RC Pattern Flying Discuss all topics pertaining to RC Pattern Flying in this forum.

Power Box Core RC system

Reply

Old 04-05-2019, 03:21 PM
  #1  
OhD
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: west hills, CA
Posts: 1,144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Power Box Core RC system

Anyone flying one of these in the US?

Jim
OhD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 04:28 AM
  #2  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,495
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

I've flown the factory prototype.

What do you want to know? There's a very lengthy thread in the jets forum with screen shots and stuff.
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 07:28 AM
  #3  
OhD
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: west hills, CA
Posts: 1,144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by BarracudaHockey View Post
I've flown the factory prototype.

What do you want to know? There's a very lengthy thread in the jets forum with screen shots and stuff.
I've always been impressed by PowerBox products and am wondering how their RC system compares to Jeti. Thanks for the reference to the jets forum, I'll take a look.

Jim O
OhD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2019, 09:35 AM
  #4  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,495
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Jim, the gimbals are smooth as butter. The programming is evolving as they do updates. The telemetry is outstanding. The feel is excellent over all and the switch positions are comfortable.

I've flown in on foamies and giant scale gas and it does everything I want a radio to do.
BarracudaHockey is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2019, 11:53 AM
  #5  
OhD
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: west hills, CA
Posts: 1,144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by BarracudaHockey View Post
Jim, the gimbals are smooth as butter. The programming is evolving as they do updates. The telemetry is outstanding. The feel is excellent over all and the switch positions are comfortable.

I've flown in on foamies and giant scale gas and it does everything I want a radio to do.
I went through Dave Wilshere's post and it looks promising. The fact that they are the latest should mean they will have all of the good features everyone else has. A list of the features, like the number of flight modes, mixers, logic switches, etc., along with integration of accessories like TM sensors and gyros, etc., will be what sells it.

I was most interested in the patch antennas. In Los Angeles we have a very bad 2.4Ghz RF environment and any improvement in the RF link would be welcome. Patch antennas typically provide higher gain but not in all directions. It looks like the receivers each have two antennas and I was wondering if the have specific instructions for how to mount them in an airplane.

Regards, Jim
OhD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 11:58 PM
  #6  
frankyy54
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 20
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

In the RX (PBR9D) are not only two antennas, there are two complete RX in a box... each of the antennas is to mount 90 degreed angled..
frankyy54 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 11:59 PM
  #7  
frankyy54
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 20
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Flying Core since 3 weeks. works very well but not all functions are available. need 1-2 updates.
frankyy54 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 06:29 AM
  #8  
kenh3497
 
kenh3497's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rockwell, IA
Posts: 1,501
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

For the price it should wipe your nose and your butt. I guess I just don't see what these multi thousand dollar TX's do that a $500 or less TX won't do.

I guess I'm just a cheap bastage.....

Ken
kenh3497 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 02:19 AM
  #9  
Jeff Worsham
My Feedback: (28)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Saratoga Springs, UT
Posts: 397
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

Originally Posted by kenh3497 View Post
For the price it should wipe your nose and your butt. I guess I just don't see what these multi thousand dollar TX's do that a $500 or less TX won't do.

I guess I'm just a cheap bastage.....

Ken
I think it depends on the rf environment you are flying in and how much you are willing to risk. I was a skeptical late adopter to 2.4 spread spectrum, didn't switch from 72 MHz until 2012. Back then and for years I would have never believed we'd experience rf link issues on 2.4. Now I know that I and others have seen issues in recent years, depending on field location. Don't know what a PB Core radio costs, but if a $2k radio prevents loosing a $3-5k pattern plane, I think that's a win. And as electronics go, prices usually drop over time. Don't get me wrong, I'd love it if a $500 radio would do everything I want a Tx to do. But I haven't found that, primarily in regards to programming, gimbals, and resolution.
Jeff Worsham is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2019, 11:21 AM
  #10  
apereira
 
apereira's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,676
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default

One thing to note is that $500 radios feel like that, and the software is limited for certain things, while the common ATV,EXP, etc is probably what 70% of the users are interested in, there is a point in life when we need radios which can perform better, feel better and do more, they also open new programing posibilities simply imposible with cheaper radios, but that is also the reason why there's a radio for everyone, to me the radio is also part the hobby, I like and enjoy using a high end radio as it feels and performs way better, I sold my Futaba T14SG because the sticks felt horrible(it was a second radio).

I was looking into the CORE, but the software is still in the early stages, for example, I wonder if the CORE will be able to change a condition using a stick but hold that condition until a specific position on the stick is reached and return to the previous condition(hope I explained myself) like I do on my F18MZ.... any info will be appreciated.
apereira is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service