RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Homemade Futaba Training Cord?

Reply

Old 08-04-2003, 09:08 AM
  #1  
KiwiFreak
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Homemade Futaba Training Cord?

I'm new to this hobby and after my first flight going really well I can already understand the benifits of a buddy box for my first landing attempt.

I've got a Futaba 6exa radio, the one with the new square plug. I'm just can't wait for one to come from Tower (I live in New Zealand so it takes ages for stuff to get here) so I figured I'd make one.

My instructor has the Futaba 7FF or something radio, does anyone know what I would have to do to make the cord? I figure my can just make a square plug and can probably buy the round plug but I need to know the pin outs etc.

Please help
KiwiFreak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 09:40 AM
  #2  
Borzak
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: LA,TX,MS,AL
Posts: 361
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Homemade Futaba Training Cord?

If you have a heli place close by call them. It's the same cord as the 9C Futaba and a lot of heli places stock it unlike aircraft places.

BTW Tower doesn't even have the cord yet. It was posted in stock Early July then Late July now it's listed as Early Aug....

But do a search for 9C trainer cord here there's a post with the pin locations and where to order the DIN connector.
Borzak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 10:59 AM
  #3  
olivier
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Brussels, BELGIUM
Posts: 242
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Homemade Futaba Training Cord?

Hi,

Have a look at my website, chapter 7. You'll find everything you need.
Good luck to find a Futaba square connector...

Olivier
olivier is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 04:19 PM
  #4  
CO-Zman
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 35
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Homemade Futaba Training Cord?

Here's the only place I found the square plugs for sale:

http://www.model-gadgets.com

$10 US for 2.
Rob
CO-Zman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 07:51 AM
  #5  
KiwiFreak
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Homemade Futaba Training Cord?

olivier, on your website you have two versions of the square conector to din conector trainer cord, it seems the only difference is one has +V the other doesn't. Which one should I make?
KiwiFreak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 01:26 PM
  #6  
FLYBOY
My Feedback: (11)
 
FLYBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Missoula, MT
Posts: 9,036
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Homemade Futaba Training Cord?

Check your club or the ones around you. Someone may have one you can borrow. That would save you making one.
FLYBOY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2003, 07:02 PM
  #7  
ACROHUNTER
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Santiago, CHILE
Posts: 44
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Re: Homemade Futaba Training Cord?

Hi Kiwi,

I was in your same problem, finaly I buy a Futaba DSC Cord 9C, and take the plug from it. Made the cord acording to the Olivier web page (great!!!). Just US$6,0 for the cord.

I buy the Futaba DSC Cord 9C from Tower Hobbies, itīs in stock now, check it with this number:

LXBNA0

I made the one with out the power cable from master to slave, and works Ok, you canīt take out the batery from the slave.

Hope this help.

Regards
ACROHUNTER is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2003, 06:46 AM
  #8  
olivier
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Brussels, BELGIUM
Posts: 242
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Homemade Futaba Training Cord?

Hi Kiwi,

olivier, on your website you have two versions of the square conector to din conector trainer cord, it seems the only difference is one has +V the other doesn't. Which one should I make?
It's all mentioned in my website, chapter 1, paragraph 1.2 ...

If you connect the +V, then the master will power the slave.
If no use is made of the +V, then the slave ttransmitter must be switched on (of course, you'll remove the crystal or HF-module to avoid any danger of transmitting).

The solution of Marcelo to transform a DSC-cable is perfect. I personaly bought the square connectors from model-gadgets, which delivers very fast (made already 4 times orders, everytime perfect fast service) and is reliable.

Happy learnings,
Olivier
olivier is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service