RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

I Knew Better And Did It Anyway--IT GETS WORSE!!!

Reply

Old 08-09-2003, 04:20 PM
  #1  
AJF--2
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (119)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Snow Hill, NC
Posts: 2,089
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I Knew Better And Did It Anyway--IT GETS WORSE!!!

Well I waited for the EVO as long as I could. I needed more mixing that the Cockpit could provide. Since I had owned a 8103 before and was familar with the programming, I broke down and got another with the FM receiver and installed it in my 84" WS Sukohi with the fiberglass fuse. Well at 30 feet it starts to glitch it's butt off-- this is with the engine off. With the engine running, I can stand next to it with the glitching WORSE! Now I can understand a bad ignition causing the problem with the engine running-- but a poor radio chaec new out of the box. I changed receivers with another NEW JR FM-- same thing!!!! I have since sold the Cockpit and stuck grounded. ANY IDEAS?? :stupid:



(knew I should had waited on the EVO)
AJF--2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 09:35 PM
  #2  
HarryC
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: private, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,560
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I Knew Better And Did It Anyway--IT GETS WORSE!!!

The first batch of Evos are now in the U.S.A.! They are being checked/made to U.S.A. spec or something like that, but they are on U.S. soil now. They may all be pre-sold, try contacting Karlton or Hitec USA to see if any are available and which day they will release them to sale. Quite a few people in Britain who couldn't wait and bought a Futaba 9C now wish they had waited, and I know one who traded back his 9C for an Evo. You have waited all this time, just hold on a little longer.

Harry
HarryC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2003, 02:05 AM
  #3  
bob_nj
My Feedback: (62)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Vineland, NJ
Posts: 3,850
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I Knew Better And Did It Anyway--IT GETS WORSE!!!

Harry, tell us a little more about the JR? Was it new, did you change crystals, was it damaged or dropped? Surely you know this is not a normal occurrence and something is wrong somewhere. Sometimes new doesn't mean perfect. Your EVO has as much chance of having a problem as the JR. When you changed receivers, what exactly did you do_bob
bob_nj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2003, 10:17 AM
  #4  
AJF--2
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (119)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Snow Hill, NC
Posts: 2,089
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I Knew Better And Did It Anyway--IT GETS WORSE!!!

No damage that I can tell. If it was dropped, it happened before I got it. I have not changed Xtals-- only receivers. I have bypassed the switch and unplugged each servo at a time. As far as changeing receivers, all you can do is unplug servos and plug them into the new receiver. They aer different models of receivers-- both FM. I do know this is not a normal-- but that does not make it less frustrating. When I get a chance, I got to test it on some different planes.
AJF--2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2003, 12:41 PM
  #5  
AJF--2
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (119)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Snow Hill, NC
Posts: 2,089
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I Knew Better And Did It Anyway--IT GETS WORSE!!!

Well after checking a few things, I found that I have 2 (yes, both of them new out of the box) bad receivers. My old Hitec Supremes are rock solid past 100 ft with the ant down. Now if I can just remember where I put those receipts..........
AJF--2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2003, 06:48 PM
  #6  
bob_nj
My Feedback: (62)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Vineland, NJ
Posts: 3,850
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I Knew Better And Did It Anyway--IT GETS WORSE!!!

Maybe the dealer has some paper trail of the transaction? JR has a great service department and a super warranty. Let me know what you come up with_bob
bob_nj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2003, 08:15 PM
  #7  
3DFanatic
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,668
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I Knew Better And Did It Anyway--IT GETS WORSE!!!

Don't be dissin' my 9C
3DFanatic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2003, 11:34 PM
  #8  
AJF--2
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (119)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Snow Hill, NC
Posts: 2,089
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I Knew Better And Did It Anyway--IT GETS WORSE!!!

Well it is true. I switch receivers with a Hitec Supreme about 2 years old and everything is fine. Even with the engine running at 100 ft there is no jitter at all.
AJF--2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2003, 12:46 AM
  #9  
AJF--2
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (119)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Snow Hill, NC
Posts: 2,089
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I Knew Better And Did It Anyway--IT GETS WORSE!!!

I installed 2 of the digitial servos (811s) in the wing of my Lazer 3 D funfly and took it out for the first time since switching the servos. Whil I am setting the throws they both start to go beserk!!!!! When you put your finger on the ailirons, they stop-- until you move the surface again-- then they dance like a Bob-N- Head doll-- Up and down like you would not believe. I can see a bad receiver (not that I excuse it but things do happen-even 2 of them). But now I have also got 2 bad servos out of a batch of 4 that came with the radio. My buddy John has the other 2 in another project. Seems I just cannot win.
AJF--2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2003, 12:50 AM
  #10  
Flyfalcons
Senior Member
 
Flyfalcons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 6,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I Knew Better And Did It Anyway--IT GETS WORSE!!!

811s apparently don't work with PPM receivers. Try a PCM receiver.
Flyfalcons is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2003, 01:19 AM
  #11  
AJF--2
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (119)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Snow Hill, NC
Posts: 2,089
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default ?????????

