RC Nitro Stadium Trucks Discuss all aspects of rc nitro stadium trucks here

*~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

Reply
Old 01-08-2007, 03:20 PM
  #226
ampresearch143
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , FL
Posts: 48
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

they wont fit the kit version with the quick changing tires but they do fit on the RTR version.
the ones that come on the RTR are a bit diffferent then the older ones. the new ones have an inset lugnut design instead of the surface mound like the old ones.

the very first thing i did was put on new tires so ihad to get new rims and used the old gt rims no problem at all

also if your in a jam and your Local shop does not have some of the gt2 parts I am finding that ALOT of the B4 parts go right on with very little or no modification. heck i even used a rear hub carrier from the B4. worked like a charm.
ampresearch143 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 04:57 PM
  #227
ImGoinRCn
 
ImGoinRCn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 45
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

Thanks for the help so far. I decided to get the rtr version and had quite a few T3/B3 style rims and tires but this may give me an excuse to buy new tires.
ImGoinRCn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 08:05 AM
  #228
Wide Open
 
Wide Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 3,127
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

i got my gt2 running finally. im going to run it at the park this weekend to get it adjusted well and then ill start looking into racing
Wide Open is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 12:54 PM
  #229
jneff28
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Springfield, IL
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

Have they changed the engine in the GT2 RTR over the previous Thunder Tiger .15? Just wondering....I had the GT RTR with the .12
jneff28 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 12:59 PM
  #230
ampresearch143
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , FL
Posts: 48
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

as far as i know it is the same power plant
ampresearch143 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 03:15 PM
  #231
Joebaby35
 
Joebaby35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bay Shore, NY
Posts: 375
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*


Quote:
ORIGINAL: jneff28

Have they changed the engine in the GT2 RTR over the previous Thunder Tiger .15? Just wondering....I had the GT RTR with the .12
I never seen the RTR come with a .12 only the .15????

The NTC3 RTR came with a .12, maybe they mixed it up at the factory and someone out there got an NTC3 RTR with a .15 engine[sm=confused.gif].
Joebaby35 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 08:43 PM
  #232
Team Associated
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SoCal, CA
Posts: 20
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

The GT2 only comes with a .15
Team Associated is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 08:15 AM
  #233
Wide Open
 
Wide Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 3,127
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

are you sure it came with the .12? like, its marked on the case? that would be something to contact AE about and see if theyll fix it for you.
Wide Open is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 09:03 PM
  #234
Pro Twister Mods
 
Pro Twister Mods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Springfield, TN
Posts: 205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

Hey guys i'm new to theis forum, just found the GT2 thread, glad to be here I love this truck
Pro Twister Mods is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 10:52 PM
  #235
Wide Open
 
Wide Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 3,127
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Pro Twister Mods

Hey guys i'm new to theis forum, just found the GT2 thread, glad to be here I love this truck
im enjoying mine so far, but unfortunatly i got a bad clutch spring from the factory, so im stuck waiting on new springs now its interesting because the other spring is perfectly fine.
Wide Open is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 11:49 PM
  #236
Pro Twister Mods
 
Pro Twister Mods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Springfield, TN
Posts: 205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

wide open, we all have had this problem, and to anyone thinking of getting a gt2 just take them out and install 1.0 springs. some of our racers with the gt2 had them break on motor break in. they were just a bad batch, bit i would rather spend $1.50 on new springs than deal with that mess. I was able to get the updated gt2 and have had no issues with it. It is a great piece and i love racing when i get the time, i am normally just watching but i have raced it 4-5 times this indoor winter season.
Pro Twister Mods is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 12:27 AM
  #237
Pro Twister Mods
 
Pro Twister Mods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Springfield, TN
Posts: 205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

wide open, i would just replace them with 1.0 springs. we had guys brak the kit springs while breaking in there motors . Just a bad batch from AE. Let me know if i can help with anything else.
Pro Twister Mods is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 02:11 AM
  #238
ThunderbirdJunkie
 
ThunderbirdJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwood, OH
Posts: 22,101
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

Are they using the NTC3 style clutch now? I always wondered why they weren't running that in the GT...
ThunderbirdJunkie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2007, 08:15 AM
  #239
Wide Open
 
Wide Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 3,127
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

are these the springs youre talking about?
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXBMD3&P=Z
Wide Open is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 07:54 PM
  #240
Wide Open
 
Wide Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 3,127
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

here she is all finished
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq48475.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	100.4 KB
ID:	601120   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ie98023.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	98.0 KB
ID:	601121   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gl20120.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	100.4 KB
ID:	601122  
Wide Open is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 12:22 PM
  #241
Pro Twister Mods
 
