RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

can u make a futaba compatibale with a JR?

Reply

Old 07-28-2003, 08:55 PM
  #1  
ricksheau
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: springfield, MO
Posts: 55
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default can u make a futaba compatibale with a JR?

I have a Jr radio and a futaba reciever will that work?
ricksheau is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 09:44 PM
  #2  
causeitflies
 
causeitflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: EASTERN OHIO
Posts: 2,104
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default can u make a futaba compatibale with a JR?

Sorry, it won't work. Futaba is negetive shift and JR is positive shift.
The servos are interchangable though.
causeitflies is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 01:08 AM
  #3  
RcBoatLover
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 143
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default can u make a futaba compatibale with a JR?

So what recievers will work? Can you use a Two channel reciever with a three channel radio? I started a post about this but yet to have a reply. I really need to know!

Thanks!!! Dale

P.S. Jumbo Jet, I tried a friends Hitec reciever and it diden't work ether!
RcBoatLover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 01:12 AM
  #4  
Flyfalcons
Senior Member
 
Flyfalcons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 6,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default can u make a futaba compatibale with a JR?

You can use a two channel receiver with a three channel radio, but they must be same shift and of course on the same frequency and modulation.
Flyfalcons is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 01:40 AM
  #5  
RcBoatLover
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 143
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default can u make a futaba compatibale with a JR?

Ok, sounds good but what other brands will work?
RcBoatLover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 04:17 AM
  #6  
strato911
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default can u make a futaba compatibale with a JR?

First off, I believe the frequency shift problem only applies to 72Mhz aircraft frequencies.

It is definitely limited to North America.

JR and Airtronics utilize positive shift.
Futaba uses negative shift.
Hitec uses negative shift by default, but also makes most of their receivers available on positive shift, and and the Supreme Select has a jumper wire so the user can select which shift they want.

Many other receiver manufacturers make their receivers available on either shift. You just have to specify when you order.

Many computer radios (except Futaba) now give you the option to select which shift they transmit on. The reason Futaba doesn't, is because they are the source of this problem.

Hope this helps clear up this confusing issue.
strato911 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2003, 01:20 AM
  #7  
RcBoatLover
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 143
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default can u make a futaba compatibale with a JR?

Very Very Helpfull!!! My radio is a 75mhz FM ground radio, and I want to buy a few recievers for other projects, but I don't want to buy the same one that came with the radio. It's a synthesized transmitter and a replacement reciever costs over $75.00! Not what I want to spend to run a small electric retreval boat. Thanks for the help, now I can watch E-Bay for a low priced reciever that will work for my project.

Thanks again! Dale P.
RcBoatLover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2003, 02:05 AM
  #8  
strato911
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default can u make a futaba compatibale with a JR?

Dale - what transmitter do you have (make & model#)?

There aren't very many synth 75Mhz transmitters... And the ones on 72Mhz all support selecting shift (except Futaba). It's a very simple thing to do when you're already synthesizing the signal.
strato911 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2003, 10:23 PM
  #9  
RcBoatLover
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 143
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default can u make a futaba compatibale with a JR?

It's the JR XS 3 . It is a three channel surface radio on 75mhz. I'm pretty sure I can't change the frequency shift on it, just the channel number.
RcBoatLover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2003, 10:40 PM
  #10  
strato911
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default can u make a futaba compatibale with a JR?

That pretty much confirms what I said about the frequency shift being limited to 72Mhz. If JR doesn't incorporate this SIMPLE function into a synth unit, then it probably isn't required for 75Mhz.
strato911 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2003, 12:49 AM
  #11  
RcBoatLover
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 143
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default can u make a futaba compatibale with a JR?

My friend has a hitec three channel 75 mhz remote, and I tried to controle his boat with my remote. I changed it to his channel and it diden't work at all. It only made a difference when he turned on his radio. My remote caused his servos to glitch, but that was all. The servos diden't move one bit with only my remote on. I asked the tech in the JR forum and he said it was because the frequency shift was different, but he would NOT tell me what other brands worked with my remote. Or if the shift was positive or negative. Thanks to your info I now know!

Yeah, you would think that JR would have added the simple feature to change the shift. It does everything elce! Guess they want us to buy only their recievers.
RcBoatLover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2003, 03:31 AM
  #12  
strato911
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default can u make a futaba compatibale with a JR?

Hmmm... I guess you've proven they do use different shifts even on 75Mhz (I assume they were either both FM or both AM radios).

However, as stated earlier, this is definitely limited to North America. Overseas, everyone uses positive shift.
strato911 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2003, 03:43 AM
  #13  
RcBoatLover
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 143
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default can u make a futaba compatibale with a JR?

Guess I will have to move to make life easier!

Thanks again for all the help!

Dale P.
RcBoatLover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2003, 05:36 AM
  #14  
Lynx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,373
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default can u make a futaba compatibale with a JR?

The shift is an easily correctable thing. Even on a 9Z I'm sure it's just a minor hardware mod to shift it.
Lynx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2003, 08:21 PM
  #15  
RcBoatLover
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 143
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default can u make a futaba compatibale with a JR?

"I'm sure it's just a minor hardware mod to shift it."

What type of mod are you suggesting? Going inside the reciever, or something elce. Not sure if I follow. Can you explain more?

Thanks, Dale
RcBoatLover is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service