RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Radio recommendations- upgrading

Reply

Old 08-15-2003, 07:25 PM
  #1  
csisfun
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: SG, SINGAPORE
Posts: 484
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio recommendations- upgrading

Hey, I want to upgrade my radio from a 4 channel to a 6channel n above. I don't want to spend too much though...
One of my friend recommend me to get a Futaba 9C radio, but it's really too expensive. I'm thinking of a Hitec Eclipse 7, that costs $450 here. The Futaba 6TAS cost about $440. My instructor uses a Hitec E7, i found it to be pretty good, but the Tx was really heavy and springs were looser than my Skysport 4. 6TAS is worse...the springs are sooooo loose. I want a E7, what do u think?

Any other recommendations?

Thanks
csisfun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2003, 07:32 PM
  #2  
MHawker
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
MHawker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,586
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio recommendations- upgrading

If the E7 fits your budget, go for it. It's a fine radio.
MHawker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2003, 07:34 PM
  #3  
csisfun
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: SG, SINGAPORE
Posts: 484
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio recommendations- upgrading

great! should I get the FM or PCM version??
I heard PCM doesnt work with FM radios thru buddy box!!!
csisfun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2003, 07:37 PM
  #4  
MHawker
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
MHawker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,586
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio recommendations- upgrading

Oh, I just check servo city. You can get a 9C set up for like $379.00. I'd buy that over the E-7. I love mine.

http://www.servocity.com/ServoCity/P...ol_units_.html

As far as PCM or PPM, flip a coin. PCM RX's will be more expensive. The buddy box works with either. Find who told you they don't and slap them
MHawker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2003, 07:42 PM
  #5  
csisfun
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: SG, SINGAPORE
Posts: 484
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio recommendations- upgrading

well actually, it really doesnt- my friend has a 6XAS, and he tried 2 buddy box with my Skysport 4 and it doesnt work.
A 9C costs like $770 here. A E7 costs $450.
Oops!

Wut are the advantages of PCM and wut is PPM???
csisfun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2003, 11:03 PM
  #6  
MHawker
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
MHawker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,586
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio recommendations- upgrading

I have a feeling it was something other than the fact one was PCM and one was FM. But, hey, I've been wrong before! I have a 9C and can use my buddy box on either PCM or PPM.

The main difference between PCM and PPM (they are both FM signal transmissions) is that with PCM, you can set the plane's servos to go to a predetermined position. This way, if the signal is lost you know what the plane will do.

For example, you have it set to go to idle, a little up elevator and a little right aileron. Now, if you are inverted when it loses the signal, it doesn't really do what you might like. The throttle down feature is nice, though. That way you know it's not going to go full throttle into the ground or ??

With PPM, you have no idea what the servos will do. I've heard PCM is more resistant to getting hit.

Hope this is helping some.
MHawker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2003, 11:16 PM
  #7  
SwampFlier-RCU
 
SwampFlier-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San José, Costa Rica
Posts: 1,130
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio recommendations- upgrading

CSISFUN.. go with the Hitec, its a fine radio and wil last ling, other option (if availabel in Singapore) is Airtronics, either RD6000 or RD 8000, they will work wiht Hitec receivers, but no buddy cord compatibility
For that much price difference choose the Hitec
SwampFlier-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2003, 12:04 AM
  #8  
Razor-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (50)
 
Razor-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mira Mesa, CA
Posts: 5,405
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default howdy

Hawker means "Fail-safe"

PPM is just fine.... If you run ignition engines (big gassers!) the PCM is better because the gasser sometimes has a little interference-

Singapore is super expensive- A friend of mine does security for Microsoft and it costs her a fortune to live there-

$770 for the 9C- ouch!

keep us posted,
james

P.S. Hawker- gonna be at the weedwackers Sunday afternoon-
Razor-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2003, 03:18 AM
  #9  
csisfun
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: SG, SINGAPORE
Posts: 484
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Re: howdy

Originally posted by Razor
Hawker means "Fail-safe"

PPM is just fine.... If you run ignition engines (big gassers!) the PCM is better because the gasser sometimes has a little interference-

Singapore is super expensive- A friend of mine does security for Microsoft and it costs her a fortune to live there-

$770 for the 9C- ouch!

keep us posted,
james

P.S. Hawker- gonna be at the weedwackers Sunday afternoon-
:S does that mean that PCM has no fail safe?
and why do u call FM PPM??? :S.

Indeed Singapore is home to expensive stuff... well maybe property, cars and RC planes... SIG ARF can costs up to $500!!! $528 for a 4* ARF!!!
Man... thats too much!
csisfun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2003, 02:41 AM
  #10  
MHawker
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
MHawker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,586
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Radio recommendations- upgrading

PCM has "fail safe". PPM does not.

Both PCM and PPM are FM signals. PCM is: pulse code modulation, PPM is: pulse, pulse modulation.

Again, they are both FM signals. I don't know the technical details on the difference between them.
MHawker is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service