RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Hitec Eclips and Spectra

Reply

Old 08-11-2003, 07:10 PM
  #1  
jmf2001
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location:
Posts: 55
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec Eclips and Spectra

Hi Guys. I read some of your problems. Very interesting. However I have one I cant figure out. I have been using my Hitec Eclips with the Spectra moduel for the past 2 years on all channeles and they all work fine. The problem I am having is that since I started to use the transmitter I haven't been able to land a plane with the engine running. At the present I have 7 different planes in the memory. From trainers to Pattern ships. What happenes is that when I am comming in once the throttle setting gets up to the half way point the engines quit. Yet on the ground you can count the rpms without the engines quiting. It only happens in the air. I have sent some e-mails to Hitec and they say if it works on the ground then it should also work ok in the air. Yet it dosent. Any one got any ideas'as to why this is happening?
jmf2001 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2003, 08:14 PM
  #2  
3DFanatic
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,668
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec Eclips and Spectra

Sounds like an engine problem, not a radio problem...
3DFanatic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2003, 08:25 PM
  #3  
JohnW
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
JohnW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 1,815
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec Eclips and Spectra

I kinda doubt it is the radio, but I suppose it is remotely possible as I have seen a similar problem once before. In that case, the user accidentally programmed in a weird mix that effected throttle. In his case, he couldn't turn the engine off anymore. I'd check to be sure everything is programmed properly on the radio. Other than that, with the info you gave I too gotta believe the problem resides somewhere in the planes, not the TX. Is this happening with more than one plane? Are you sure you aren't setting your idle too low?

Cheers
JohnW is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 02:05 AM
  #4  
strato911
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,479
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec Eclips and Spectra

I agree - it sounds like an engine problem.

Don't forget that while the plane is flying, the mixture becomes leaner than on the ground. If you have your mixture set to lean, it may be leaning out in flight, resulting in "dead-stick" landings.
strato911 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 12:16 PM
  #5  
jmf2001
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location:
Posts: 55
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec Radio

What you guys make sense except for one thing. I am talking about 7 different planes and 3 different brand engins. It is unlikely that none of the engines are set correctely. In addition when I use different radios with these planes I dont get dead stic'k landings. Same engines and same settings. And that is why I cant figure out what is going on.
jmf2001 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 11:34 PM
  #6  
SDR-Hammer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: , MI
Posts: 683
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec Eclips and Spectra

This is just a thought from way out in left field. Do you have the throttle cut programmed in these models to kill the engines? I’ve seen guys use a little “body English” as a plane flies, could it be that your accidentally hitting the T-cut as you bring them in?
SDR-Hammer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 11:53 PM
  #7  
3DFanatic
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,668
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec Eclips and Spectra

You didn't mention that it was happening to all 7...

Maybe you're throttle trim is set too low??? So when you bring the throttle stick all the way down the engien dies???
3DFanatic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2003, 11:54 PM
  #8  
3DFanatic
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,668
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec Eclips and Spectra

SDR, by the way, the Eclipse has a engine cut button that's near the programming buttons and it would be hard to hit in-flight...
3DFanatic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2003, 11:52 AM
  #9  
gtalbot
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 355
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Glider Mode

The Eclipse may have a throttle function related to Flaps in the Glider mode. It's possible your throttle is linked to your flap switch.
gtalbot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2003, 02:16 PM
  #10  
jmf2001
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location:
Posts: 55
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec Eclips and Spectra

Everything has been checked. My throttle is not set to cut off no matter what switch I hit. As for the throttle trim set to low it is the same setting I use on the flight box and the engine's do not quit. It is only on landings. It's really a bummer and I cant figure it out. Just cannot make a engine running landing with any model with that transmitter. Beats the h--l out of me.
jmf2001 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2003, 05:06 PM
  #11  
REDLAWNPILOT
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bracey, VA
Posts: 28
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec Eclips and Spectra

On some transmitters, you can pull the throttle stick back far enough to cut the engine off when retarding the throttle. Try this on the ground with the engine idling, and pull the throttle stick back as far as it will go and see if it cuts off.
REDLAWNPILOT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2003, 11:11 PM
  #12  
SDR-Hammer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: , MI
Posts: 683
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec Eclips and Spectra

Originally posted by 3DFanatic
SDR, by the way, the Eclipse has a engine cut button that's near the programming buttons and it would be hard to hit in-flight...
I own an Eclipse, agreed the T-cut button would be hard to hit, but you never know any thing is possible especially if using a Tx tray.

Like I said, just a wild thought.

jmf2001, I would suggest having another pilot in your club (that you feel comfortable with) bring one of your birds in and see if it happens with them too. Just another step in the process of elimination.
SDR-Hammer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2003, 03:41 AM
  #13  
3DFanatic
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 2,668
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec Eclips and Spectra

Also, try setting up a flight condition to have a higher idle and flip on that flight condition before you set up for a landing.

??????? Maybe???
3DFanatic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2003, 01:28 AM
  #14  
dmajchrzak
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Merrimack, NH
Posts: 257
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec Eclips and Spectra

I too run a Hitec Eclipse with 6 out of 7 plane settings used. I have never had that problem... Heck, I've never had any problem with the Eclipse. Only thing I can think of is that maybe the Hitec 100% throw is a touch wider than a Futaba 100% throw and is actually causing your engines to idle lower... but this would be fixed by trimming up the idle. Hmmmmm... just a guess.
dmajchrzak is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service