RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

loosing signal

Reply
Old 05-06-2012, 05:07 PM
  #51
HoundDog
 
HoundDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Apache Junction AZ. WI 0WI8
Posts: 4,471
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal


Quote:
ORIGINAL: pdm52956


Quote:
ORIGINAL: HoundDog


Quote:
ORIGINAL: mike hundley



I have had problems with my DX-8 . Using the cheap orange rec. and went back to my D6 and haven't lost a signal in a year . Something with the DX-8 that spectrum need to look into. They owe me a couple of planes . LOTS OF LUCK

Why in the world would they owe you anything. They can't be responsible for something stupid like when you are using cheap off brand receivers ... that's like telling Ford they owe you for the accedent you caused because you put cheap aftermarket brakes on your Ford ... Get Real
When it comes to these type threads, I usually don't read your nonsense but in this case, I have to agree with you. Not at all what I would have expected from you. Then again, you made up for it with your other post.

Congrats. You've come a long way.
The only thing worse than trusting a DMS2 RX is using a cheep Chineese after market knock off.
HoundDog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 03:52 AM
  #52
rmh
 
rmh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: , UT
Posts: 12,630
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

funny - I have used DSM2 since it was released to the public- never a problem
As for the cheap Chinese rx- some of these also work very well .
The weak link?
Failure to understand how to use them - thankfully a small minoity of the users
rmh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 06:33 AM
  #53
HoundDog
 
HoundDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Apache Junction AZ. WI 0WI8
Posts: 4,471
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal


Quote:
ORIGINAL: rmh

funny - I have used DSM2 since it was released to the public- never a problem
As for the cheap Chinese rx- some of these also work very well .
The weak link?
Failure to understand how to use them - thankfully a small minoity of the users
Sorry but we have had this discusion before ... DSM2 is old Tech .. Palne and smple ... every one has gone to some forme of hopping infact so has he DX8 spectrum. Don't ya think if there wern't a problem with DSM2 Spectrum would have gone to hopping?

HoundDog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 07:50 AM
  #54
dirtybird
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

Actually a non hopping system can have a better sensitivity because the receiver bandwidth can be tighter.
It seems to me the problems of Spectrum was the user but then I don't know since I don't have one.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 08:59 AM
  #55
Wayne Miller
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: DrumboOntario, CANADA
Posts: 1,285
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

Hi,

If you have a JR Tx with a removable frequency module and you think you have a problem with the radio, and would like to try the Hitec Aurora 9 system, then you many want to consider just buying the Aurora 9 replacement module for the JR. By doing this, you will not have to buy a complete new system and as a bonus the recievers are very reasonably priced. Both the Tx module and Rx can be updated and can be kept current by downloading any updates from the web (if needed) - no need to send a unit back or buy new components.

However, I must admit I have both JR 9303 (with 72 and A9 2.4 Tx modules) and Hitec A9 (with 72 and 2.4 Tx modules) and I've never had a problem with loosing communications with either - both work well.

I have an Aurora 9 (which I bought for the features) and wanted to keep and use my JR 9303 as a backup, so I just purchased the optional Hitec Spectra (Aurora module) for my 9303, and I'm very pleased I did, it works well. I can now can still fly my JR as JR, or as an Aurora 9 if I want to, just by switching modules and binding to the Hitec 2.4 receivers. Remember, channel assignments are different between JR and Hitec so the servos have to be plugged in in the receiver channels correctly.

If you are interested in giving this option a try, the part numbers for the Hitec module to fit JR is:
From Hitec site - Spectra 2.4J, JR Compatible 2.4Ghz AFHSS Module Part # 29537
From Tower Hobbies - Stock number LXBJBR

I should also mention that the Aurora Tx modules have a "Smart Scan" function, that is, you can go to where you normally fly and do a "Smart Scan" which will lock in the 20 cleanest 2.4 channels at that location and only use them.

I hope this helps.

Fly4Fun,

Wayne

Wayne Miller is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 04:42 PM
  #56
baronbrian
 
baronbrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Posts: 878
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

This is not directed at the OP, but did you ever notice that very often someone who has lots of problems with their equipment switches brands and then has problems with their equipment??
baronbrian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2017, 09:52 AM
  #57
ipreventdeath
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Location is key

i know this is an older thread, but I wanted to chime in. Most people donít consider WiFi sources when diagnosing this issue. If your location experiences strong WiFi signals, there is a likely event that you are experiencing feedback issues between your TX and RX. WiFi operates using radio signals in the 2.4 GHz band range, just like RC units. One location where I fly has no issues early in the morning before local businesses open, however I always have signal loss issues during operational hours. The field is located right behind these businesses, so the signal strength is fairly strong. Another location without WiFi signals present doesnít present with these same issues. Just food for thought and itís something that can easily be checked.
ipreventdeath is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:42 AM.