RC Pattern Flying Discuss all topics pertaining to RC Pattern Flying in this forum.

YS DZ200cdi

Reply
Old 10-12-2017, 04:51 PM
  #1
drac1
Thread Starter
 
drac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Romaine, Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default YS DZ200cdi

It seems a few are now using the 200, so thought it was time to start a dedicated thread.

Here a few photos of mine. It's only had 4 tanks through it on the test stand, but is now installed in my Valiant for initial flights.

Once i'm happy, it will go into my Xareltoo.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20171010_113030.jpg
Views:	167
Size:	82.0 KB
ID:	2241039   Click image for larger version

Name:	20171010_113057.jpg
Views:	125
Size:	77.2 KB
ID:	2241040   Click image for larger version

Name:	20171010_163257.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	160.6 KB
ID:	2241041   Click image for larger version

Name:	20171010_114737.jpg
Views:	137
Size:	92.5 KB
ID:	2241042  
drac1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 02:20 AM
  #2
propnuter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cork, IRELAND
Posts: 70
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I am getting 6900rpm running rich. On Cdi, 21.5x10.5 prop, 30:10 fuel, break in needle closed.
I expect 7000rpm running leaner with tappeds adjusted.

Shane
propnuter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 02:53 AM
  #3
drac1
Thread Starter
 
drac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Romaine, Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propnuter View Post
I am getting 6900rpm running rich. On Cdi, 21.5x10.5 prop, 30:10 fuel, break in needle closed.
I expect 7000rpm running leaner with tappeds adjusted.

Shane
I'm at 6700 at the moment. 30:9 Rapicon and the break in needle is still open a smidge. I'll fully close it once I get a few flights on it.

I think 6900 would be a good max rpm.
drac1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2017, 06:31 PM
  #4
drac1
Thread Starter
 
drac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Romaine, Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

3 flights with the 200 in the Valiant this morning. The wind was gusting up to 33kmh, so it wasn't very nice flying, but the engine ran very well with no problems. It's still running rich, but is making plenty of power. it will be a great engine once tuning is complete.

Break in needle is now fully closed and the idle is rock steady.

I'll install it in the Xareltoo now and if the wind calms down, I'll take it for a fly later today.
drac1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2017, 08:19 AM
  #5
rm
 
rm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ohio
Posts: 526
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

What's the break in needle?
rm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2017, 02:29 PM
  #6
drac1
Thread Starter
 
drac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Romaine, Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rm View Post
What's the break in needle?
There is a needle on the end of the throttle barrel. Opening this allows some of the fuel to bypass the intake and goes back into the crankcase. The purpose is to get more lubrication on the big end while breaking in the engine.

It has a big affect on performance, so after break in, should be fully closed or almost closed. Open 1/2 turn, makes it difficult to tune.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20171015_092000_resized.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	170.7 KB
ID:	2241216  
drac1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2017, 04:09 AM
  #7
drac1
Thread Starter
 
drac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Romaine, Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

8 flights today with the Xareltoo and he engine is running great. Just as smooth as the 185 and appears to use around the same amount of fuel.

Just need to fine tune the throttle curve now.
drac1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2017, 03:34 PM
  #8
MAVROS
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NEWCASTLE, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 250
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

AWSOME Scott,

Let us know how you set up the throttle curve.
Are you using the same fuel as 185 ?
Iridium plug?
What is your idle RPM ?

regards

Con
MAVROS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2017, 04:09 PM
  #9
drac1
Thread Starter
 
drac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Romaine, Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAVROS View Post
AWSOME Scott,

Let us know how you set up the throttle curve.
Are you using the same fuel as 185 ?
Iridium plug?
What is your idle RPM ?

regards

Con
Same fuel and standard YS plug.

