Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Lipo and my 9Cap?

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2010, 04:38 AM
TOFAST4U2C
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lipo and my 9Cap?

Just wanted to do my annual transmitter pack change but wanted to know if there ia a direct replacement lipo pack that will fit and not blow out my beloved Futaba 9C? 9.6 vs 11.1 could spell "problem". The reviews here are interesting. http://hobbycity.com/hobbycity/store...idProduct=7346
I dont want to do any soldering just plug and play. Any help is greatly appreaciated.
Old 12-07-2010, 05:26 AM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 351 Likes on 281 Posts
Default RE: Lipo and my 9Cap?

I've been running a Lithium Ion pack in my 9CHP for 3 years with no noticiable ill effects.
Old 12-07-2010, 05:35 AM
TOFAST4U2C

Great news, which battery pack? And after a full charge what does the transmitter show on the screen for volts. Any step down device or adapter? Thanks
Old 12-07-2010, 06:12 AM
dasintex
My Feedback: (10)

I have a 9C as well; interested in changing the battery to Lipo; do you have to remove the battery from the radio to charge it, or can you charge it in the radio using the factory charge port?
Old 12-07-2010, 08:00 AM
BuschBarber

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I used to have a 9CAP and I used a 3cell LiPo in mine. If the battery has a Balancing Tap, you at least have to take off the Battery Cover to charge it. I use LiPos in all my Tx's and I remove the battery to charge it. The thing is, the charge lasts so long, I do not have to do it very often.
Old 12-07-2010, 08:46 AM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 351 Likes on 281 Posts

This is the one I use, I prefer Ion over Polymer btw, no chance of puffing it if you leave it on by accident.

http://www.rremodels.com/infina-iontransmitterpack.aspx