Community
Search
Notices
RC Pattern Flying Discuss all topics pertaining to RC Pattern Flying in this forum.

ENGINE DOWN AND RIGHT THRUST

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2010, 07:21 PM
tony0707

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ENGINE DOWN AND RIGHT THRUST

HI WOULD LOVE your thoughts on the use of down and right thrust to improve the trim characteristics of an airframe- please only reply if you are very experienced , flying AND TRIMMING for many years
i have been building ,flying and trimming for 20 years-i have always set my wing , stab and engine at zero degrees to each other on all my airframes on jigs in my shop-my stuff flys on rails
i posted this in the 3D section and now the pattern section always looking to improve what i am doing in any way i can ENJOY REGARDS TONY
Old 03-01-2010, 08:45 PM
bjr_93tz

Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts
Default RE: ENGINE DOWN AND RIGHT THRUST

ORIGINAL: tony0707
i have always set my wing , stab and engine at zero degrees to each other on all my airframes on jigs in my shop-my stuff flys on rails
You've answered your own questions. If all your planes fly on rails then you don't need to change your engine thrustline settings.

Changes to engine thrust line angles are only used to correct faults where engine thrust is the predominate cause/cure. ie vertical upline tracking in the pitch plane is trimmed with engine downthrust/upthrust, while straight and level flight tracking (upright and inverted) is trimmed using centre of gravity and decalage.

Sidethrust is a matter of personal preference in that not enough causes some problems, just right causes less problems and too much causes different problems, so you have to decide which problems you can live with and which ones you can't. Generally if you can pull to an upline and your plane doesn't deviate left or right as you slow down while still under power then you're pretty close.