RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

servo question

Reply

Old 08-13-2003, 05:23 AM
  #1  
suitcase
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
suitcase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Wingina, VA
Posts: 983
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default servo question

Where do the little brass sleeve things go that come with the servos ? They wont fit over the pins on the servo trays. I can't figure out where they're supposed to be used.
suitcase is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2003, 05:39 AM
  #2  
SilverComet
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ap Lei Chau, HONG KONG
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default servo question

You put the brass sleeves in the rubber mounts and slide them onto the mounts on your servos before you screw them into your servo tray. This allows vibration dampening by the rubber mounts while the brass sleeves protects the rubber from being cut by the screws in prolong vibration.
SilverComet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2003, 07:42 AM
  #3  
lortap1969
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Baker City, OR,
Posts: 100
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default servo question

Also try sliding the brass sleeve over a jewlers screwdriver and then use the this to push the sleeve into the rubber mounts. Will save time and frustration.

Mike
lortap1969 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2003, 05:39 PM
  #4  
suitcase
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
suitcase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Wingina, VA
Posts: 983
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default servo question

I know that I'm not explaining myself well enough. The servo tray has two pins on each end. The servo itself has two rubber mounts on each end that fit over the pins. If I insert the brass in the rubber mounts and try to slide it all over the pins it won't go because the pins are too large to accomodate the servo like that. I have to remove the brass sleeves and then it mounts easy. The keeper is a triangle shaped device with three holes. Two slide over the rubber and pins and the third accepts the mounting screw. Now are you saying that the mounting screw also gets a rubber washer installed using the sleeve?
suitcase is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2003, 06:01 PM
  #5  
SilverComet
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ap Lei Chau, HONG KONG
Posts: 76
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default servo question

That sounds like a pretty unconventional servo tray, do you have a pic of it and the keeper?

The rule is you always want to use the rubber mounts and never mount your servo TOO tight. If you are fitting the rubber mounts over wooden pins, unlike screws with sharp edges, and you feel that the pins won't cut the mounts under vibration, go for it. Just check your rubber mounts regularly to make sure they aren't cracking. You might also want to put rubber mounts on the mounting screws if you have extras.
SilverComet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2003, 06:03 PM
  #6  
T_Hill
Senior Member
 
T_Hill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 145
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default servo question

You use the brass eyelets when you mount the servo directly to a servo rail without the tray. The eyelet keeps you from over tightening the screw. You don't need them on the tray you describe.

Silver comet,

The tray sounds like a futaba, that's what came with my 8U.

Tracy Hill
T_Hill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2003, 01:03 AM
  #7  
mglavin
My Feedback: (31)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Elverta, CA
Posts: 5,295
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default servo question

Tracy, nailed it. The Futaba trays do not require the brass eyelet.
mglavin is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service