RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

72 Mhz Low band vs High band?

Reply

Old 08-05-2003, 10:54 AM
  #1  
Rick_in_jax
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 72 Mhz Low band vs High band?

Hey all, I'm getting back into flying and am looking at purchasing a flite pack. I have looked at the ads and they talk about low band and high band.

I have a Futaba 4TV and it is at 72.250, channel 23.

From looking at the frequency charts I'm assuming this is low band?

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Rick
Rick_in_jax is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 11:56 AM
  #2  
aksmithrc
Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 91
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default 72 Mhz Low band vs High band?

Yes, that is a low band Futaba; if you use an aftermarket rx with it (Hitec or FMA) all you need is the matching (Hitec / FMA) ch 23 crystal...no worry about hi / lo band. The hi / lo band only references Ftuaba rx's. Everrybody center-tunes their rx to the cente of the entire 72 mHz band...Futaba continues to separate the band into the low band up to ch 34 and the high band above ch 34.
The dual conversion rx's by FMA / Hitec are EXCELLENT units and should be considered; especially with the prices at which Hitec crystal may be obtained. An excellent source for Hitec is SERVO City (www.servocity.com). I have ordered from those guys many times and never had a glitch....no shipping charges either.
Good luck on getting back into RC.
aksmithrc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 01:25 PM
  #3  
Rick_in_jax
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Low band

A K Thanks for the clarification. I had though channel 23 would be low band but hadn't proven it to myself.

For years I flew on 6 meters but the hardware I have left isn't small by any means. Servo's weigh a ton!

I had looked at the flite packs that Great Planes offered and they have 2 different versions, low band and high band, so that is why i was concerned.

Rick
Rick_in_jax is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service