Notices
RC Nitro Stadium Trucks Discuss all aspects of rc nitro stadium trucks here

Official HPI MT2 Thread

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2007, 09:18 PM
catbutt

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Official HPI MT2 Thread

I have a question about shimming the diffs, maybe someone here can answer it for me. I recently lost my rear final and the front is half gone, the heavy duty replacements are on the way. I have read about shimming them, and have seen the diagrams from HPI on the subject. Heres the question: HPI shows the diff shimmed from between the outside bearing and the final drive gear, which to me seems counterintuitive. The idea is to remove the excess play and have the gears mesh better, but shimming from this area moves the planet gear FURTHER from the other, smaller planet gears. Now I'm no expert, but it seems if one wanted the gears to mesh better, wouldn't you shim from between the final gear and the planet gear, moving the planet gear CLOSER to the other planet gears, thus improving the mesh and removing the play? The same question about the drive pinion to the final gear, which HPI says shim from the outside, again moving the pinion AWAY from the final gear. I find this all confusing, but as I am not a mechanic I really have no idea, it just seems to make sense to me to move to gears toward one another as opposed to away. I hope someone knows what I'm talking about and can help illuminate this for me. Failing that, I plan on calling HPI for an explanation and possible replacement of my faulty diff gears. Thanks for all the help and this great forum!

PS. couldn't find the diagram for the final shimming, just the diff, so here it is:
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn37329.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	16.0 KB
ID:	733372  
Old 08-01-2007, 10:40 AM
grbxtony

wow thanks guys! i didn't think about it flipping but yeah awesome tires....its between the mashers and the 18ss tires.
Old 08-01-2007, 12:57 PM
rapsucks_07