Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 10 of 10

  1. #1
    amram's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Holon, ISRAEL
    Posts
    347
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Problem with CellPro Charger

    One of my CellPro charger gives error message NEG TERM. < 0

    The message apears after pushing the Start Charge button.
    When pushing the Start buttom "Wait..." message apears for about 2 min. then message come "NEG TERM. < 0"
    Message apears regardless if Pack is connected or not.

    Did anyone expirianced this? I got no response from provider and anyway I try to save the cost of shiping it to and fro.

    Thank you in advace

    Amram Leshed

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    257
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Problem with CellPro Charger

    Attached is the manual, in the troubleshooting section (page 18) it says that the black banana jack is reading below 0 volts.....I'm guessing it's the wire itself, maybe a bad soldier joint.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #3
    woodie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Placerville, CA
    Posts
    1,029
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Problem with CellPro Charger

    Amran

    Do you get the same error using a different pack? What configuration are you trying to charge?

    Woodie
    There is nothing so simple it can't be messed up by someone....

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    San Francisco - Córdoba - ARGENTINA
    Posts
    27
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Problem with CellPro Charger

    Hi:
    Sound like reversed polarity
    Rare.....very rare

    Regards
    Mario

  5. #5
    amram's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Holon, ISRAEL
    Posts
    347
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Problem with CellPro Charger

    I get the error regardless type of pack I try to charge. Moreover, same maessage comes even if no pack is connected
    Amram

  6. #6
    woodie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Placerville, CA
    Posts
    1,029
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Problem with CellPro Charger

    If you are using the outside jacks for the main leads, check to make sure there is continuity between the 2 center jacks. If there isn't any continuity, the fuse between the two center jacks is faulty. There is a thread around here somewhere about how to replace it with a common automotive fuse.

    Woodie
    There is nothing so simple it can't be messed up by someone....

  7. #7
    amram's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Holon, ISRAEL
    Posts
    347
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Problem with CellPro Charger

    WRITTEN ELSEWHERE BY WOODI WATTSUP:

    There are 2 common problems with the CellPro 10S charger. As Tony mentioned, the external fuse contacts can get loose over time and actually melt the fuse as the contacts loosen and the amps/resistance climbs. I would suggest taking the top off the charger and ensure the clips holding the fuse are clean and tight.

    Second, there is a fuse between the two center jacks on the top/front of the charger. Easy to test, just check resistance between the 2 center taps. If there is an open, that fuse is blown. If you look at the fuse, it looks more like a diode/resistor than a fuse but it is a fuse. If the fuse is open, you can replace it with an automotive type fuse. I can't recall what the fuse value is but will check and update this post.

    That tiny fuse (diode/resistor looking) inside/between the center jacks is rated at 15 amps/125 volts and can be purchased at Radio Shack for less than $1. I
    just had to replace mine, that's how I know! Everette


    WILL CHECK THIS

  8. #8
    amram's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Holon, ISRAEL
    Posts
    347
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Problem with CellPro Charger

    Checked. Both Fuses are fine... Any other thoughts???
    Amram
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Tq48698.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	166.8 KB 
ID:	1819608  

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Olathe, KS
    Posts
    598
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Problem with CellPro Charger

    Try to reloaad firmware. It is easy to do. Good luck,
    Vicente \"Vince\" Bortone

  10. #10
    amram's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Holon, ISRAEL
    Posts
    347
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Problem with CellPro Charger

    Got official answer from FMA as follows:

    Good Day,

    You should check the following:

    High Voltage - Diode Check, check continuity
    D10 - If bad, replace and check U2 for damage

    Output Section - Diode Check, check continuity
    D15, D16 - If installed, remove. These parts are now DNI

    Output Diode (Zenner) - Diode Check
    D18 - .34 - .37 / counts up open - If bad, replace ***also check underside of CB for burnt traces if bad***

    Micro Processor
    U6 - Check pin 1 to ground, should read approx 44k. If bad, not worth fixing charger.

    Switch FET's - Diode Check
    Q15, Q16 - .5 / .52 = Good. If bad, both switches must be changed
    Q1, Q2 - .5 / .52 = Good. If bad, both switches must be changed
    Q11, Q12 - .5 / .52 = Good. If bad, both switches must be changed
    Q5, Q6 - .5 / .52 = Good. If bad, both switches must be changed

    Zenner Diode Check - Diode Check
    Q15 - .6 / .7 = Good. If bad, change D2
    Q2 - .6 / .7 = Good. If bad, change D1
    Q11 - .6 / .7 = Good. If bad, change D3

    Shunt Check - Diode Check
    Q33 - .45 = Good. If bad, replace

    Power FET's - Diode Check
    Q28 - .5 / Count up high (1.4) If bad, change Q28, Q29, U10
    Q29 - .17 / Count up high (1.6) If bad, change Q28, Q29, U10

    Regardless of changing components and getting it to work, you have no way to calibrate the charger. This will present a safety hazard and do not recommend this.



    NOW I CAN GET TO WORK ON IT !!! :-)




    _________________________
    I added cool smileys to this message... if you don't see them go to: http://s.exps.me


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:08 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.