Idle around 2k for landing.. I usually bump it up to 2100 while flying.
drac1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2017, 11:08 PM
  #10
papaone
 
papaone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Salon, FRANCE
Posts: 1,070
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Hello Scot

Any pictures of YS 200 on Xareltoo ?
I put them on our french forum
Claude
papaone is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2017, 11:47 PM
  #11
drac1
Thread Starter
 
drac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Romaine, Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by papaone View Post
Hello Scot

Any pictures of YS 200 on Xareltoo ?
I put them on our french forum
Claude
Hi Claude,

Doesn't look any different than the 185
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20171016_183053_resized.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	267.0 KB
ID:	2241331   Click image for larger version

Name:	20171016_183100_resized.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	299.2 KB
ID:	2241332   Click image for larger version

Name:	20171016_183236_resized.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	260.0 KB
ID:	2241333   Click image for larger version

Name:	22384390_10214371928675028_1150955957572873654_o.jpg
Views:	89
Size:	364.7 KB
ID:	2241334  
drac1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 02:43 AM
  #12
bjr_93tz
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: ToowoombaQLD, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 887
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drac1 View Post
Same fuel and standard YS plug.

Idle around 2k for landing.. I usually bump it up to 2100 while flying.
While not a DZ200, I set mine up so that the idle is as low as possible, then have it bump up a few percent when I switch to the spin condition to minimise the risk of a flame out. Also, I try to take advantage of the fore-aft movement of the engine in the YS mount by positioning the throttle arm so the aft movement of the engine during down-line braking closes the throttle a bit more, and the forward movement when at power opens the throttle a bit.

Not sure if any of it helps me but the placebo effect does wonders..
bjr_93tz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 10:07 PM
  #13
naftali
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kfar-Saba, ISRAEL
Posts: 39
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drac1 View Post
Same fuel and standard YS plug.

Idle around 2k for landing.. I usually bump it up to 2100 while flying.
Isn't the 2k idle RPM too high for this engine?
I can get the 185CDI to idle as low as 1200 on the stand. Haven't flown yet.
naftali is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 10:40 PM
  #14
drac1
Thread Starter
 
drac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Romaine, Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by naftali View Post
Isn't the 2k idle RPM too high for this engine?
I can get the 185CDI to idle as low as 1200 on the stand. Haven't flown yet.
Not according to the instructions.

Test stand is one thing. In an actual plane and flying is another.
drac1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 12:56 AM
  #15
drac1
Thread Starter
 
drac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Romaine, Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by naftali View Post
Isn't the 2k idle RPM too high for this engine?
I can get the 185CDI to idle as low as 1200 on the stand. Haven't flown yet.
There's no need to get a super low idle, that's just asking for trouble.

Too many YS engine stoppages that have been blamed on the engine, have been caused by too low a idle.

On the ground, the engine must be able to idle reliably and steady for at least 30 - 40 seconds and then throttle up without any hesitation or burbling. If it can do that, then it shouldn't quit when going into spins.
Mine can idle for well over a minute and still throttle up immediately.

After you've been flying and ready to land, bring the idle back a few clicks. The engine will generally idle a bit faster once it is hot, so don't worry about it stopping. The idle speed needs to be just slow enough so that it will sit on the runway without moving.
drac1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 08:10 AM
  #16
naftali
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kfar-Saba, ISRAEL
Posts: 39
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Maybe using Nishioka's Front Over Stopper
https://translate.googleusercontent....YxyiEkP5WGfYMg
might prevent the engine from moving back on the soft mount during dive, thus closing the throttle and causing the engine to quit. So a low idle can be enjoyed throughout the flight without the need for Idle Up, giving a steeper glide slope on the final leg for landing.
naftali is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 11:48 AM
  #17
riot3d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: oakland, CA
Posts: 1,052
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by naftali View Post
Maybe using Nishioka's Front Over Stopper
https://translate.googleusercontent.com/translate_c?depth=1&hl=en&prev=search&rurl=translate.google.co.il&sl=ja&sp=nmt4&u=http://www.nishioka-hobby.jp/engine/engine01.html&usg=ALkJrhiF7HvgdQ29QKRjYxyiEkP5WGfYMg
might prevent the engine from moving back on the soft mount during dive, thus closing the throttle and causing the engine to quit. So a low idle can be enjoyed throughout the flight without the need for Idle Up, giving a steeper glide slope on the final leg for landing.
I've been using those Nishioka brace for two years now. Yes, it does work for fore & aft movement, but not on the rotational side.

