:41 PM
  #15896
doesgo
 
doesgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Andover, MN
Posts: 489
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

The Moabs are made for 2.2" wheels, which is what the MT2 uses, so yes, they'll physically bolt on. The only problem is they're taller than "standard" 2.2" truck tires, so you might need to do a little trimming on the body behind the front tires to open up the wheel opening so the tire tread doesn't catch when the wheels are turned.

I've been running Masher 2000s on my NMT for years and I think it looks great, a little more meaty than the stock tires. The Moabs are the same height as the Masher 2000s, but the Moabs are a little narrower.

I've got some Moabs I could bolt onto my NMT if you'd like to see how it looks.
doesgo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 03:43 PM
  #15897
doesgo
 
doesgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Andover, MN
Posts: 489
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread


Quote:
ORIGINAL: cyrustam

evo 165,

could you pls show me how could you connect the servo to your brake and engine carb?

thanks !
Here's how I did mine...

doesgo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 05:40 PM
  #15898
mark_y
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Prishtina, YUGOSLAVIA
Posts: 95
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

Thanks for the insight. Yes... Can you please show a photo with the Moabs?
mark_y is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 07:11 PM
  #15899
kelloggair
 
kelloggair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: centennial, CO
Posts: 73
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

thanks for the info on the brake i went and got a fiber one and it works great. The problem that i am having now is that idk how to tune the engine[]. I have to get it to idle, run at low to high speeds, and when i go full throttle it quits and does not have alot of smoke. am i running to lean?[]
kelloggair is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 07:30 PM
  #15900
kelloggair
 
kelloggair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: centennial, CO
Posts: 73
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

i have a four month old mt2 that was previosly owned by a friend and need help tuneing it
kelloggair is offline  
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:58 PM.