[ 811s apparently don't work with PPM receivers
I have used them before without problems..... Am I missing something??
AJF--2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2003, 01:25 AM
  #12  
Flyfalcons
Senior Member
 
Flyfalcons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 6,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I Knew Better And Did It Anyway--IT GETS WORSE!!!

Just talking with a flying buddy at the field who tried to use them with a PPM receiver and they didn't work, they called Horizon to find out that they are meant to be used with PCM.
Flyfalcons is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2003, 01:55 AM
  #13  
MikeL
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Bloomington, MN
Posts: 3,282
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I Knew Better And Did It Anyway--IT GETS WORSE!!!

Horizon is selling 811s in their 8103 promo pack. That's got a PPM receiver, so I really doubt that is the problem.

There are some very specialized JR servos that require a PCM system, but those are usually found on heli tail rotors.
MikeL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2003, 02:06 AM
  #14  
Flyfalcons
Senior Member
 
Flyfalcons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 6,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I Knew Better And Did It Anyway--IT GETS WORSE!!!

I'll check with them again, but I was darn sure they had to get a PCM receiver to use their servos.
Flyfalcons is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2003, 06:39 AM
  #15  
HarryC
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: private, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,560
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I Knew Better And Did It Anyway--IT GETS WORSE!!!

All servos (except higher frame rate dedicated tail rotor gyro servos), use standard PPM data. PCM Rx have to convert the signal back to PPM for the servo outputs. There is no such thing as a PCM servo because no PCM Rx outputs PCM data.

Harry
HarryC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2003, 09:36 AM
  #16  
Imac Kiwi
Senior Member
 
Imac Kiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tg, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 321
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I Knew Better And Did It Anyway--IT GETS WORSE!!!

Hear Hear Harry

I have a Raptor 30 full of DS 811 servos and they work just fine with an Airtronics 92777 FM Rx 72 mhz using a JR 3810 TX. Tail rotor servo is NES 8700G.

Just my experience with them.
Imac Kiwi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2003, 10:06 AM
  #17  
HarryC
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: private, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,560
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I Knew Better And Did It Anyway--IT GETS WORSE!!!

AJF - I believe that HitecUSA is shipping the Evo to USA shops this week, possibly even today.

H
HarryC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2003, 10:17 AM
  #18  
AJF--2
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (119)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Snow Hill, NC
Posts: 2,089
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default VERY FRUSTRATED

While at the field yesterday I heard that the first shipment is all gone and the second is 2 more months away. My buddies may have just been "jerking my chain" since they know this is a very sore subject with me. Tower is suppose to notify me when they are here and I have not heard a thing.

At any rate Mike is correct. The servos came with a PPM receiver in the package-- of course it is the one that didn't work- then again maybe that is the problem with the receiver since I was using MPX digitial servos. Hard to remember the reason for the post was 2 receivers not working. I have a hard time believing Horizion is dumb enough to sell a $400 radio system that they know won't work! (Of course you never know)
AJF--2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2003, 07:26 PM
  #19  
Dylwad
Senior Member
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Re: VERY FRUSTRATED

Originally posted by AJF--2
While at the field yesterday I heard that the first shipment is all gone and the second is 2 more months away. My buddies may have just been "jerking my chain" since they know this is a very sore subject with me. Tower is suppose to notify me when they are here and I have not heard a thing.

At any rate Mike is correct. The servos came with a PPM receiver in the package-- of course it is the one that didn't work- then again maybe that is the problem with the receiver since I was using MPX digitial servos. Hard to remember the reason for the post was 2 receivers not working. I have a hard time believing Horizion is dumb enough to sell a $400 radio system that they know won't work! (Of course you never know)
the JR 549 ppm RX is not compatible with digital servos, thats why they include the r700 with the promo deal.
Dylwad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2003, 01:58 AM
  #20  
Flyfalcons
Senior Member
 
Flyfalcons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 6,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Re: Re: VERY FRUSTRATED

Originally posted by Dylwad
the JR 549 ppm RX is not compatible with digital servos, thats why they include the r700 with the promo deal.
Thanks, that must be the receiver that my friend tried to use with the 811 servos. Glad I'm not going crazy (relatively speaking, of course)
Flyfalcons is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2003, 03:20 AM
  #21  
Dylwad
Senior Member
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 139
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I Knew Better And Did It Anyway--IT GETS WORSE!!!

From the horses mouth.. http://www.rcuniverse.com/showthread...4&pagenumber=2]
Dylwad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2003, 11:55 AM
  #22  
blkbird68
Senior Member
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Henderson, KY
Posts: 639
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default I Knew Better And Did It Anyway--IT GETS WORSE!!!

All servos (except higher frame rate dedicated tail rotor gyro servos), use standard PPM data. PCM Rx have to convert the signal back to PPM for the servo outputs. There is no such thing as a PCM servo because no PCM Rx outputs PCM data.
...the signal to the servo is a PWM signal not PPM or PCM...

and as far as the JR rx's go 549's and 649's have problems with "noise" the 549 is worse than the 649...

a switching regulator can cause problems with either one of those Rx's and on the 549, digital servos even give it a fit..
blkbird68 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service