RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

JR 2.4ghz conversion question

Reply
Old 02-13-2011, 12:23 PM
  #1
crashland 73
Thread Starter
 
crashland 73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oak Grove (in the Ozarks), AR
Posts: 999
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default JR 2.4ghz conversion question

Howdy,
Ive got a JR 9303 & want to convert it to the 2.4, would it eliminate glitches for gas engines? Im running fm & have some glitch probs even with pcm. So im wondering if this transformation would fix it?
crashland 73 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 12:58 PM
  #2
BuschBarber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4ghz conversion question

I have two XP9303 Tx's. One has a Spektrum module. I have had very good luck with this combo.
BuschBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 08:02 PM
  #3
sgillmore
 
sgillmore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jefferson City, MO
Posts: 292
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4ghz conversion question


Quote:
ORIGINAL: crashland 73

Howdy,
Ive got a JR 9303 & want to convert it to the 2.4, would it eliminate glitches for gas engines? Im running fm & have some glitch probs even with pcm. So im wondering if this transformation would fix it?
2.4Ghz systems are not 100% immune to the interference generated by electronic ignitions, but they are pretty darn close. To answer your question, I suspect that your problem will indeed be masked by the upgrade. By this I mean that it will appear to go away, however whatever is causing the interference will still be there. I wouldn't be surprised if you receive a handful of recommendations to find whatever is causing the glitch before you make the upgrade.
sgillmore is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 08:12 PM
  #4
crashland 73
Thread Starter
 
crashland 73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oak Grove (in the Ozarks), AR
Posts: 999
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4ghz conversion question

LOL! you are right on all the ideas. Ive not flown very long, only about 9 years but ive had about 6 or so gas engines and usually its because of my rx stuff being too close to the engine. Ive heard ALL of the "it might b's" around here & everywhere else. I was just wondering if it was any different.
crashland 73 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2011, 08:37 PM
  #5
BuschBarber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4ghz conversion question


Quote:
ORIGINAL: crashland 73

LOL! you are right on all the ideas. Ive not flown very long, only about 9 years but ive had about 6 or so gas engines and usually its because of my rx stuff being too close to the engine. Ive heard ALL of the ''it might b's'' around here & everywhere else. I was just wondering if it was any different.
I have used 72Mhz for 33 years so I have had many encounters with RF Noise, especially with Gas engines, Ignition and Magneto. I just can't say enough about 2.4Ghz. I have not had even a hint of a glitch with my Spektrum module and Spektrum receivers.
BuschBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 06:19 AM
  #6
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,811
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4ghz conversion question

I agree that you need to find the cause and fix it first. Resistor plug, loose plug cap, component location etc.
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 08:55 AM
  #7
vasek
 
vasek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Prague, CZECH REPUBLIC
Posts: 4,083
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4ghz conversion question


Quote:
ORIGINAL: crashland 73

Howdy,
Ive got a JR 9303 & want to convert it to the 2.4 ...
If you decide to go 2.4 , just consider your options before you commit to Spektrum. Spektum makes a DSM2 modules, however they came up with a better "hopping" DSMX system now. No modules made for that one...

But HItec has a "hopping" Spectra and they "just" released a module to fit JR Tx (it shows on the Tower Hobbies site with a "to buy" date) . I already have DSM2 module but thinking buying the Hitec module also. Better system IMO

cheers,
V.
vasek is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 01:03 PM
  #8
crashland 73
Thread Starter
 
crashland 73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oak Grove (in the Ozarks), AR
Posts: 999
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4ghz conversion question


i appreciate it, but as mentioned before, ive done everything but move my stuff back farther. but when i installed everything, i had it far back as possible. i might need to put extentions to move back farter.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: BarracudaHockey

I agree that you need to find the cause and fix it first. Resistor plug, loose plug cap, component location etc.
crashland 73 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 01:19 PM
  #9
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,811
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4ghz conversion question

Partner, you have something wrong or a really really noisy ignition.
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 01:30 PM
  #10
crashland 73
Thread Starter
 
crashland 73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oak Grove (in the Ozarks), AR
Posts: 999
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4ghz conversion question

I hope i just have everything too close.
crashland 73 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 03:24 PM
  #11
AraTidwell
 
AraTidwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Stigler, OK
Posts: 210
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4ghz conversion question

You need to check with your engine manufacture and make sure the ignition system does not emit on the same GUID as your transmitter
AraTidwell is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 04:38 PM
  #12
Flypaper 2
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kingston, ON, CANADA
Posts: 4,925
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4ghz conversion question

Crashland: What kind of interference are you getting?. How far away is the electronic ign system from the rest of the electronics.? 2.4 will tolerate much more than the 72 systems but, as said above , not imune. There usually is a reason for the interference. Couple of incidences at our field. One guy was cranking the Quadra motor over and the controls were going nuts. I noticed it said Lawn Mower on the plug. I had a resistor plug in my van, stuck that in and everything was cool Another buddy was ready to take off with a 1/4 scale Pitts, but as soon as he opened the throttle to take off, it would go full down elev. and full right rudder. Plug cap was not on tight and you could see the plug cap blow back with the propwash. Back off on the throttle and it would move back onto the plug and the controls went back to neutral. So in a way, the 2.4 is a good diagnostic tool for your ign. Another thought the plug cap was to tight going onto the plug so he took the clamp ring wire off the bottom of the cap. More interference. The plug cap is grounded to the plug base when it's pushed on tight. This is the only ground for the ign module to the engine. Without the ground, the module can be damaged.
Flypaper 2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 05:50 AM
  #13
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,811
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4ghz conversion question

Quote:
ORIGINAL: AraTidwell

You need to check with your engine manufacture and make sure the ignition system does not emit on the same GUID as your transmitter
Is that a joke?
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 05:59 AM
  #14
Flypaper 2
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kingston, ON, CANADA
Posts: 4,925
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4ghz conversion question

Was thinking the same thing.
Flypaper 2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 06:34 AM
  #15
BuschBarber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4ghz conversion question

Same here!! Whiskey Tango Foxtrot.
BuschBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 08:15 AM
  #16
SitNFly
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Four Corners
Posts: 701
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4ghz conversion question

Don't use your cellphone while tuning the engine. That's a joke, son........
SitNFly is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 04:49 PM
  #17
AraTidwell
 
AraTidwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Stigler, OK
Posts: 210
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4ghz conversion question

yes it is a joke
AraTidwell is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 11:43 PM
  #18
witooa
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: gunnedahnew south wales, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 11
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: JR 2.4ghz conversion question

Hi All, I am in the process of converting my JR x 2610 from 36MHz to 2.4GHz with a ( FlyDream) Can I leave my old aerial in the radio along side the 2.4 GHz aerial with out causing interference, As i can leave a ribbon tied on the 36MHz for a wind sock & also make it easer to fit the new one .Cheers Allan.
witooa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:33 PM.