RC Nitro Stadium Trucks Discuss all aspects of rc nitro stadium trucks here

-Official Traxxas JATO Thread-

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2006, 08:00 PM
LearjetMech

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: -Official Traxxas JATO Thread-

Hey all,
Totally new to this spectrum of RC. I have been into airplanes (RC and Full Scale)for some time, worked on real airplanes for awhile, and now I am a maintenence instructor. Anyway, I went out and finally purchased a Jato 3.3. Always wanted a nitro truck and finally boned up and got permission and bought it. Got it broken in today. Started to lean it out and that sucker flat sh*ts and gits!!! I know nothing about the car side of the house, but I have lots of rc experience. A few questions I have..... The whole radio setup seems kind of cheap to me. I think I can live with it for awhile, but the steering servo I think needs to be changed. What servo is recommended that is relatively inexpensive and/or linkage should be changed? 2. The tires are NOT good for anything but pavement, as I'm sure all of you know. I need a tip on what tire to buy for grass/dirt. Again I have no clue.
I look forward to talking with everyone here that I can. Dont laugh at me for asking stupid questions. If ya got any airplane questions (real ones) I can help answer them. By the way does anyone know what JATO stands for (This is a quiz question)!
Nik
Old 12-23-2006, 08:57 PM
osuwins

my advice to you would be to just start reading the threads, you will get your answer if asked but reading helps to, the dirt hawgs r a good allterrain tire, thats what i mostly run,, JATO--JET ASSISTANT TAKE OFF[ have fun with your jato
Old 12-23-2006, 09:00 PM
LearjetMech

I hear ya. Correct on the acronym, except "assisted". Anyway this thread is HUGE! I'll check ou those tires. Thanks!!
N
Old 12-23-2006, 09:32 PM
outwheelin