RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

JR vs. Futaba

Old 08-24-2003, 04:57 PM
hocky98

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default JR vs. Futaba

I am brand new to the hobby and I'm looking to get a radio that I will appreciate for a long time to come. I have done some research and feel that a 6 channel PCM computer radio is for me (i.e. Futaba 6XAPS.) Is this a quality radio and how about a JR? Everyone in my club uses a Futaba and talk down about the JR. Which is better?
Old 08-24-2003, 07:20 PM
strato911

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default JR vs. Futaba

This is a Chevy vs. Ford type of question: Everyone has opinions, and preferences.

Both work very well.

Personally: I don't use any of the big names anymore, but if I had to choose between Futaba or JR, I would choose Futaba, since I don't trust the single conversion ABC&W technology JR uses for their non-PCM receivers.
Old 08-24-2003, 07:30 PM
Joatmon

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default JR vs. Futaba

Good advice from Strato.

BTW, I have a Rock in the driveway
Old 08-24-2003, 11:05 PM
3DFanatic
My Feedback: (5)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default JR vs. Futaba

Yeah, I always though that having an all-single convertion line of receivers was odd to say the least. I've also found that Futaba programming is easier. Though all the die-hard JR loyals will be quick to disagree with me. If everyone at your club flies Futaba, buy Futaba and save yourself a lot of trouble/ribbing/etc
Old 08-25-2003, 09:07 AM
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default JR vs. Futaba

I would go JR only since I don't like the program of the 9ZWII.

JR 10X owner...
Old 08-25-2003, 03:40 PM
3D Joy

Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default JR vs. Futaba