RC Pattern Flying Discuss all topics pertaining to RC Pattern Flying in this forum.

airtronics SD 10 G -jumpy servos.

Reply
Old 09-02-2012, 08:44 AM
  #1
foxhills36
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 48
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default airtronics SD 10 G -jumpy servos.

I recently installed my 10G radio in a backup plane that i had a Spektrum system in. When i turn on the radio, two of the Hitec-high torque servos vibrate like crazy until I move the stick, then settle down. If I move the stick again same thing happens. This only occurs on two servos, so I pulled the two out and plugged back into the spektrum system, no shaking and servos move fine. Any thoughts as to why this only occurs on with Airtroncis system????
foxhills36 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 09:41 AM
  #2
PatternPilot
 
PatternPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 1,784
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airtronics SD 10 G -jumpy servos.

Not sure what HiTec servos or Airtronics RX your using.. but this is out of the manual...

Due to the extremely high frame rate that the 92104 10-Channel receiver included with your SD-10G 2.4GHz FHSS-3 radio
control system operates at, we strongly recommend the use of digital servos. If you use analog servos and experience
problems, you will need to either upgrade to digital servos or use the Airtronics 92824 8-Channel, 92674 7-Channel, or 92664
6-Channel Micro 2.4GHz FHSS-1 receivers. These receivers operate at a lower frame rate, therefore, analog servos can be used
with them without issue.



Scott

PatternPilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 12:05 PM
  #3
foxhills36
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 48
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airtronics SD 10 G -jumpy servos.

Scott- what you say makes sense, the servos I am using are both analog. One of the servos vibrating a hitec 645, I took it out and replaced with a 635 also analog, which I did not get vibrations. Did I just get lucky with that one?
foxhills36 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 03:37 PM
  #4
stuntflyr
 
stuntflyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 1,881
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airtronics SD 10 G -jumpy servos.

Not all analog servos will be affected. Some are OK. I usually use FHSS-1 receivers when using analog servos so it's not an issue but if they act OK in test the RX likes them.
Chris...
stuntflyr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 02:59 PM
  #5
cmoulder
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ossining, NY
Posts: 2,819
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airtronics SD 10 G -jumpy servos.

I am using Airtronics 94774's on my ailerons a get a pretty serious chatter, but it goes away when the radio is about 20 feet away from the model. So maybe it could be that the TX being close to the RX has something to do with it.
cmoulder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 04:56 PM
  #6
F.Imbriaco
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lebanon, NJ
Posts: 463
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airtronics SD 10 G -jumpy servos.

SD-10G TX , Airtronics 10Ch RX and Jr Digital Servos.

No jitter ever; even on low power mode.
F.Imbriaco is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 07:20 PM
  #7
cmoulder
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ossining, NY
Posts: 2,819
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airtronics SD 10 G -jumpy servos.

Hmm... so what could be giving my system the jitters?
cmoulder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 05:29 AM
  #8
F.Imbriaco
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lebanon, NJ
Posts: 463
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airtronics SD 10 G -jumpy servos.

I also have the same combo ( except the more robust JR 8611 Digital servos) in my 35% Carden Cap and fortunately, no jitters -even in low power mode. Perhaps it's because of the " premium" JR Digitals ?
I had read that the Airtronics Digitals are quite good, but never tried them.
I paused ; thinking that the cheap price, even less than some "sport" digitals, might mean lower quality.
No knock against them because several guys I know are using them with great results.
F.Imbriaco is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 11:39 AM
  #9
KGSS28
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Hartsville, TN
Posts: 286
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airtronics SD 10 G -jumpy servos.

More info here, I had the same problem with ATX 94746 using all ATX gear and could not use them.

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_10659777/tm.htm
KGSS28 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 05:51 AM
  #10
louie525
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lisle, IL
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airtronics SD 10 G -jumpy servos.

I had a similar problem with my 10SD. I changed from 72Mhz to 2.4 and my analog throttle servo smoked! It became very hot and shorted out. I replaced with another analog servo and it started to heat up again worked for a short while and shorted out. I changed the servo to a digital version and my problem went away. I was using the 10 channel Rx. All the other servos are digitals with no problems.
louie525 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 03:27 AM
  #11
cmoulder
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ossining, NY
Posts: 2,819
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airtronics SD 10 G -jumpy servos.


Quote:
ORIGINAL: F.Imbriaco

I also have the same combo ( except the more robust JR 8611 Digital servos) in my 35% Carden Cap and fortunately, no jitters -even in low power mode. Perhaps it's because of the '' premium'' JR Digitals ?
I had read that the Airtronics Digitals are quite good, but never tried them.
I paused ; thinking that the cheap price, even less than some ''sport'' digitals, might mean lower quality.
No knock against them because several guys I know are using them with great results.

Mine are working fine otherwise. When the Tx is several feet away from the model the jitters cease, so the only inconvenience was setting up the surface throws with a digital meter - what a beeatch that was!
cmoulder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:31 PM.