I've also been using the YS mount from version I through III for about ten years now with good results. However, ever since changing to the non-cdi 185, I started to notice the rubber material on the mount ring deteriorates much quicker, even with the stiffer version III mount which came out right after the 170 period. I've been experimenting with the Taue Mount from Japan - an attachment to the YS mount about a year ago with pretty good results.

Almost 99% of YS pilot in Japan favors the cdi with smoother idle. Therefore, have lesser problem with rotational force. However, some of them also have experienced the rubber deteriorating problem.

Adrian
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0110000000882.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	116.6 KB
ID:	2241578  
riot3d is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 11:59 AM
  #18
flyncajun
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: DENHAM SPRINGS , LA
Posts: 619
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Click image for larger version

Name:	hyde_mount300.png
Views:	51
Size:	88.7 KB
ID:	2241579CK Aero | Accessories

Or ,you can get the New Hyde Mount from Me at CK Aero.net
I worked with Chip and Merle on this mount I`m the exclusive dealer.
takes care of all the issues and almost 1 ounce lighter !
Bryan
flyncajun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 12:53 PM
  #19
drac1
Thread Starter
 
drac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Romaine, Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by naftali View Post
Maybe using Nishioka's Front Over Stopper
https://translate.googleusercontent.com/translate_c?depth=1&hl=en&prev=search&rurl=translate.google.co.il&sl=ja&sp=nmt4&u=http://www.nishioka-hobby.jp/engine/engine01.html&usg=ALkJrhiF7HvgdQ29QKRjYxyiEkP5WGfYMg
might prevent the engine from moving back on the soft mount during dive, thus closing the throttle and causing the engine to quit. So a low idle can be enjoyed throughout the flight without the need for Idle Up, giving a steeper glide slope on the final leg for landing.
My engines don't quit at idle in downlines. Or anywhere else.

My idle speed is rock steady and stable. Speed throughout the flight is very constant and landings present no problems. Most times, the plane needs to be flown in under a bit of power.

Last edited by drac1; 10-18-2017 at 01:01 PM.
drac1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 12:57 PM
  #20
drac1
Thread Starter
 
drac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Romaine, Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by riot3d View Post
I've been using those Nishioka brace for two years now. Yes, it does work for fore & aft movement, but not on the rotational side.

I've also been using the YS mount from version I through III for about ten years now with good results. However, ever since changing to the non-cdi 185, I started to notice the rubber material on the mount ring deteriorates much quicker, even with the stiffer version III mount which came out right after the 170 period. I've been experimenting with the Taue Mount from Japan - an attachment to the YS mount about a year ago with pretty good results.

Almost 99% of YS pilot in Japan favors the cdi with smoother idle. Therefore, have lesser problem with rotational force. However, some of them also have experienced the rubber deteriorating problem.

Adrian
I've had one of these for awhile, but haven't used it yet due to weight.
drac1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 01:00 PM
  #21
drac1
Thread Starter
 
drac1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Romaine, Tasmania, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,391
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyncajun View Post
Attachment 2241579CK Aero Accessories

Or ,you can get the New Hyde Mount from Me at CK Aero.net
I worked with Chip and Merle on this mount I`m the exclusive dealer.
takes care of all the issues and almost 1 ounce lighter !
Bryan
Hey Bryan,

I've been going to get one. Just haven't got around to it yet
drac1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:14 AM
  #22
bjr_93tz
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: ToowoombaQLD, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 887
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by naftali View Post
Maybe using Nishioka's Front Over Stopper
https://translate.googleusercontent....YxyiEkP5WGfYMg
might prevent the engine from moving back on the soft mount during dive, thus closing the throttle and causing the engine to quit. So a low idle can be enjoyed throughout the flight without the need for Idle Up, giving a steeper glide slope on the final leg for landing.
I try to take advantage of the movement, so the rearward movement does close the throttle further while braking in down lines. Maybe the glow guys would have a problem if the throttle position is goes too low during a down line if the plug cools off, then it'd be game over when you try to throttle up, but with the cdi, so as long as the engine is spinning you're getting spark.
bjr_93tz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:35 PM.