RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Hitec 5645s

Reply

Old 08-10-2003, 02:46 AM
  #1  
Dave763
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Dave763's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 395
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec 5645s

Has anyone had a problem where two 5645s are Y'ed together that they stop responding? When I unplugged one servo the other began to work. Then the problem just went away and I have been unable to reproduce the fault.I have flown the plane(33% Extra) once since.I'm very worried, I really want to find out what caused this before I fly it again. It only happened on the left wing(channel 6).I am using a futaba PCM reciever, I4C isolator.Setup with HFP-10 servo programmer.
Dave763 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2003, 03:54 AM
  #2  
Lynx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,373
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec 5645s

Voltage drop, digitals don't like to be Y'd let alone two together. Get a signal booster or use heavier gage wire and see if that helps. Is it a 4.8 or 6 volt pack?
Lynx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2003, 12:24 PM
  #3  
Giant Scale
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 856
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec 5645s

I've got the 5945's in the tail of my 35% Giles Y'd together as well as the elevator servos(which are 5645's), never had a problem. I would check to make sure your connections are tight and that you use 6 volt packs. The only trouble I had was when using a reversing y harness, servo reversers don't work on these servos.
Giant Scale is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2003, 12:44 PM
  #4  
Dave763
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Dave763's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 395
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec 5645s

I have a servo reverser on the elevator servos (5645s) they work fine! I am using 2 Li 4000MAH batt. with 6v reg's For the servos and a 4.8v 1100MAH NiCd for the receiver. And a 2000MAH Li with a 4.8v Reg. on the ignition. All connectors are new and secured with safety clips.Only the left wing had the problem.(2 5645s per aileron)I've wiggled and tugged the wires, trying to find a problem,with no luck.I have 2 5735s Y'ed together on the rudder,...No problem. The right wing is setup the same, no problems there. All wiring is 22 gauge with heavy duty switches.
Dave763 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2003, 01:47 PM
  #5  
Dave763
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Dave763's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 395
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec 5645s

I have been looking at this thing for the past half hour and I can't find any thing wrong.The servos are working perfectly.Like nothing was ever wrong at all.I've checked them with the Y installed on the reciever and also with the programer.I've checked the Y for intermintent opens or shorts.I'm ready to pull out my hair.
Dave763 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2003, 02:15 PM
  #6  
causeitflies
 
causeitflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: EASTERN OHIO
Posts: 2,103
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec 5645s

Maybe a little piece of foam or dust or gunk got in the plug?
I had this happen once after pulling a servo extension through the wing.
causeitflies is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2003, 02:29 PM
  #7  
Dave763
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Dave763's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 395
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec 5645s

I guess thats possible. I keep checking, and still can't reproduce the problem.I just hate that nagging feeling that it might happen again.Well I guess I'l fly it. Wish me luck.
Dave763 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2003, 05:33 PM
  #8  
Gone to a Higher Plane
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 264
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec 5645s

Dave...I have 2 5925's in my wing and when I turn the Rx on there is a delay of about 3 seconds and then the servos start working. I guess the servos go thru some kind of initialization period before they start working...this is just guess on my part but my 5945's do the same thing. I am not sure if the 5645's do the same thing.
Gone to a Higher Plane is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2003, 05:46 PM
  #9  
Giant Scale
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 856
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec 5645s

I have a servo reverser on the elevator servos (5645s) they work fine!
Mike at Hitec recommended not using servo reversers on hitec digitals..he told me to use the programmer and reverse one of the servos. I'm not saying this is the problem but I know when I used one the servo wouldn't center worth a damn.
I had another thought, perhaps the receiver bus has a loose or defective pin at the ch. 6 location. Did you try putting the servo's on another channel or another receiver?
Giant Scale is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2003, 02:03 PM
  #10  
Steve
My Feedback: (54)
 
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ashton, ID
Posts: 2,185
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec 5645s

The problem you witnessed was likely caused by plugging one in backwards. This will make both not work until you fix it. As you probably know, it is easy to do if you don't pay close attention.
Steve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2003, 03:18 PM
  #11  
Dave763
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Dave763's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 395
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec 5645s

Steve, thank you. That was it! plug one in back wards and they do nothing! Also thanks to everyone else who tried to help me solve this problem. I will also reverse one of my elevator servos and take out the reversing Y. Got to love this forum!
Dave763 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service