RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Need some controller suggestions

Old 11-07-2010, 12:00 AM
BlackAndChrome

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Need some controller suggestions

I'm looking for suggestions on a Airplane style controller that my high school robotics team is in need of (I am a graduate that hears a lot of pleas for help), it's for a competition that they are entered in this year. They are a relatively new team that just ran into some new regulations that are forcing them to purchase a 2.4Ghz controller. There are using it in a treaded dual motor setup with lower output (non-RC) style motors that came with what is essentially an erector set style kit, and unfortunately they have a very limited budget. If you could assist me by pointing me in the right direction for what to present them with that would be great, I have never used electric RCs before only nitro for a short period of time so Ihave never really dealt with electric motor controlling before. Advice on a good joystick transmitter and receiver pair that is sub $150 would be great. As well as cheap, relatively low current, ESCs. I assume that with joystick controllers you can just hook the ESCs up to the channels of each joystick to produce typical tank style controlling?

Any advice on this would be greatly appreciated even if it's a quick yes/no and a link as Ihave to go talk to them tomorrow.

Thanks for the help!
-Nick

Old 11-07-2010, 09:17 AM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Need some controller suggestions

Here's a no-frills transmitter and receiver with no servos (most any servos will work with it) for under $80

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXYWM9&P=ML
Old 11-07-2010, 10:23 AM
BlackAndChrome

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback