RC Pattern Flying Discuss all topics pertaining to RC Pattern Flying in this forum.

YS user seeking sympathetic ears :(

Reply
Old 06-03-2017, 04:54 PM
  #176
drac1
 
drac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Romaine, Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjr_93tz View Post
I wouldn't expect much change in 500 ft, 1. otherwise we'd be running in-flight mixture control for anything above 1/2 box height.

2.The type of change I'm referring to is dropping 1500 ft, starting up in the morning cold and having your engine hesitating a bit on throttle up. Just enough to be noticeable and have you reaching for the screwdriver with one hand while crossing your fingers with the other, hoping that it might just go away when the engine warms up a bit more so you won't have to touch the regulator.

That being said, I haven't been able to get to a sea level field since I've sorted the engine, so the mixture may be more flexible than what it used to be.
1. Only if you are right on the edge. Run it a bit rich and a 500 ft drop won't matter.

2. Me too . If you drop 1500ft, just wind the reg in 1/8th and the needle out 1/4 and it should be pretty close.

I never adjust anything when the engine is cold, or open the throttle immediately after start up anytime. Let it idle for a bit to allow the pump to get to correct pressure, then gradually open the throttle. I find that it usually takes one flight for everything to settle down for optimum running. After that first flight, there's no need to even run the engine up before the next flight. CDI is different to glow. Start up, let it idle, put it on the strip and go.
drac1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017, 05:09 PM
  #177
apereira
 
apereira's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,631
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by papaone View Post
Hello
I have 3 Harmonie, two with 175 CDI and love to fly with about 15 mn to 20 mn.
No problem of reliabilty.
I also have Harmonie with hacker Q80, I also love it. But just my opinion, flight is too short about 7 mn.
There are advantages and disadvantages with YS and electric motor.
Friends of mine have difficulties with the two;
deadstick with Yam and burn of plane, loss of magnets, breakage fuselage and loss of motor ...
But The main thing is to have fun.
claude
Totally agree with you Claude.

Engines get bigger because in certain maneuver like a half outside loop with an integrated roll with 40kph headwind will show how tight we are on power...

​​​​​​The 200 has been in the works for over a year, so it should be pretty reliable. But as Claude mention, all machines are prone to fail, IC or electric.

Regards
apereira is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 01:12 AM
  #178
naftali
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kfar-Saba, ISRAEL
Posts: 39
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I fly at sea level. Since I started using the DZ 160 about 6 years ago, haven't touched the adjustments, be it winter or summer, temps. ranging from 10 to 40c, humidity from 20 to 90%. Morgan heli 30%, bearing + ring replacement at 273 flights. And all that time the engine hasn't missed a bit.
naftali is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2017, 05:12 AM
  #179
papaone
 
papaone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Salon, FRANCE
Posts: 1,070
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hello

CPLR first win for YS 200 CDI in Ashford
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	886963IMG7216.jpg
Views:	183
Size:	47.2 KB
ID:	2222226  
papaone is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2017, 08:11 PM
  #180
bjr_93tz
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: ToowoombaQLD, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 887
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Given my 170cdi problems are sorted and there's an exciting new engine from YS to discuss, I'm happy let my unfortunate tale of woe and frustration fade into history on a positive note, and I'm sure somebody will fire up a DZ200 thread when they get one.

Thank you to those who lent a sympathetic ear, provided some good advise and positive encouragement. We got there in the end and we managed to keep another smoke blower in the air. Next comp for me is 29th/30th July and looking forward to it.
bjr_93tz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2017, 11:53 PM
  #181
papaone
 
papaone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Salon, FRANCE
Posts: 1,070
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hello

I just receive my gift (YS 200 CDI).
Thanks to my wife
Claude
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170916_162042.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	517.3 KB
ID:	2232541  
papaone is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2017, 12:41 AM
  #182
drac1
 
drac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Romaine, Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by papaone View Post
Hello

I just receive my gift (YS 200 CDI).
Thanks to my wife
Claude
Mine will be here this week.

What prop will you be using Claude?
drac1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2017, 03:12 AM
  #183
papaone
 
papaone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Salon, FRANCE
Posts: 1,070
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hello Scott

Same as CPLR
Prop APC 21,5 x 10,5 PNC
http://www.apcprop.com/product_p/lp215105pnc.htm
http://www.modelisme-smac.fr/fr/apc/521-helice-apc-20-5x10-5wpn.html

Did you install on your Xareltoo ?


claude

Last edited by papaone; 09-18-2017 at 03:26 AM.
papaone is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2017, 03:32 AM
  #184
drac1
 
drac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Romaine, Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by papaone View Post
That is the prop I have also.

I haven't got the engine yet, a few more days. But I will be putting it in the Xareltoo.
drac1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2017, 05:49 AM
  #185
computermonkey
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Oklahoma area
Posts: 576
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Awesome. Start a new thread on the engine and post it here please.

