RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

radio glitches on gas engines

Reply

Old 08-17-2003, 01:07 PM
  #1  
Scott in Nantucket
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Nantucket, MA
Posts: 26
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default radio glitches on gas engines

I want to know how to get no radio glitches between a gas engine with an electronic ignition and a fataba radio system. I've already crashed a quarter-scale sequoi and I am a beginner in gas engines. Does anyone have any information that might prevent me loosing another plane?
Scott in Nantucket is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2003, 03:27 PM
  #2  
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Re: radio glitches on gas engines

Originally posted by scottsquicklube
I want to know how to get no radio glitches between a gas engine with an electronic ignition and a fataba radio system. I've already crashed a quarter-scale sequoi and I am a beginner in gas engines. Does anyone have any information that might prevent me loosing another plane?
1) Find a club in your area.
2) Join.
3) Find a club member that flies gas.
4) Request help
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2003, 03:34 PM
  #3  
Hanger Rat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Madison Heights, VA
Posts: 149
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default radio glitches on gas engines

Do what Dirtybird says. It is good advice. I doubt your problem is the gas engine.
Hanger Rat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2003, 04:57 PM
  #4  
Scott in Nantucket
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Nantucket, MA
Posts: 26
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default radio glitches on gas engines

I'm the only person flying gas engines on Nantucket... it's an island 30 miles out to sea! We have no model club or hobby shop, just a bunch of drunks looking to fly without crashing!
Scott in Nantucket is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2003, 06:41 PM
  #5  
Rodney
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default radio glitches on gas engines

Have you taken the usual precautions? some of which are
1:no metal to metal contacts that can vibrate
2:a nylon throttle control rod.
3:max seperation between the engine and the radio, radio batteries, servo wiring etc.
4:A resistor spark plug (part no. has an R in it).
5:Kill switch wiring forward of the firewall.
Rodney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2003, 09:53 AM
  #6  
Scott in Nantucket
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Nantucket, MA
Posts: 26
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default radio glitches on gas engines

thanks rodney for the reply, yes I did do all those things on that plane but I lost it any way. After reading some of the messages on this forum I think I'm going to use pcm receiver and try to find a glitch detector somewhere. maybe you could help me with that problem. Everything in this plane will be new.
Scott in Nantucket is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2003, 04:34 PM
  #7  
dirtybird
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default radio glitches on gas engines

Originally posted by scottsquicklube
thanks rodney for the reply, yes I did do all those things on that plane but I lost it any way. After reading some of the messages on this forum I think I'm going to use pcm receiver and try to find a glitch detector somewhere. maybe you could help me with that problem. Everything in this plane will be new.
If you want help please give us the type of engine,spark plug, airplane, propeller, radio, servos and if posible a picture of your installation including the engine and the receiver.
If you install a PCM receiver be sure to get the glitch detector in order to know if you still have a problem. A PCM receiver could cover up the problem and make your airplane dangerous
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2003, 09:34 PM
  #8  
dickj
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
dickj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Kent WA , WA
Posts: 309
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default radio glitches on gas engines

try the www.emsjomar.com site and order his glitch counter.
dickj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2003, 09:34 PM
  #9  
dickj
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
dickj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Kent WA , WA
Posts: 309
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default radio glitches on gas engines

delete duplicate post
dickj is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2003, 02:26 PM
  #10  
Rodney
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,769
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default radio glitches on gas engines

Just remember, PCM does not cure interferance, just maskes it until to late to do any thing about it.
Rodney is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service