RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Lipo and my 9Cap?

Reply
Old 12-07-2010, 04:38 AM
  #1
TOFAST4U2C
Thread Starter
 
TOFAST4U2C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: W BABYLON, NY
Posts: 481
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Lipo and my 9Cap?

Just wanted to do my annual transmitter pack change but wanted to know if there ia a direct replacement lipo pack that will fit and not blow out my beloved Futaba 9C? 9.6 vs 11.1 could spell "problem". The reviews here are interesting. http://hobbycity.com/hobbycity/store...idProduct=7346
I dont want to do any soldering just plug and play. Any help is greatly appreaciated.
TOFAST4U2C is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 05:26 AM
  #2
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,896
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lipo and my 9Cap?

I've been running a Lithium Ion pack in my 9CHP for 3 years with no noticiable ill effects.
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 05:35 AM
  #3
TOFAST4U2C
Thread Starter
 
TOFAST4U2C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: W BABYLON, NY
Posts: 481
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lipo and my 9Cap?

Great news, which battery pack? And after a full charge what does the transmitter show on the screen for volts. Any step down device or adapter? Thanks
TOFAST4U2C is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 06:12 AM
  #4
dasintex
 
dasintex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Displaced Canadian in Central Texas TX
Posts: 2,585
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lipo and my 9Cap?

I have a 9C as well; interested in changing the battery to Lipo; do you have to remove the battery from the radio to charge it, or can you charge it in the radio using the factory charge port?
dasintex is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 08:00 AM
  #5
BuschBarber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lipo and my 9Cap?

I used to have a 9CAP and I used a 3cell LiPo in mine. If the battery has a Balancing Tap, you at least have to take off the Battery Cover to charge it. I use LiPos in all my Tx's and I remove the battery to charge it. The thing is, the charge lasts so long, I do not have to do it very often.
BuschBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 08:46 AM
  #6
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,896
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lipo and my 9Cap?

This is the one I use, I prefer Ion over Polymer btw, no chance of puffing it if you leave it on by accident.

http://www.rremodels.com/infina-iontransmitterpack.aspx

I just charge it at 1 amp through the transmitter charge port. The poly switch will open if there's a problem and close when it cools off without popping any fuses.
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 12:30 PM
  #7
br@m
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Houten, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lipo and my 9Cap?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: TOFAST4U2C

Just wanted to do my annual transmitter pack change but wanted to know if there ia a direct replacement lipo pack that will fit and not blow out my beloved Futaba 9C? 9.6 vs 11.1 could spell ''problem''. The reviews here are interesting. http://hobbycity.com/hobbycity/store...idProduct=7346
I dont want to do any soldering just plug and play. Any help is greatly appreaciated.

I have been running exactly that Rhino Tx pack in my T9C for well over a year now with no problem at all, works great.

The only disadvantage is you have to open the Tx back for balanced charge. Since I always charge balanced I never tried charging over the built in charge port.

I replaced the JR plug with 2mm gold connectors for charging.

After a full charge the display shows 12,6V (obviously), this quickly drops to 12,5. From 12,5 to 11,5 takes some 3 hours of use.

The low-voltage alarm of the 9C is just right (9,5V) for 3S so you don't need to worry in case you leave the 9C powered on, it wil begin to beep long before the cells become puffed.

br@m is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 02:55 PM
  #8
TOFAST4U2C
Thread Starter
 
TOFAST4U2C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: W BABYLON, NY
Posts: 481
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lipo and my 9Cap?

Ok, went with the Rhino 2620mAh 3s Lipo and a Step-Down Voltage Regulator just to be safe. Hope me and my 9cap will be happy.
TOFAST4U2C is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 05:16 AM
  #9
JoeAirPort
 
JoeAirPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 10,259
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lipo and my 9Cap?

Many friends in my club are all running the 3S Lipo with great success (9C, 10C, 9303/5 etc). I always take it out of the tx to charge but I only have to do that 3-4 times a year. We have been doing this for about 5 years and not a single issue with anybody's tx.
JoeAirPort is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 05:40 AM
  #10
TOFAST4U2C
Thread Starter
 
TOFAST4U2C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: W BABYLON, NY
Posts: 481
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lipo and my 9Cap?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: JoeAirPort

Many friends in my club are all running the 3S Lipo with great success (9C, 10C, 9303/5 etc). I always take it out of the tx to charge but I only have to do that 3-4 times a year. We have been doing this for about 5 years and not a single issue with anybody's tx.
Joe
Does anyone step down the voltage with a regulator plug? I spoke to Futaba and they were dead set against going above the 9.4 and 11.4 max.
TOFAST4U2C is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 11:06 AM
  #11
A.T.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Lipo and my 9Cap?

Quote:
ORIGINAL: JoeAirPort Many friends in my club are all running the 3S Lipo with great success (9C, 10C, 9303/5 etc). I always take it out of the tx to charge but I only have to do that 3-4 times a year. We have been doing this for about 5 years and not a single issue with anybody's tx.
Quote:
ORIGINAL: TOFAST4U2CJoeDoes anyone step down the voltage with a regulator plug? I spoke to Futaba and they were dead set against going above the 9.4 and 11.4 max.
UnregulatedLipo in Futaba TX - contributes to failure of RFOutput Transistor.
Batteries_Lithium Polymer - Do Not Use 3S Lipo in Transmitters - especially JR & Hitec.
3S Lipo pack burns Transmitter Module

Batteries_Lithium Polymer - Why & How to add Diodes to Reduce Lipo Voltage with pictures
(tip: Read following page re amendment to soldering)

more under sub Section :
"Radio Systems, Accessories, Alterations and FAQ." at:
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links

Regards
Alan T.
A.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:11 AM.