Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

PCM or Fm

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2003, 01:54 AM
t8jones
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default PCM or Fm

Hello everyone, I am just a beginner and I was wondering if anyone knows of a good website that explains the differences in AM, FM, and Pcm? I am just wanting to learn for future reference because when I go to buy another plane, I will probably get a new radio that will last me for years. I have heard that the futaba 9c is a good transmitter, but I have also heard about PCM- whatever that is? If anyone has any info let me know.
Old 08-15-2003, 02:20 AM
GalenB
My Feedback: (18)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: PCM or Fm

Originally posted by t8jones
Hello everyone, I am just a beginner and I was wondering if anyone knows of a good website that explains the differences in AM, FM, and Pcm?
This one! Do a search for FM and PCM and you will find a wealth of information...
Old 08-15-2003, 03:22 AM
randy41

Default PCM or Fm

PCM = Pulse Code Modulation
PCM systems use digitally encoded signals to minimize interference and provide today's most advanced R/C control.

PPM
Pulse Position Modulation. Another term for FM.

FM
Frequency Modulation. This describes the mode of transmission of radio signal from transmitter to receiver.

AM
Amplitude Modulation. This describes the mode of transmission of radio signal from transmitter to receiver.
Old 08-15-2003, 06:55 AM
HarryC

Received 26 Likes on 16 Posts
Default PCM or Fm

Originally posted by randy41
PPM
Pulse Position Modulation. Another term for FM.
Commonly used as interchangeable terms but utterly wrong. PPM has nothing to do with FM. Your PCM radio is also an FM radio.