RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Torque for ailerons

Reply

Old 08-17-2003, 06:43 PM
  #1  
Cbastian
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Fredrikstad, NORWAY
Posts: 39
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Torque for ailerons

Is there any roules for torque/areal for ail/ rudder/ elev. on planes. I have a 91" wing and the ail. are 39" each. Do I need big scale servos for this wing.
Cbastian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2003, 01:33 AM
  #2  
JB Rekit
My Feedback: (3)
 
JB Rekit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 543
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Torque for ailerons

depends on several things

1. How big are the ailerons? (front to back)
2. How much throw are you going to try to get out of them?
3. Are you wanting to fly precision aerobatics with it?
4. How many servo slots are there per aileron? (1 or 2)

If they are large and you will be wanting a lot of throw and fly precision as well, then a digital servo would be recommended with around 130 oz tq. If there are 2 servos per wing, then 2 100 oz tq digitals would be more than enough.

If you just want a nice sport flying airplane and don't push it to its limits you could probably get by on some standard high torque servos as long as you have the geometry set up so that it will only be able to move the control surface 25- 30 degrees.

just depends on what you are trying to get the plane to do

John
JB Rekit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2003, 01:09 PM
  #3  
Cbastian
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Fredrikstad, NORWAY
Posts: 39
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Torque for ailerons

JB Rekit !
The ailerons will be 70 sq. inches each. 40" x 1.75".
The plane is a Big Hots with a G-62 engine.
I really don`t know what this ship is able to, but I`ve heard that she`s gentle but hot!
Cbastian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2003, 01:23 PM
  #4  
FlyinBrian
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NorthamptonNorthants, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 54
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Torque for ailerons

I seem to recall a calculator for working out servo power requirements on one of the manufacturers / importers web sites
FlyinBrian is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service