RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Sanwa RD6000 Problem

Reply

Old 08-24-2003, 02:54 PM
  #1  
solentsurfer
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Sanwa RD6000 Problem

I recently purchased a new battery for my RD6000. Not realising that the polarity was wrong on the battery, I momentarily switched on!!. Switching off, I changed the leads round in the plug and switched on again. At first all appeared fine but I now have an intermittant problem with the transmitter not working. Switch off and on and it will work again.

The question is, could the polarity problem cause such a poblem? I would have thought any damage would be permanent, not intermittant.

Any thoughts would b much appreciated before I source another transmitter.
solentsurfer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2003, 03:22 PM
  #2  
Lynx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,373
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Sanwa RD6000 Problem

Check all your wireing you may have an intermitant short from a burnt wire.
Lynx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2003, 04:33 PM
  #3  
solentsurfer
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Sanwa RD6000 Problem

Thanks Lynx, I took the back off the transmitter and checked best I could.. it would appear as though a dodgy connection is the problem.. can't see anything obvious though.
solentsurfer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2003, 10:39 PM
  #4  
Lynx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 1,373
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Sanwa RD6000 Problem

Intermitant problems are always difficult to find.
Lynx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2003, 06:16 AM
  #5  
CrashingDutchman
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
CrashingDutchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: AmersfoortUtrecht, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 263
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Sanwa RD6000 Problem

Hi,

I bought the same transmitter you are talking about on eBay, but it came without battery.

Any idea what connector I should get for this radio?

Can anyone say what the positive pin is on this radio?

Regards,

Jan-Dirk
CrashingDutchman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2003, 06:47 AM
  #6  
solentsurfer
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Sanwa RD6000 Problem

The Positive pin is the bottom one (on mine at least, assume they will all be the same) If you want to be sure, buy a battery specifically for it - branded Sanyo (not Sanwa). Any connector will do as long as the polarity is right. Some connectors have a locating tab down the side, just trim that off and shamfer the corners a little to fit the connector slot in your transmitter.
solentsurfer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 08:53 PM
  #7  
W_I_Z
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Derby, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 62
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sanwa RD6000 Problem


HI, i just got myself a second hand Sanwa rd6000 sport radio, i dont know much but am told that it is quite adequate for flying my Sceadu 50, the problem i have is that i need a manual for it so that i can try to understand the setup, does any1 know where there is 1 online or can any1 tell me how 2 set it up???????????????????????/
W_I_Z is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 09:15 PM
  #8  
CP140
Senior Member
 
CP140's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Vancouver, BC, CANADA
Posts: 801
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sanwa RD6000 Problem

Go to airtronics.net You'll be able to download a manual from there.
CP140 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 09:17 PM
  #9  
bigbri
My Feedback: (287)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: dracut, MA
Posts: 911
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sanwa RD6000 Problem

Yup....did the same thing myself......Did you get the puff of smoke ??? I did. My radio will not trancmit a signal at all. I took it apart and cannot find anything that looks charred or melted, I didn't even try to fix it. Chalked it up to experience and bought a new one. W_I_Z PM me your address and you can have my manual for the cost of shipping....2 or 3 bucks at most
B-
bigbri is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2004, 07:50 AM
  #10  
slovac
Senior Member
 
slovac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Cape Town,
Posts: 115
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sanwa RD6000 Problem

bigbri ...
I had the same experience (little puff of smoke) ...
I took the same route as you and went out and bought another radio, but after a couple of weeks I got curious about the origin of the smoke and took it to my LHS ... they sent the radio away for repairs. Not to the agents, but to some tech that fixes electronic equipment for them. I got the radio back within a week and was charged the equivalent of about $15 (at current exchange rates).
I was told that reversing the polarity blew a capacitor ... nothing serious, and easy to replace.
slovac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2004, 08:19 PM
  #11  
bigbri
My Feedback: (287)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: dracut, MA
Posts: 911
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sanwa RD6000 Problem

WOW thats great info.....I still have the TX....Just mught have to send it out for repair. I replaced it with a Fut 6xas, but got to admit the
RD 6000 has better features
Thanks for the tip
Brian
bigbri is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2004, 08:40 PM
  #12  
W_I_Z
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Derby, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 62
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sanwa RD6000 Problem

cheers for that, i found the manual online and now i understand it. All i gotta do now is transfer my gear from my shuttle to my super sexy new Sceadu 50 which arrived today
W_I_Z is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 11:39 AM
  #13  
wingdragon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: kowloon, HONG KONG
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sanwa RD6000 Problem

Dear all,
I just bought a used RD6000 sport system and having some question, please help!

1. does the sytem still works if the pwer lever drop below 9.2V as my system seems to not responding at all, wondering if the radio is broken or just a low voltage problem.

2. i dun have the factory charger, want to know what should be the voltage amp of the charger if i bought a aftermarket one.

Many thanks!

My email is Stevenkwok_hk@hotmail.com
wingdragon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 11:42 AM
  #14  
wingdragon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: kowloon, HONG KONG
Posts: 21
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sanwa RD6000 Problem

Dear all,
forget to ask this - as i use the system to fly electric plane, which socket should i use at the RX for the speed control. As i found that 7/B is for battery but 4 is for Throttle, I am now very confused! []
wingdragon is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 12:10 PM
  #15  
hattend
My Feedback: (20)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: King Salmon, AK
Posts: 2,419
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Sanwa RD6000 Problem

Plug the ESC into the Throttle and the battery into 7/B
Don

ORIGINAL: wingdragon

Dear all,
forget to ask this - as i use the system to fly electric plane, which socket should i use at the RX for the speed control. As i found that 7/B is for battery but 4 is for Throttle, I am now very confused! []
hattend is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service