Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

2.4Ghz Compatibility

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2012, 09:27 AM
holensum

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2.4Ghz Compatibility

I am a noob looking to get my first plane. I have made the decision to get the E-Flite Apprentice 15e based on suggestion of my instructor because of the flight characteristicsANDbecause it comes with a Spektrum 2.4GHz radio. He uses a Spektrum radio, as most flyers in the club, and the radio carried a lot of weight in his recommendation. I might have gone with the Fly Zone Sensei because of the lower price point, but it comes with a Tatic radio. Cost is a big factor for me.

While the Apprentice would probably have been my final choice anyway, a big part of the decision was the included radio. Other similar planes were on the list, but all had to be eliminated because of the radio. So, my question I have is; is there a compatibility chart for the 2.4 spread spectrum radios, including buddy box compatibility? I have looked through this forum and didn't find anything. Of particular interest to me are the 5+ ch of the major players, Spektrum, JR, HiTech, Futaba, Tactic, etc. There is a big price spread among these brands and I think it would be beneficial for other noobs.

I know everyone has their own brand preference, so I would like to see just a compatibility chart with no reviews, except maybe the current MSRP.

Edit: Just found this, but it doesn't really answer my quesiton, http://www.wattflyer.com/forums/show...2964#post72964
Old 01-14-2012, 10:15 AM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 345 Likes on 276 Posts
Default RE: 2.4Ghz Compatibility

Spektrum and JR are compatable.

Everything else is pretty much compatable with itself as the 2.4 protocols are proprietary.