RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Spektrum DSMX

Reply

Old 02-03-2011, 10:44 AM
  #1  
Pilot232
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 134
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Spektrum DSMX

http://www.spektrumrc.com/DSMX/

Travis
Pilot232 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 11:58 AM
  #2  
JIMF14D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: PATCHOGUE, NY
Posts: 954
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DSMX

Very interesting. Welcome to the 21st Century Specktrum! I guess 2 channel "pick and stick" was not so hot after all.
JIMF14D is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 12:05 PM
  #3  
DadsToysBG
My Feedback: (35)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bowling Green, KY
Posts: 2,497
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DSMX

Remember Spektrum always said 40 at a time. JoNall and others showed this to be true. Now Spektrum and JR have a choice. If you don't fly at big events no reason to change. Dennis
DadsToysBG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 12:12 PM
  #4  
JIMF14D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: PATCHOGUE, NY
Posts: 954
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DSMX

40 was not my worry. It was the pick 2 and never move thing.
JIMF14D is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 12:18 PM
  #5  
TimBle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cape Town, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 2,744
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DSMX

and the constant lying that their product was fine...
TimBle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 12:24 PM
  #6  
JIMF14D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: PATCHOGUE, NY
Posts: 954
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DSMX

The need for all the extra clap trap Rxs always left me cold but Iguess if you have a $5000 airplane it is good insurance.

We will now get 9000 emails telliing us we are anti Specktrum zealots....LOL
JIMF14D is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 04:23 PM
  #7  
pdm52956
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Levant, ME
Posts: 700
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DSMX


ORIGINAL: TimBle

and the constant lying that their product was fine...

Mine is..........both the Spektrum and my JR. Go figure. I miss all the fun.
pdm52956 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 04:41 PM
  #8  
obriendigital
My Feedback: (13)
 
obriendigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Waverly, NE
Posts: 69
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DSMX

This is frustrating as I just bought a DX8...I realize it works with DSMX but the RX does not, they just came out with new ones!!!http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...odID=SPMAR8000

obriendigital is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 04:54 PM
  #9  
pilotpete2
 
pilotpete2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lyndonville, VT
Posts: 3,298
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DSMX

I think you're mistaken. From what I've heard, all AR8000 receivers right from the start have been DSMX/DSM2, ditto, the AR600's
Pete
pilotpete2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 04:56 PM
  #10  
obriendigital
My Feedback: (13)
 
obriendigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Waverly, NE
Posts: 69
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DSMX

I just called Horizon as I bought a DX8 29 days ago and was a little frustrated if the AR8000 that came with it wasn't DSMX and I have one more day to exchange it. The gentlemen on the phone said it does in fact of DSMX built into it!
obriendigital is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 05:28 PM
  #11  
Thomas B
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,254
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DSMX


ORIGINAL: TimBle

and the constant lying that their product was fine...
With dozens of Spektrum RX units here and thousands of flights, I find Spektrum DSM and DSM2 to be flawless. At many electric events over the last 4 years, I have seen basically zero problems related to Spektrum...completely zero for me, very nearly zero for all present. The very few crashes I witnessed were more likely to be power supply issues, servo failures, pilot error or other non Spektrum caused problems

Ergo, not lying to say Spektrum is fine..because it is.

The DSMX upgrade will certainly improve things at mega events where you really should not have hundreds of radios turned on at once, reguardless of radio brand.

Thomas B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 05:39 PM
  #12  
Flypaper 2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kingston, ON, CANADA
Posts: 4,925
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DSMX

DX8 will be updated with DSMX with version 2 on the card.
Flypaper 2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 05:43 PM
  #13  
Kimhoff
My Feedback: (22)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Jefferson, MO
Posts: 655
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DSMX

Horizon Hobby sticks it to the modelers again. They are not offering DSMX for the modules that fit the 72 Mhz radios, unbelievable!



Iam happy the Chinese have quality modules that work so I can get rid of my Spektrum DSM junk and put a quality module in my exisitng radios.

Too bad Horizon didn't figure this out so they could keep their customers they ripped off.

Kimhoff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 06:20 PM
  #14  
BelAirBob
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 473
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DSMX

If you go to the Horizon Hobby website, it looks like there are upgrades even for the DX6i......so that includes all the JR models too.

bob
BelAirBob is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 07:21 PM
  #15  
Ron Stahl
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: reisterstown, MD
Posts: 1,864
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DSMX

Anyone want some NIB 12 channel 1221 or 9 channel 922 powersafe DSM2 rx's for $175 each? I have ten of the 1221's and two 922's sitting in my shop. This is the 2nd time I bought new equipment only to have JR and or Spectrum come out with newer tech stuff within weeks. The last time was when I bought 10 of the synthizied 10 channel rx's and the tx module for my 10x to be sure I was the only one on a channel at events; only to have the Specturm DSM modules and Rx's for JR radios come out a week later making everything worthless to try and sell. Now I buy over a thousand dollars of DSM2 RX's with my Christmas bonus to go with my 12X and within weeks the new DSMX stuff is annouced today and the local shop I deal with didn't know a thing about it until today and I know that to be true as I work there part time on weekends. I'm NOT a happy JR customer!!! And I am sure that I am not the only one since 2 of my friends just bought 12x's last weekend from me at the shop. At least they will get the free TX upgrade!
Ron Stahl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 08:23 PM
  #16  
John Sohm
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stone Ridge, NY
Posts: 366
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DSMX

I also find this interesting considering that most of the other companies chose FHSS modes be that Futaba or Hitec or whatever. The following info was taken out of the DSM X addon for the DX8 transmitter:

Flight Log Recording-Fades Higher than DSM2Note that DSMX hops through the band while DSM2 finds two quiet channels and remains on those channels. Consequently because DSMX operates on quiet and noisy channels,
it’s common to have more Antenna Fades than when using DSM2, when used in busy 2.4GHz environments.

