RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Motor causing Rx interference?

Reply
Old 01-17-2011, 12:39 AM
  #1
saleens7
Thread Starter
 
saleens7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: pembroke pines, FL
Posts: 2,035
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Motor causing Rx interference?

So i've been having issues with my RC going out of range easily. I'm running a Hitec Agressor SRX pro on my brushless tamiya DF-03 buggy.

If i get more than 30 - 40 feet away, I experience throttle blipping and sometimes momentary cut-outs where I have no control. My receiver seems to be working fine, the antenna is wired up right (it does pass close to the motor, which may cause some interference?). I'm not sure if it's my radio system, or just the set up. My friend has a traxxas rustler with the stock AM tx/rx setup, no problems what so ever. I even switched my brushless setup over to it one day to see how fast it went. In between the 60mph wheelies, I noticed his car didn't get any interference at all, despite running my same motor/esc/batt setup, and we would get it as far as 200 feet away. The only difference is that his has the antenna wired up to the front of the car, away from the motor, where mine passes within an inch of the motor where it wires through the antenna tube. Could my motor be causing the interference?
saleens7 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 04:53 AM
  #2
BuschBarber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Motor causing Rx interference?

I am not an experienced RC Car person so I have not used that particular radio. It appears to be 2.4Ghz?

http://www.hitecrcd.com/products/new...ro-2-4ghz.html

Have you tried moving your Rx, on the buggy, to get further away from the motor, just as a test, and then Range Testing it?

http://www.hitecrcd.com/products/sur...hz/atom-3.html

It appears to have one antenna. Perhaps reorienting the direction of the antenna?

Have you tried another Rx on your chassis? Did you say you tried your Rx on someone else's chassis?
BuschBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 08:02 AM
  #3
saleens7
Thread Starter
 
saleens7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: pembroke pines, FL
Posts: 2,035
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Motor causing Rx interference?

I have the FM version of the pro. It has the removable module, so I could switch to 2.4 if i can find one. I don't really have any other FM Rx's to use at the moment, so I'm going to have to buy one to see if it works out. I tried looking for the 2.4 module, but all I'm finding it their 6+ channel ones for their plane controllers.

I'm going to try a different antenna placement. If that doesn't work, I think I'll try a different Rx.
saleens7 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 06:14 PM
  #4
safeTwire
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Rye Brook, NY
Posts: 572
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Motor causing Rx interference?

Check for any metal to metal contact, a possible source of RF interference.

Motor bearings, wheel bearings, exhaust manifold & muffler/pipe, etc.

Get a helper and do a range check as per factory specs.

RX been in a crash?

Try a shield insulating motor from antenna?

Just a few thoughts...
safeTwire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 11:35 AM
  #5
saleens7
Thread Starter
 
saleens7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: pembroke pines, FL
Posts: 2,035
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Motor causing Rx interference?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: safeTwire

Check for any metal to metal contact, a possible source of RF interference.

Motor bearings, wheel bearings, exhaust manifold & muffler/pipe, etc.

Get a helper and do a range check as per factory specs.

RX been in a crash?

Try a shield insulating motor from antenna?

Just a few thoughts...
I got the Tx/Rx used, so I'm not sure if its been in a crash. It comes very close to the motor, so I wouldn't be surprised if that's interfering with it. I have to wait for some parts to come in before I can run it again, but I'll try re-routing the antenna. If that doesn't work, hobby king does have that 20$ 2.4 system
saleens7 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 08:05 PM
  #6
safeTwire
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Rye Brook, NY
Posts: 572
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Motor causing Rx interference?

Sounds like a plan! Good luck and let us know how you made out.
safeTwire is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 08:42 PM
  #7
dirtybird
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Motor causing Rx interference?

The control system for a brushless motor is a good RF interference generator. An FM-PPM system is especially vulnerable to this RF. The best solution is to move to 2.4GHZ.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 05:15 AM
  #8
saleens7
Thread Starter
 
saleens7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: pembroke pines, FL
Posts: 2,035
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Motor causing Rx interference?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: dirtybird

The control system for a brushless motor is a good RF interference generator. An FM-PPM system is especially vulnerable to this RF. The best solution is to move to 2.4GHZ.
I'll take this in mind
saleens7 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 05:20 AM
  #9
BuschBarber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Motor causing Rx interference?

I believe they used to connect Capacitors, across certain wires on electric motors, to reduce RF noise that bothered PPM. I would think modern RC Car motors would have them already.
BuschBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 06:47 AM
  #10
carrellh
 
carrellh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Garland, TX
Posts: 6,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Motor causing Rx interference?

If you make your installation as much like your friernd's truck as possible, I think you have a good chance of solving the problem without changing radios.

I found a lot of links to the Hitec 2.4 module but all say 'out of stock' until late February (which may really mean July).
One link http://www3.omnimodels.com/cgi-bin/w...I=HRCL4100&P=0
carrellh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 03:26 PM
  #11
saleens7
Thread Starter
 
saleens7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: pembroke pines, FL
Posts: 2,035
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Motor causing Rx interference?

I could always try to find a second hand Tx/Rx from traxxas or something like that as well.
saleens7 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:26 AM.