RC Nitro Stadium Trucks Discuss all aspects of rc nitro stadium trucks here

2 speed for the gt2

Reply
Old 06-19-2008, 04:48 PM
  #1
zach2901
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 2 speed for the gt2

i was thinking to myself and wondered if theres a way to put a 2 speed tranny in a associated gt2. Does anyone know any way to do this, or has any one done this before? with the gt2's bottom end punch, imagine what a truck it would be if it could then shift into a second gear and have amazing top speeds!
zach2901 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 05:10 PM
  #2
Mspeed
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: , VA
Posts: 1,040
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 2 speed for the gt2

Before I got my jato I looked long and hard to find something that could adapt to a two speed and retain the slipper. I just ended up getting the jato 3.3. Sure you could do it but how to retain the slipper is the big problem.
Mspeed is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 07:03 PM
  #3
Dawman
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Marseilles, IL
Posts: 3,552
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 2 speed for the gt2

Put a better engine in and you will get more power and top end .
Dawman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 08:02 PM
  #4
zach2901
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 2 speed for the gt2

i have the lrp .18 in it right now
zach2901 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 09:38 PM
  #5
jmeyers
 
jmeyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Orleans/belleville, IL
Posts: 118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 2 speed for the gt2

there was a guy on another site who did on heres a pic
jmeyers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 09:59 PM
  #6
yakfish
 
yakfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fairborn, OH
Posts: 2,439
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 2 speed for the gt2

if you have alopt of bottom end then you should have room to gear it a bit taller. I know its not a 2 speed but it can make a big difference and you can still keep you slipper.
yakfish is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 05:06 PM
  #7
zach2901
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 2 speed for the gt2

well im gonna be drag racing anyways so i really dont need or want the slipper, do u know what clutch bell is on that gt2? what about the spur gear?
zach2901 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 05:46 PM
  #8
jmeyers
 
jmeyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Orleans/belleville, IL
Posts: 118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 2 speed for the gt2

the guy used an NTC3 clutch bell,Slipper shaft ,and 2 Speed shaft from the NTC3
jmeyers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 05:51 PM
  #9
zach2901
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 2 speed for the gt2

so what all would i have to do to fit them in?
zach2901 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 06:04 PM
  #10
jmeyers
 
jmeyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Orleans/belleville, IL
Posts: 118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 2 speed for the gt2

i can post the rest of the pics of what the guy he did to much to explain he also has a video for it to

the red lines mean he cut that part off

heres another one
jmeyers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 06:10 PM
  #11
zach2901
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 2 speed for the gt2

please do so! and could u give me the link to the video? thanks
zach2901 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 06:19 PM
  #12
jmeyers
 
jmeyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Orleans/belleville, IL
Posts: 118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 2 speed for the gt2

actully its 2 vids part 1 heres the link to the guys photobucket album [link=http://s77.photobucket.com/albums/j64/markallenMGT/RC10GT%202/]2speed rc10gt[/link]
jmeyers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 08:26 PM
  #13
hyper701
 
hyper701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: gladstone, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 557
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 2 speed for the gt2

wow, that thing really halls ass. im intrested in doing the same shing to my gt2. is there any way you can send me a link to his thread.
hyper701 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 08:56 PM
  #14
jmeyers
 
jmeyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Orleans/belleville, IL
Posts: 118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 2 speed for the gt2

yeah it does lol.....im gonna try its in RCgroups.com you can also try under google
but ill try to get an direct link for you
jmeyers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 12:47 AM
  #15
onebdgti
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: , WV
Posts: 20
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 2 speed for the gt2

Man, that thing is supper quick. I'm just wondering how well it does off road? Cause I would luv to do this but I don't run mine on the streets just mainly in the dirt.
onebdgti is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 02:08 AM
  #16
hyper701
 
hyper701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: gladstone, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 557
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 2 speed for the gt2

yea same here, it would be nuts on the dirt lol
hyper701 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 11:47 AM
  #17
zach2901
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 2 speed for the gt2


[quote]ORIGINAL: gomo

yeah it does lol.....im gonna try its in RCgroups.com you can also try under google
but ill try to get an direct link for you
[/quote
did u find a direct link?
zach2901 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 11:59 AM
  #18
jmeyers
 
jmeyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Orleans/belleville, IL
Posts: 118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 2 speed for the gt2

hahaha i found a diffrent link but its the same guy [link=http://forums.radiocontrolzone.com/showthread.php?t=244353]link[/link]
jmeyers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 12:13 PM
  #19
zach2901
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay City, MI
Posts: 43
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 2 speed for the gt2


Quote:
ORIGINAL: gomo

hahaha i found a diffrent link but its the same guy [link=http://forums.radiocontrolzone.com/showthread.php?t=244353]link[/link]
do u know what tooth spur gears and pinion gears he was using? By the way thanks for all the help so far
zach2901 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 12:23 PM
  #20
jmeyers
 
jmeyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New Orleans/belleville, IL
Posts: 118
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: 2 speed for the gt2

no prob glad to help..[8D]
to tell you the truth hes probably using the stock NTC3 gearing
jmeyers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:09 AM.