RC Pattern Flying Discuss all topics pertaining to RC Pattern Flying in this forum.

Problem with CellPro Charger

Reply
Old 11-10-2012, 08:20 AM
  #1
amram
Thread Starter
 
amram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Holon, ISRAEL
Posts: 358
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Problem with CellPro Charger

One of my CellPro charger gives error message NEG TERM. < 0

The message apears after pushing the Start Charge button.
When pushing the Start buttom "Wait..." message apears for about 2 min. then message come "NEG TERM. < 0"
Message apears regardless if Pack is connected or not.

Did anyone expirianced this? I got no response from provider and anyway I try to save the cost of shiping it to and fro.

Thank you in advace

Amram Leshed
amram is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 08:58 AM
  #2
desertrider49
 
desertrider49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 278
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Problem with CellPro Charger

Attached is the manual, in the troubleshooting section (page 18) it says that the black banana jack is reading below 0 volts.....I'm guessing it's the wire itself, maybe a bad soldier joint.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
Zx72510.pdf (1.11 MB, 10 views)
desertrider49 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 09:18 AM
  #3
woodie
 
woodie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Placerville, CA
Posts: 1,142
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Problem with CellPro Charger

Amran

Do you get the same error using a different pack? What configuration are you trying to charge?

Woodie
woodie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 09:34 AM
  #4
ANGELITA
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Francisco - Córdoba - ARGENTINA
Posts: 29
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Problem with CellPro Charger

Hi:
Sound like reversed polarity
Rare.....very rare

Regards
Mario
ANGELITA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 09:06 PM
  #5
amram
Thread Starter
 
amram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Holon, ISRAEL
Posts: 358
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Problem with CellPro Charger

I get the error regardless type of pack I try to charge. Moreover, same maessage comes even if no pack is connected
Amram
amram is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 05:38 PM
  #6
woodie
 
woodie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Placerville, CA
Posts: 1,142
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Problem with CellPro Charger

If you are using the outside jacks for the main leads, check to make sure there is continuity between the 2 center jacks. If there isn't any continuity, the fuse between the two center jacks is faulty. There is a thread around here somewhere about how to replace it with a common automotive fuse.

Woodie
woodie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 07:41 PM
  #7
amram
Thread Starter
 
amram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Holon, ISRAEL
Posts: 358
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Problem with CellPro Charger

WRITTEN ELSEWHERE BY WOODI WATTSUP:

There are 2 common problems with the CellPro 10S charger. As Tony mentioned, the external fuse contacts can get loose over time and actually melt the fuse as the contacts loosen and the amps/resistance climbs. I would suggest taking the top off the charger and ensure the clips holding the fuse are clean and tight.

Second, there is a fuse between the two center jacks on the top/front of the charger. Easy to test, just check resistance between the 2 center taps. If there is an open, that fuse is blown. If you look at the fuse, it looks more like a diode/resistor than a fuse but it is a fuse. If the fuse is open, you can replace it with an automotive type fuse. I can't recall what the fuse value is but will check and update this post.

That tiny fuse (diode/resistor looking) inside/between the center jacks is rated at 15 amps/125 volts and can be purchased at Radio Shack for less than $1. I
just had to replace mine, that's how I know! Everette


WILL CHECK THIS
amram is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 11:22 PM
  #8
amram
Thread Starter
 
amram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Holon, ISRAEL
Posts: 358
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Problem with CellPro Charger

Checked. Both Fuses are fine... Any other thoughts???
Amram
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Tq48698.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	166.8 KB
ID:	1819608  
amram is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 04:07 AM
  #9
vbortone
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 638
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Problem with CellPro Charger

Try to reloaad firmware. It is easy to do. Good luck,
vbortone is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:21 PM
  #10
amram
Thread Starter
 
amram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Holon, ISRAEL
Posts: 358
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Problem with CellPro Charger

Got official answer from FMA as follows:

Good Day,

You should check the following:

High Voltage - Diode Check, check continuity
D10 - If bad, replace and check U2 for damage

Output Section - Diode Check, check continuity
D15, D16 - If installed, remove. These parts are now DNI

Output Diode (Zenner) - Diode Check
D18 - .34 - .37 / counts up open - If bad, replace ***also check underside of CB for burnt traces if bad***

Micro Processor
U6 - Check pin 1 to ground, should read approx 44k. If bad, not worth fixing charger.

Switch FET's - Diode Check
Q15, Q16 - .5 / .52 = Good. If bad, both switches must be changed
Q1, Q2 - .5 / .52 = Good. If bad, both switches must be changed
Q11, Q12 - .5 / .52 = Good. If bad, both switches must be changed
Q5, Q6 - .5 / .52 = Good. If bad, both switches must be changed

Zenner Diode Check - Diode Check
Q15 - .6 / .7 = Good. If bad, change D2
Q2 - .6 / .7 = Good. If bad, change D1
Q11 - .6 / .7 = Good. If bad, change D3

Shunt Check - Diode Check
Q33 - .45 = Good. If bad, replace

Power FET's - Diode Check
Q28 - .5 / Count up high (1.4) If bad, change Q28, Q29, U10
Q29 - .17 / Count up high (1.6) If bad, change Q28, Q29, U10

Regardless of changing components and getting it to work, you have no way to calibrate the charger. This will present a safety hazard and do not recommend this.



NOW I CAN GET TO WORK ON IT !!! :-)




_________________________
I added cool smileys to this message... if you don't see them go to: http://s.exps.me
amram is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:03 AM.