Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 11 of 11

  1. #1
    TOFAST4U2C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    W BABYLON, NY
    Posts
    478
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Lipo and my 9Cap?

    Just wanted to do my annual transmitter pack change but wanted to know if there ia a direct replacement lipo pack that will fit and not blow out my beloved Futaba 9C? 9.6 vs 11.1 could spell "problem". The reviews here are interesting. http://hobbycity.com/hobbycity/store...idProduct=7346
    I dont want to do any soldering just plug and play. Any help is greatly appreaciated.
    Born to CRUISE, Forced to Work!

  2. #2
    Moderator BarracudaHockey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    19,498
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Lipo and my 9Cap?

    I've been running a Lithium Ion pack in my 9CHP for 3 years with no noticiable ill effects.
    Andy - Helicopter Forum Moderator
    AMA 77227 Leader Member- Contest Director
    www.JaxRC.com

  3. #3
    TOFAST4U2C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    W BABYLON, NY
    Posts
    478
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Lipo and my 9Cap?

    Great news, which battery pack? And after a full charge what does the transmitter show on the screen for volts. Any step down device or adapter? Thanks
    Born to CRUISE, Forced to Work!

  4. #4
    dasintex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Displaced Canadian in Central Texas TX
    Posts
    2,424
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Lipo and my 9Cap?

    I have a 9C as well; interested in changing the battery to Lipo; do you have to remove the battery from the radio to charge it, or can you charge it in the radio using the factory charge port?
    P-40 Brotherhood #3
    P-47 Brotherhood #32
    Spitfire Brotherhood #29
    Not so scale, Almost ready to fly, Soon to be scrap,
    Warbird Brotherhood #58
    Top Flite GS P-51, P-40, FW190
    and Great Planes 30cc CITABRIA
    Future Project:Top Flite GS A6M ZERO
    RIP: H9 Spitfire & H9 P-47

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    4,754
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Lipo and my 9Cap?

    I used to have a 9CAP and I used a 3cell LiPo in mine. If the battery has a Balancing Tap, you at least have to take off the Battery Cover to charge it. I use LiPos in all my Tx's and I remove the battery to charge it. The thing is, the charge lasts so long, I do not have to do it very often.
    Rich
    byronf16@gmail.com

  6. #6
    Moderator BarracudaHockey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    19,498
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Lipo and my 9Cap?

    This is the one I use, I prefer Ion over Polymer btw, no chance of puffing it if you leave it on by accident.

    http://www.rremodels.com/infina-iontransmitterpack.aspx

    I just charge it at 1 amp through the transmitter charge port. The poly switch will open if there's a problem and close when it cools off without popping any fuses.
    Andy - Helicopter Forum Moderator
    AMA 77227 Leader Member- Contest Director
    www.JaxRC.com

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Houten, NETHERLANDS
    Posts
    30
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Lipo and my 9Cap?


    ORIGINAL: TOFAST4U2C

    Just wanted to do my annual transmitter pack change but wanted to know if there ia a direct replacement lipo pack that will fit and not blow out my beloved Futaba 9C? 9.6 vs 11.1 could spell ''problem''. The reviews here are interesting. http://hobbycity.com/hobbycity/store...idProduct=7346
    I dont want to do any soldering just plug and play. Any help is greatly appreaciated.

    I have been running exactly that Rhino Tx pack in my T9C for well over a year now with no problem at all, works great.

    The only disadvantage is you have to open the Tx back for balanced charge. Since I always charge balanced I never tried charging over the built in charge port.

    I replaced the JR plug with 2mm gold connectors for charging.

    After a full charge the display shows 12,6V (obviously), this quickly drops to 12,5. From 12,5 to 11,5 takes some 3 hours of use.

    The low-voltage alarm of the 9C is just right (9,5V) for 3S so you don't need to worry in case you leave the 9C powered on, it wil begin to beep long before the cells become puffed.


  8. #8
    TOFAST4U2C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    W BABYLON, NY
    Posts
    478
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Lipo and my 9Cap?

    Ok, went with the Rhino 2620mAh 3s Lipo and a Step-Down Voltage Regulator just to be safe. Hope me and my 9cap will be happy.
    Born to CRUISE, Forced to Work!

  9. #9
    JoeAirPort's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    10,259
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Lipo and my 9Cap?

    Many friends in my club are all running the 3S Lipo with great success (9C, 10C, 9303/5 etc). I always take it out of the tx to charge but I only have to do that 3-4 times a year. We have been doing this for about 5 years and not a single issue with anybody's tx.
    Joe AP

  10. #10
    TOFAST4U2C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    W BABYLON, NY
    Posts
    478
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Lipo and my 9Cap?


    ORIGINAL: JoeAirPort

    Many friends in my club are all running the 3S Lipo with great success (9C, 10C, 9303/5 etc). I always take it out of the tx to charge but I only have to do that 3-4 times a year. We have been doing this for about 5 years and not a single issue with anybody's tx.
    Joe
    Does anyone step down the voltage with a regulator plug? I spoke to Futaba and they were dead set against going above the 9.4 and 11.4 max.
    Born to CRUISE, Forced to Work!

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
    Posts
    2,581
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Lipo and my 9Cap?

    ORIGINAL: JoeAirPort Many friends in my club are all running the 3S Lipo with great success (9C, 10C, 9303/5 etc). I always take it out of the tx to charge but I only have to do that 3-4 times a year. We have been doing this for about 5 years and not a single issue with anybody's tx.
    ORIGINAL: TOFAST4U2CJoeDoes anyone step down the voltage with a regulator plug? I spoke to Futaba and they were dead set against going above the 9.4 and 11.4 max.
    UnregulatedLipo in Futaba TX - contributes to failure of RFOutput Transistor.
    Batteries_Lithium Polymer - Do Not Use 3S Lipo in Transmitters - especially JR & Hitec.
    3S Lipo pack burns Transmitter Module

    Batteries_Lithium Polymer - Why & How to add Diodes to Reduce Lipo Voltage with pictures
    (tip: Read following page re amendment to soldering)

    more under sub Section :
    "Radio Systems, Accessories, Alterations and FAQ." at:
    Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links

    Regards
    Alan T.
    R/C hobby consultant for various companies


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:24 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.