RC Pattern Flying Discuss all topics pertaining to RC Pattern Flying in this forum.

Hyde Mounts

Reply
Old 02-25-2008, 04:50 PM
  #1
brandon ransley
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: northampton, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 41
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hyde Mounts

There seem so many Hyde mounts these days. For a CA Model Osmose which Hyde mount is recommended. I will be using a nose ring. It seems a choice between AR and CR?

Thanks

Brandon
brandon ransley is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 05:19 PM
  #2
MHester
 
MHester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 2,707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hyde Mounts

Which engine? Do NOT uset he CR mount in that plane with a DZ....

AR works. The AR70/75/80 series of mounts are hard to beat, but do NOT let the YS kick on that mount on that airframe. Although it could damage your chin easily with any mount installed, it is much more pronounced with the AR80 for instance. using that mount you have to take all precautions when starting so as not to let the engine kick hard.

If using a 2 stroke, just get an AR and call it a day...

-Mike
MHester is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 05:39 PM
  #3
Pomales
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kissimmee, FL
Posts: 51
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hyde Mounts


Quote:
ORIGINAL: brandon ransley

There seem so many Hyde mounts these days. For a CA Model Osmose which Hyde mount is recommended. I will be using a nose ring. It seems a choice between AR and CR?

Thanks

Brandon
Hyde AR 75 Soft mount / Budd Eng. nose ring. Thats what I got on my Osmose.
regards.
Humberto.
Pomales is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 05:56 PM
  #4
brandon ransley
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: northampton, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 41
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hyde Mounts

Thanks guys - it will be a YS170DZ. What is the difference between the AR 70, 75 and 80.

We will be soft starting (spin the prop then switch on the glow) to avoid kick back

B
brandon ransley is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 06:30 PM
  #5
MHester
 
MHester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 2,707
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hyde Mounts

The numbers are supposedly current drain reduction ratings. The higher the number, the softer the mount. The 80 is noticably softer than the 70.

IMHO the 80 is best left for very sturdy wood airframes, and the 70 is better for composite planes. Just an observation over the course of testing.

-Mike
MHester is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2008, 05:46 PM
  #6
brandon ransley
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: northampton, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 41
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hyde Mounts

Just to report on some great service from Merle Hyde. After considering the mounts I ordered an AR80 and an AR75 plus 2 nose rings on 29 Feb. Merle received the wired money on Monday 3 March and I got a mail today - Wednesday 5 March saying the mounts are made and being shipped. Great turnaround!!

First time I have oredered direct from Merle. (And with the £ so strong against the $ great price too!!)

Brandon
brandon ransley is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 10:09 AM
  #7
poypoy
 
poypoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: cebu, PHILIPPINES
Posts: 17
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hyde Mounts

Brandon, how do we order direct from merle hyde? ..does he have a website? ..e-mail address?
I have difficulty deciding which mount to use on my composite shinden w ys170. thanks
poypoy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2008, 12:22 PM
  #8
onewasp
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 2,035
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hyde Mounts

.
onewasp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 05:25 AM
  #9
brandon ransley
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: northampton, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 41
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hyde Mounts

Poypoy

message sent to you

Regards

Brandon
brandon ransley is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009, 10:32 AM
  #10
xcead
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Buenos Aires, ARGENTINA
Posts: 182
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hyde Mounts

Hello all

Is there a need for using Soft mounts on a wooden airframe? I've heard they are important on a composite plane

Im building one of them, scratch built, 2 M for pattern. Firewall is 3 mm ply and CF on both sides. The cowl will be made of wood too, sanded till round. And reinforced with glass.
Engine is OS 160, piped.
Soft mounts ( specially Hyde ) are hard ( if not impossible) to find and expensive , here where i live

Thanks, I wait your opinion
xcead is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009, 11:30 AM
  #11
rcpattern
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Great Mills, MD
Posts: 2,860
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hyde Mounts

I would definitely continue to use them on a wood airframe. While the wood airframe might absorb some vibration better than composites, it is still very hard on them. Soft mounts, even on a wood airframe will extend the life of the airframe and radio equipment significantly.

Arch
rcpattern is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009, 11:40 AM
  #12
flyintexan
 
flyintexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: tomball, TX
Posts: 1,193
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hyde Mounts

If you absolutely cannot get a Hyde or Budd mount...it is worth the trouble to make a similar version. Any airframe will benefit from a soft mount. Ola Fremming has a nice tutorial on his website:
http://www.ofremmi.info/HowTo/Hyde-mount/HydeMount.htm


Best Regards,
Mark
flyintexan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009, 12:54 PM
  #13
xcead
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Buenos Aires, ARGENTINA
Posts: 182
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hyde Mounts

I ve been paying some atention to the sullivan system...its pretty simple to build, and cheap...I can find those isolators near home. Will it handle the 160 ?

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr49029.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	65.4 KB
ID:	1317452  
xcead is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009, 04:12 PM
  #14
RCBruski65
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Burton, MI
Posts: 249
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hyde Mounts

I used the sullivan for years with a 2 stroke 1.20 and never had a problem. It will need a nose ring because it moves quite a bit.

Tim
RCBruski65 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009, 04:14 PM
  #15
Nickolas
 
Nickolas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Athens, GREECE
Posts: 917
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hyde Mounts

Hi Brandon,

If you ever use a mount like that, try to re enforce it...it is a bad enginering mount...mine broke one day before the world championhsip starts....caused many nightmares when sleeping...and no sleep all night long before the first round trying to fix it with some basic tools...I was very lucky that my plane still exists.

I am gonna try this modified version the fixed one is still on the plane which goes directly to the bin...the quality of the original aluminium is very bad you can cut it with scissors no joke...

Regards,
Nikos

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay75810.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	35.1 KB
ID:	1317541  
Nickolas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009, 08:40 PM
  #16
MTK
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Whippany, NJ
Posts: 5,386
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hyde Mounts


Quote:
ORIGINAL: xcead

Hello all

Is there a need for using Soft mounts on a wooden airframe? I've heard they are important on a composite plane

Im building one of them, scratch built, 2 M for pattern. Firewall is 3 mm ply and CF on both sides. The cowl will be made of wood too, sanded till round. And reinforced with glass.
Engine is OS 160, piped.
Soft mounts ( specially Hyde ) are hard ( if not impossible) to find and expensive , here where i live

Thanks, I wait your opinion
Definitely use the soft mount, The noise reduction and vibration reduction give a superior result.

I never owned a Hydemount however. They are so simple to make that I make a new one every time I want to adjust something. I am talking the Hyde style strictly. The design is the best around.

Somewhere in this site I have a tutorial on making one. It's for the ZDZ 40 cc engine however, dimensions can be adjusted to what you want. I have just completed a soft mount for the 30 cc Syssa gasoline engine which is also set-up with stand offs. But most of mine have been constructed with maple bearers for the engine mounting lugs, which works super and doesn't need any extra reinforcement.

Point is that technique is straight forward to learn and worth the trouble.

MattK
MTK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 07:26 AM
  #17
Angus Balfour
 
Angus Balfour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Mullingar, IRELAND
Posts: 904
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hyde Mounts

Is there any way to tell visually between the AR 70, AR 75 and AR 80 Hyde mounts?
Angus Balfour is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:10 AM.