RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Spektrum range issue or just outdated info?

Reply
Old 03-02-2012, 10:27 AM
  #1
Elwood
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Wayne, NJ,
Posts: 1,554
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Spektrum range issue or just outdated info?

I am looking at the Spektrum dx7s. There are a lot of posts on the internet stating that Spektrum has less range then Futaba. Is this old information? I will be flying outdoors.

Thanks!
Elwood is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 11:16 AM
  #2
A.T.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum range issue or just outdated info?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Elwood I am looking at the Spektrum dx7s. There are a lot of posts on the internet stating that Spektrum has less range then Futaba. Is this old information? I will be flying outdoors. Thanks!
Majority of range issues relate to user using the wrong receiver for the job, some JR/Spektrum test
with greater range than some Futaba receivers..
There are full range receivers, park flier receivers and receivers for indoor only, but some buy
the cheapest or clones and expect miracles.

. Receiver - Operating Range - Full vs ParkFlyer vs Backyard.
. Range Test - Comparative Range Test data on multiple systems
. Range of Transmitter and Receiver

more under sub section:
"Radio Systems, Accessories, Alterations and FAQ." at:
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links

Alan T.

A.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 01:42 PM
  #3
Elwood
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Wayne, NJ,
Posts: 1,554
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum range issue or just outdated info?

Thanks Alan, that was a very informative answer. I will be sure to take your info into consideration regarding the park flyer receivers. The spektrum it is!
Elwood is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 11:18 PM
  #4
chuckk2
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Posts: 1,247
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum range issue or just outdated info?

I cannot comment on Spectra vs Futaba range. What I will say is based upon over twenty years of experience with microwave systems of various kinds used by the military and others, and 2.4Ghz is actually towards the lower end of the frequency range that I worked with.

What I would say is that there is often quite a difference in sensitivity from one receiver to another, even with fairly narrow final test requirements/specifications.

An example might have been an F-15 in the later 1970s, and it's detection range for missile related radar. We found that the specs allowed quite a variance in actual detection and identification range.
There was about a two or three to one variance between the most sensitive receiver and the least sensitive, although the least sensitive was well within tested limits.
Some of reasons for the difference boiled down to component tolerance of solid state parts, such as diodes. Others were due to connector, cable, antenna, and waveguide tolerances. Even a "bug splat" on an antenna might make a significant difference. I retired in about 2005, so I've not kept up with the most recent advances.

In a very few cases, depending on receiver design and other factors, the most sensitive receiver may not be the most reliable, just as the least sensitive unit might cause problems.
The most sensitive unit might be subject to overload from strong interference, and the least sensitive unit work well, as an example of the perversity of electronic systems and microwave frequency operation.
chuckk2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 09:55 AM
  #5
Killer RC
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Middletown, OH
Posts: 26
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum range issue or just outdated info?

Depends what vehicle you are using it on. I have found that Spektrums do not like the EMI from the ignition system of 2-cycle gas engines. I'd stick with Futaba; they can withstand high electrical noise environments better.
Killer RC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 10:03 AM
  #6
DadsToysBG
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bowling Green, KY
Posts: 2,497
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum range issue or just outdated info?

That statement about Spektrum and EMI is truly an example of not understanding what freq. EMI is and 2.4. I will not get into a shooting match except to say any 2.4 is good with EMI. Dennis
DadsToysBG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 04:46 PM
  #7
rmh
 
rmh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: , UT
Posts: 12,630
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum range issue or just outdated info?

The dis- information and incorrect info re 2.4 persists
Basically ALL the 2. 4 stuf works the same way.
I have yet to see interferrence on 2.4 from an ignition setup.
but then All the setups I see are in good working order
Futaba / Spektrum- make no difference
From day one - we have pounded the following message into all new 2.4 users
The battery must be able to handle the loads of the servos-or you may crash
The effect of load on receiver operation is completely different between discreet frequency radios ( 72/50 mhz etc) and spread spectrum
There are NO magic circuits no matte what adv BS you may read.
None - Zip - Nada - Nix - Nyet
rmh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 06:53 AM
  #8
Mikecam
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB, CANADA
Posts: 587
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum range issue or just outdated info?

Spektrum DX7 is pretty much an indoor radio and then only if your flying by yourself. Sorry it made me laugh when I thought about it.

With a little research the answer will come to you.
Mikecam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 07:03 AM
  #9
BuschBarber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum range issue or just outdated info?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Mikecam

Spektrum DX7 is pretty much an indoor radio and then only if your flying by yourself. Sorry it made me laugh when I thought about it.

With a little research the answer will come to you.
I have dozens of fellow club members who have and still use the DX7 for a range of aircraft from Turbine Jets to light Foamies.

Your statement is Bogus.
BuschBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 08:08 AM
  #10
DougV
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Miramar, FL
Posts: 958
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum range issue or just outdated info?

Mike,

I fly at 3 different airfields, and never seen an RF link issue with Spektrum or FASST, I've seen lots of crashes with these systems, but never RF related.

Doug.
DougV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 09:03 AM
  #11
carrellh
 
carrellh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Garland, TX
Posts: 6,544
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum range issue or just outdated info?

I think Alan's links provide good info.

It does not surprise me that some systems in the tests had more range than others or that different systems from the same manufacturer showed variations.

It would surprise me if any system labeled "full range" (properly installed) was insufficient to control your outdoor models since we are supposed to keep them close enough that we can see them without binoculars or telescopes.
carrellh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:27 PM.