RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

is a Mini servo drawing more amps?

Reply

Old 12-04-2010, 03:30 AM
  #1  
vasek
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
vasek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Prague, CZECH REPUBLIC
Posts: 4,144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default is a Mini servo drawing more amps?

hi,
i'll be using 2 mini-sevos for a V tail and each needs a 3' lead. Is it ok to use the smaller servo wire?

i remember reading something about mini servos drawing more current than a standard one, is it true?

thanks
V.
vasek is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 06:05 AM
  #2  
JNorton
My Feedback: (2)
 
JNorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Coopersville, MI
Posts: 4,326
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: is a Mini servo drawing more amps?

Servo amperage draw is based in the motor and gear train characteristics not the case size. For a 3 foot extension I'd use a good quality extension using at least 22 gage. You want good quality connections and low resistance, the best in this case. The weight difference is negligible.
John
JNorton is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 02:36 AM
  #3  
A.T.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: is a Mini servo drawing more amps?


ORIGINAL: vasek hi, i'll be using 2 mini-sevos for a V tail and each needs a 3' lead. Is it ok to use the smaller servo wire? i remember reading something about mini servos drawing more current than a standard one, is it true? thanks V.
As in post #2.
Typically the cheaper the servo, the cheaper the motor/gear train and the higher the overall current draw, especially under stress.
Good graphicexamples shown at:
Servo - Database + Download Winzip Program "Choisir ces servos"

Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links
A.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 11:05 AM
  #4  
vasek
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (4)
 
vasek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Prague, CZECH REPUBLIC
Posts: 4,144
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: is a Mini servo drawing more amps?

Good read! thanks Alan
vasek is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 04:34 AM
  #5  
scribble
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: De Forest, WI
Posts: 4
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: is a Mini servo drawing more amps?

I was curious the other day so i checked the amp draw on several servos at the shop. I tried everyting in Hitec's areay that would be used by r/c usage. I started with the HS-55 up to the new High voltage digitals. The meter read at idle from 0.06 up to 0.6 amps at full movement back and forth with no resistance on them.
scribble is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 05:27 AM
  #6  
JNorton
My Feedback: (2)
 
JNorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Coopersville, MI
Posts: 4,326
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: is a Mini servo drawing more amps?

Scribble,
Be more useful an indicator if the servos were doing work. No load characteristics don't correspnd to how we use the servos in flight conditions. Glad you were curious enough to grab a meter and check.
John
JNorton is online now  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service