Why would they go to a method that they claimed was inferior to their own method. It was more likely that the chipset used to claim any two random frequencies and hold them was less expensive than the FHSS type chipset. That's my guess since you can now get DSM2 compatible OrangeRX receivers for less than $8.00 each while the FASST compatible ones are still around $30.00. I could be wrong but I doubt it.

Will I upgrade? Probably since according to the website, you will still be able to use your DSM2 receivers when in DSM2 mode. Same situation with Futaba's FASST 7 and Multi mode high speed.
John Sohm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2011, 08:27 PM
  #17  
ira d
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Moreno Valley, CA
Posts: 3,139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DSMX

Im not the least bit suprised by this announcment, myself and others have been predicting this for some time now in spite of the fact that someone from JR
posted on here a few months ago about how JR was totally commited to DSM2. When JR came out with the XG7 with DMSS that was the writing on the wall
so to speak. Also the rumor about the XG7 was it was only produced for markets where DMS2 could not be used but I never bought into that idea.
ira d is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 12:34 AM
  #18  
scooterinvegas
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
scooterinvegas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,278
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DSMX

WOW..........

Some of you guys worry to much. I have a DX7 & JR 9505 that I fly with 3-4 times a week. PERFECT every time all the time. If you set-up any radio system wrong, your plane WILL cash.

Some of you act like you never flew locked on to ONE channel (FM).

I don't care about the change, and I'm not going to waste money just so I can try and keep up with the Jones's or to brag about having the "latest and greatest".

And those of you that get off on putting people down and calling them lairs should take a moment to look inside your selves and ask what it is that makes you act that way. Seriously, there is something wrong deep down inside that you need to address.
scooterinvegas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 04:57 AM
  #19  
rmh
Senior Member
 
rmh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: , UT
Posts: 12,630
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DSMX

I have over 40 years of different brand radio experience and for the most part most -no problems
First MRC/FUTABA- bad radio
WORLD ENGINES EXPERT -bad radio
Early 1980's FM JR (before ABCW rx) bad radios.
Since then- all good radio experiences (inc SPEKTRUM/JR)
The new DX8 -is feature for feature -the most advanced system I have seen
Not most expensive or most channels - just most where it counts
The fact that it was already DSMX- a nice surprise.
rmh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 06:37 AM
  #20  
Zor
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ontario, ON, CANADA
Posts: 3,525
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DSMX


ORIGINAL: Kimhoff

Horizon Hobby sticks it to the modelers again. They are not offering DSMX for the modules that fit the 72 Mhz radios, unbelievable!



Iam happy the Chinese have quality modules that work so I can get rid of my Spektrum DSM junk and put a quality module in my exisitng radios.

Too bad Horizon didn't figure this out so they could keep their customers they ripped off.



Kimhoff and all readers,

The 72 Mhz band is not suitable for frequency hopping like it is possible in the 2.4 Ghz band.

The 72 Mhz band has 72.010 Mhz to 72.990 Mhz a spread of 0.98 Mhz. ( 980 Khz ) divided in 50 channels of 20 Khz each. In reality it is 1000 Khz since the freq mentioned are the center frequency of the channels.



See _ _ _ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electro...nce_at_2.4_GHz



The 2.4 Ghz band has 2.400 Ghz to 2.500 Ghz . A full tenth of a Gigahertz or 100 Mhz. A lot more space to hop around.



Zor



Edited by Zor Friday 04 Feb 2011 at 11:43 EST to rectify misleading info

Zor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 06:50 AM
  #21  
Flypaper 2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kingston, ON, CANADA
Posts: 4,925
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DSMX

The upgrade download for the DX8 won't be out till the 10th of the month.
Flypaper 2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 06:55 AM
  #22  
VF84sluggo
My Feedback: (55)
 
VF84sluggo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 2,367
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DSMX


ORIGINAL: JIMF14D

40 was not my worry. It was the pick 2 and never move thing.
Exactly. That's why I went to Futaba/FASST back in September. Got my last plane converted to a Futaba rx yesterday. The more I get used to my 12FG, the further in my rear view mirror JR/Spektrum get.
VF84sluggo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 06:56 AM
  #23  
rmh
Senior Member
 
rmh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: , UT
Posts: 12,630
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DSMX

I think I can handle that -
rmh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 06:56 AM
  #24  
fizzwater2
My Feedback: (60)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Paola, KS
Posts: 2,765
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DSMX

I believe the post about the modules was referring to the Spektrum 2.4GHz modules that can be used in the module based older transmitters which typically had a 72 MHz module - not that they expected frequency hopping in the 72MHz band.

It is a shame that they don't have the update for the Spektrum modules. But, they're charging 75 bucks to update a DX7, you could probably buy a whole new DSM-X module for about that. Why bother shipping one both ways?

Another thought - could it be there isn't enough micro processor power in the stand-alone modules to support the software/firmware used for both the DSSS and FHSS parts of the DSM-X system?



fizzwater2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 07:25 AM
  #25  
Zor
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ontario, ON, CANADA
Posts: 3,525
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum DSMX

It seems to me that we now have an unanswered question.

What is (are) the difference(s) betweenthe DSMX system and the FASST system ?

A real explanation would be appreciated by many readers.
Any explanation should be clear and hopefully "not a link to some analogies" .
Please get to the point if you really know.

Many thanks.

Zor
Zor is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service