I went to the NATS this year 2017. I only counted 5 people flying fuel planes and that includes me.
computermonkey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2017, 05:59 AM
  #186
time907356
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: woodruff, SC
Posts: 78
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Did I miss you there???????? PM me!!
time907356 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2017, 05:53 PM
  #187
kenh3497
 
kenh3497's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rockwell, IA
Posts: 1,353
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by papaone View Post
Hello

I just receive my gift (YS 200 CDI).
Thanks to my wife
Claude
If your wife ever wants to divorce you tell here I'll tie the knot with her. LOL

The 200's look like a sweet engine. Wish I could afford one.... and the air frame it goes in.

Ken
kenh3497 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2017, 06:20 PM
  #188
computermonkey
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Oklahoma area
Posts: 576
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by time907356 View Post
Did I miss you there???????? PM me!!
sent you a PM
computermonkey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 11:52 PM
  #189
drac1
 
drac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Romaine, Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	21688298_1845528932127420_8591862619648952531_o.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	494.0 KB
ID:	2232968  

Last edited by drac1; 09-21-2017 at 03:39 AM.
drac1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 03:28 AM
  #190
time907356
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: woodruff, SC
Posts: 78
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

The image is microscopic....what is that?
time907356 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 03:40 AM
  #191
drac1
 
drac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Romaine, Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by time907356 View Post
The image is microscopic....what is that?

Ooops, sorry. That should be better.
drac1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 02:37 AM
  #192
papaone
 
papaone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Salon, FRANCE
Posts: 1,070
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hello

Just to tell that I have adjusted tappet clearance on my new YS 200.
I think next week was good to try it.
Claude
papaone is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 09:49 PM
  #193
MAVROS
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NEWCASTLE, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 251
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

IRIDIUM Plugs....

Has anyone tried these....I have and I think they are C%&P...
Misfire badly and engine will not transition ....gives an indication that the mixture is Rich.
Gone back to normal plugs and no problems

regards
MAVROS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 10:38 PM
  #194
papaone
 
papaone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Salon, FRANCE
Posts: 1,070
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hello

I used Irridium plug with no problem.
Did you control clerance. It must be between 35/100 and 40/100 mm
claude
papaone is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 12:32 AM
  #195
arnstein
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Kongsberg, NORWAY
Posts: 53
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I use them, gap 0.4 mm, voltage 7.4V. Advice from Yamada san for YS ZERO.
If the ignition box is in working order, I have not had any problems.

Arnstein
arnstein is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 01:40 AM
  #196
drac1
 
drac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Romaine, Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAVROS View Post
IRIDIUM Plugs....

Has anyone tried these....I have and I think they are C%&P...
Misfire badly and engine will not transition ....gives an indication that the mixture is Rich.
Gone back to normal plugs and no problems

regards
Hi Con,

I have a few normal plugs still so haven't bought the Iridium yet.

Did you gap the plug? Too wide a gap and it will misfire. When I set the gap to what it says in the manual, the engine would misfire. I now set the gap to 11 thou. This gives a great idle and transition.
Interestingly enough, the last few plugs I bought came already gapped to 11-12 thou.
drac1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2017, 12:20 AM
  #197
MAVROS
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NEWCASTLE, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 251
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drac1 View Post
Hi Con,

I have a few normal plugs still so haven't bought the Iridium yet.

Did you gap the plug? Too wide a gap and it will misfire. When I set the gap to what it says in the manual, the engine would misfire. I now set the gap to 11 thou. This gives a great idle and transition.
Interestingly enough, the last few plugs I bought came already gapped to 11-12 thou.
Well thats interesting the YS instructions indicate the gap should be 0.30 - 0.45 mm.
I set mine at 0.30 mm and the normal plugs are ok with that but the Iridium don't like it .
Should I set them at a different gap....

rgards

Con
MAVROS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2017, 12:29 AM
  #198
drac1
 
drac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Romaine, Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAVROS View Post
Well thats interesting the YS instructions indicate the gap should be 0.30 - 0.45 mm.
I set mine at 0.30 mm and the normal plugs are ok with that but the Iridium don't like it .
Should I set them at a different gap....

rgards

Con
Worth giving it a go.

You won't know if you don't try.

Let us know how you get on.
drac1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2017, 12:35 AM
  #199
MAVROS
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NEWCASTLE, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 251
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drac1 View Post
Worth giving it a go.

You won't know if you don't try.

Let us know how you get on.
Thanks Scott will do

regards
MAVROS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 05:50 AM
  #200
propnuter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cork, IRELAND
Posts: 70
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hi,

I have been using a futaba mini switch to connect my cdi unit to the Rx for 5 years. Since i moved to the iridum plug this no longer works. I replaced the mini-switch and it worked for a few flights and also started causing engine problems. This has made me wonder if the Iridium plug/cdi unit requires a higher voltage than the original plug ? Either way a direct Futaba HD lead fixed the problem.

Shane
propnuter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:06 AM.