Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 11 of 11

  1. #1
    saleens7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    pembroke pines, FL
    Posts
    2,035
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Motor causing Rx interference?

    So i've been having issues with my RC going out of range easily. I'm running a Hitec Agressor SRX pro on my brushless tamiya DF-03 buggy.

    If i get more than 30 - 40 feet away, I experience throttle blipping and sometimes momentary cut-outs where I have no control. My receiver seems to be working fine, the antenna is wired up right (it does pass close to the motor, which may cause some interference?). I'm not sure if it's my radio system, or just the set up. My friend has a traxxas rustler with the stock AM tx/rx setup, no problems what so ever. I even switched my brushless setup over to it one day to see how fast it went. In between the 60mph wheelies, I noticed his car didn't get any interference at all, despite running my same motor/esc/batt setup, and we would get it as far as 200 feet away. The only difference is that his has the antenna wired up to the front of the car, away from the motor, where mine passes within an inch of the motor where it wires through the antenna tube. Could my motor be causing the interference?
    saleens7, the wookie of RC

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    4,754
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Motor causing Rx interference?

    I am not an experienced RC Car person so I have not used that particular radio. It appears to be 2.4Ghz?

    http://www.hitecrcd.com/products/new...ro-2-4ghz.html

    Have you tried moving your Rx, on the buggy, to get further away from the motor, just as a test, and then Range Testing it?

    http://www.hitecrcd.com/products/sur...hz/atom-3.html

    It appears to have one antenna. Perhaps reorienting the direction of the antenna?

    Have you tried another Rx on your chassis? Did you say you tried your Rx on someone else's chassis?
    Rich
    byronf16@gmail.com

  3. #3
    saleens7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    pembroke pines, FL
    Posts
    2,035
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Motor causing Rx interference?

    I have the FM version of the pro. It has the removable module, so I could switch to 2.4 if i can find one. I don't really have any other FM Rx's to use at the moment, so I'm going to have to buy one to see if it works out. I tried looking for the 2.4 module, but all I'm finding it their 6+ channel ones for their plane controllers.

    I'm going to try a different antenna placement. If that doesn't work, I think I'll try a different Rx.
    saleens7, the wookie of RC

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rye Brook, NY
    Posts
    571
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Motor causing Rx interference?

    Check for any metal to metal contact, a possible source of RF interference.

    Motor bearings, wheel bearings, exhaust manifold & muffler/pipe, etc.

    Get a helper and do a range check as per factory specs.

    RX been in a crash?

    Try a shield insulating motor from antenna?

    Just a few thoughts...

  5. #5
    saleens7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    pembroke pines, FL
    Posts
    2,035
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Motor causing Rx interference?


    ORIGINAL: safeTwire

    Check for any metal to metal contact, a possible source of RF interference.

    Motor bearings, wheel bearings, exhaust manifold & muffler/pipe, etc.

    Get a helper and do a range check as per factory specs.

    RX been in a crash?

    Try a shield insulating motor from antenna?

    Just a few thoughts...
    I got the Tx/Rx used, so I'm not sure if its been in a crash. It comes very close to the motor, so I wouldn't be surprised if that's interfering with it. I have to wait for some parts to come in before I can run it again, but I'll try re-routing the antenna. If that doesn't work, hobby king does have that 20$ 2.4 system
    saleens7, the wookie of RC

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rye Brook, NY
    Posts
    571
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Motor causing Rx interference?

    Sounds like a plan! Good luck and let us know how you made out.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    San Tan Valley, AZ
    Posts
    5,082
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Motor causing Rx interference?

    The control system for a brushless motor is a good RF interference generator. An FM-PPM system is especially vulnerable to this RF. The best solution is to move to 2.4GHZ.
    dirty old men need love too.

  8. #8
    saleens7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    pembroke pines, FL
    Posts
    2,035
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Motor causing Rx interference?


    ORIGINAL: dirtybird

    The control system for a brushless motor is a good RF interference generator. An FM-PPM system is especially vulnerable to this RF. The best solution is to move to 2.4GHZ.
    I'll take this in mind
    saleens7, the wookie of RC

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    4,754
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Motor causing Rx interference?

    I believe they used to connect Capacitors, across certain wires on electric motors, to reduce RF noise that bothered PPM. I would think modern RC Car motors would have them already.
    Rich
    byronf16@gmail.com

  10. #10
    carrellh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Garland, TX
    Posts
    6,544
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Motor causing Rx interference?

    If you make your installation as much like your friernd's truck as possible, I think you have a good chance of solving the problem without changing radios.

    I found a lot of links to the Hitec 2.4 module but all say 'out of stock' until late February (which may really mean July).
    One link http://www3.omnimodels.com/cgi-bin/w...I=HRCL4100&P=0
    - Carrell

  11. #11
    saleens7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    pembroke pines, FL
    Posts
    2,035
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Motor causing Rx interference?

    I could always try to find a second hand Tx/Rx from traxxas or something like that as well.
    saleens7, the wookie of RC


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:05 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.