RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

digital servo noobie

Reply

Old 08-08-2003, 08:36 PM
  #1  
willisdeez
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Placentia, CA
Posts: 35
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default digital servo noobie

I know digital servos are faster than analog but do I need to program them? Can i use them them as if they were normal analog servos. I read somewhere that you shouldn't plug them into a BEC receiver. Is that true? Any pointers would be greatly appreciated!!
willisdeez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2003, 10:25 PM
  #2  
MHawker
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
MHawker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,586
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default digital servo noobie

There is no need to program digital servos. They are plug and play. BUT you can program them if needed. I have digi's on my Extra and did not need to program them.

As far as the BEC RX, I'll have to leave that to someone else. ??
MHawker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2003, 10:53 PM
  #3  
MO_Radio_Tech
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: MO
Posts: 337
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default digital servo noobie

As a result of the heavy current loads imposed by digital servos (especially if they have coreless motors) in some instances voltage can drop below the voltage needed by the receiver to do its job. This can result in glitching and in some cases, loss of control. Some folks only run signal to the servo from the receiver, and power the servos from a separate battery. This can help, but it also adds some weight and complexity.
MO_Radio_Tech is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2003, 11:28 PM
  #4  
willisdeez
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Placentia, CA
Posts: 35
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default digital servo noobie

Do you need a special kind of receiver for the digital servos? I'm looking at a JR XR3.
willisdeez is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 01:30 AM
  #5  
Ed
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bemis, NM
Posts: 2,889
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default digital servo noobie

Originally posted by MHawker
There is no need to program digital servos. They are plug and play. BUT you can program them if needed.
I'm looking at Hitec's 5475 HB's. Are you saying that I can use them right out of the box ?

What advantages do digitals offer ?

What advantage does the $ 155. programer offer ?
Ed is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 02:43 AM
  #6  
MHawker
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
MHawker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,586
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default digital servo noobie

I have 5625's (or is it 5925's) and 5945's or vice versa and yes, you can use them just like any other servo right out of the box. That's exactly what I did on my 25% Extra.

The programmer is used for upgrading software or firmware or whatever and for things like ganging servos. If you have 3 servos controlling one surface, the programmer will allow you to fine tune them so they center and move EXACTLY the same. You can do this with linkages but the programmer gives you this flexibility.

I can't say I notice any difference flying digitals. I'm sure certain types and levels of pilots would be able to tell. I just like the fact that they are fast and strong. PLUS they're digital... they HAVE to be better!
MHawker is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service