RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Am I missing anything (custom servo)

Old 02-02-2011, 01:00 PM
IAmSupernova

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Am I missing anything (custom servo)

Okay, well I'm trying to work out a home built R/C car, admittedly I'm pretty new to R/C stuff (besides the toys as a kid) but good with electronics, and have also been spending a lot of time checking out other people's work, reading up on guides and just diving head in to reading anything that might help me.

Anyways, right now I'm trying to work out a cheap(er) option for a heavy duty servo, and want to make sure I'm not missing anything.. If someone wouldn't mind just checking it over real quick (mostly doing this to see how cheaply I can build what I need to)..

Motor (12v DC wiper motor): http://monsterguts.com/index.php?act...od&productId=4
Potentiometer (5k Ohm, from Radioshack): http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2062356
Motor Controller (5.5v - 30v, 7A, peak 30+): http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/1373

The Tx/Rx will be something like this, if that matters: http://www.hobbypartz.com/exrc62tr.html

My first question is, am Iactually missing anything here? Or are these all the components Ineed to make a functioning servo, and my second one is to make sure this is all compatible.
Old 02-02-2011, 03:12 PM
fizzwater2
My Feedback: (60)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Am I missing anything (custom servo)

Out of curiosity, I looked at the website info for the motor controller.

I see where you can use it with an RC style interface as a simple motor speed controller, but I didn't get the impression that you can connect it along with a position feedback pot to turn it into a position controller.