Pro Twister Mods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Springfield, TN
Posts: 205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

nope these are it, ASC2306. Nice looking truck by the way!
Pro Twister Mods is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 02:44 PM
  #242
Wide Open
 
Wide Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 3,127
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Pro Twister Mods

nope these are it, ASC2306. Nice looking truck by the way!
thanks, it was a simple paint job, but i think it turned out well. thanks for the part number, i put it into my wishlist on tower and if these ones break ill order that set. that .12 TZ is an insane motor. i have a feeling its out performing the use of the transmission. i can get the mixture on the high end adjusted well, but it refuses to go above a certain speed, even if i add more throttle. im in the process of limiting the throttle back to see if i can find the spot where everything maxes out. its kind of a strange issue to describe, and i hope im doing the right thing to keep from tearing up my tranny! its all trial and error i guess.
Wide Open is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 02:58 PM
  #243
Pro Twister Mods
 
Pro Twister Mods's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Springfield, TN
Posts: 205
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

615-207-3569 call me i can help you with that, my team driver runs one of my TZs and we had issues going through diffs, its a simple fix.
Pro Twister Mods is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 05:31 PM
  #244
tattguy12
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: saint paul, MN
Posts: 187
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

how much work or mods did you have to do to run the tz?
tattguy12 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 05:48 PM
  #245
Wide Open
 
Wide Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 3,127
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

the TZ drops right in no problem. the only thing you really need is the short crank version and the adapter nut.
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXJFY7&P=0
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXBMD5&P=M
Wide Open is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 06:46 PM
  #246
ImGoinRCn
 
ImGoinRCn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 45
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

Questions about the stock engine.

Is the stock engine that comes on the RTR a decent one? I'm not needing a full blown mod Nova Rossi or anything like that. Too much HP gets you the freestyle award with the best donuts on the front strech. On my sedan late model, I ran a nice 19 turn,(no pooch), and won points with it and was pretty much the fastest of the field all summer but if I put a good mod in it, it wasn't real predictable even when rolling on the throttle. I mean, if the stock engine is reliable, I'll run it but never delt with a rear exhaust motor, just side in my limited running of nitros. This is on a hard packed dirt track that can get kinda slick after sundown. Thanks for any and all help.

PS If there is a way to make it a little faster and efficient than out of the box, that would be nice too.
ImGoinRCn is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2007, 06:55 PM
  #247
tattguy12
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: saint paul, MN
Posts: 187
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

youll be more than happy with the .15 it is very reliable and keeps a good tune. and because if your racing you can use the rtr motor in most cases so id run it til you decide you need more power which with all nitro drivers it doesnt take long to need more. good luck and in my personal opinion is the rtr is more than enough you can always add upgrades as you go. ill ive done to mine so far is the quick change hubs in the rear.
tattguy12 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 06:47 PM
  #248
nik77356
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Montgomery, TX
Posts: 519
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

with the stock motor all you have to do is take the restrictor ou and you will have all the power you will need. just run that until it wont run anymore and if it were me id probly still get the same engine. its a great engine rtr or not
nik77356 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 08:53 PM
  #249
whoajoe
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The Wet Side, WA
Posts: 243
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

So, I am kind of confused about these engines that fit the GT2. Wide Open's TZ he listed has a really short crank, one of the shortest I have seen, so will the Dynamite cut crank ASC version with the NTC3 clutch nut work in the GT2? I know it is a cheap motor, but I have had great personal experience with these engines so that is what I want to go for. I really do not need to have the fastest engine, but want a .12 that I can race at my local track with. This would be my first kit too, so I want to make sure that I won't need anything when I sit down to build it. I was planning on getting the DX3.0 and using those servos, atleast at the beginning. And then all I pretty much need is an engine, thus my question.
[link]http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products/Default.aspx?ProdId=DYN6508[/link] or even an O.S., because I have run one of them too
[link]http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXNHH0&P=7[/link]
whoajoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2007, 09:15 PM
  #250
whoajoe
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The Wet Side, WA
Posts: 243
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: *~ Official RC10GT2 Thread ~*

Sorry for double posting, but after reading the "GT2 Engines" thread, and hearing what ThunderbirdJunkie and Wide Open had to say I am looking at the ST12R and the SH 12. But the problem with the SH is that it has a slide carb, can that work? But then again it comes with an SG shaft. I am so confused. All I pretty much want is a .12 that will work on the GT2 without taking total modification and costing an arm and a leg. Here are the links to the two new prospects.
[link]http://www.hobbypeople.net/gallery/147004.asp[/link]
[link]http://www.stsmicroengines.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=12&products_id=22[/link] and now when I looked the sts has a slide carb too, and it says 3 needles. I have only dealt with 2 so that is kind of overwhelming. What are you guys using?
whoajoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:39 AM.