Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 56

  1. #1

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    kuna, ID
    Posts
    8
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    loosing signal

    can anyone help me, been flying for about a year now and have got quite good at it, but have one problem my planes keep loosing signal. and cant figure out why. first with my dx6i, now with my dx8, could my cell phone be the problem ? I usually have it close to me and now starting to think its the problem.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    North Richland Hills, TX
    Posts
    72
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: loosing signal

    To give yourself a good chance to figure this problem out you need to think of everything that is occurring, what is around you, what is different, what has changed? It is very important that if you change something change only 1 at a time and give it a good test. Try and keep the scenario as close as possible to the exact same things each time.

    For others to give you advice you need to give very accurate and specific information.

    Have you read the manuals for the product you are using. A lot of the time a issue like this is a very simple, small item that is being over looked because it is something that you always have done or it seems like it wouldn't matter. 

    And be willing to admit that it was something very simple to over look. We have almost all do it or will do it. It happens.

    1st - What are the symptoms that you are having?

    2nd - What have you tried?

    3rd - what do you think it might be?

    PS, I fly with my cell phone and about 10+ others within 20-50ft. More than likely not. I have a DX8 and 4 different receivers.
    Handiman
    DX8 / AR8000\'\'s with Telemetry
    Spitfire #2 - electric
    SU-26 - electric
    P51-D - Saito FA-56GK

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    covina, CA
    Posts
    5
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: loosing signal

    Try range checking your receiver. I lost two planes with a receiver that lost signal after about 75 feet from the plane on the ground.

  4. #4
    aussiesteve's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    PerthWA, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    2,924
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: loosing signal

    What is your exact switch on sequence?
    Are the Rx lights flashing or steady when switched on and booted up?
    Do you rest your Tx flat on the ground once switched on?
    What is your exact bind method?
    3W, BME and DA all the way. Proven power, Proven reliability and Proven support equals much cheaper in the long term.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    kuna, ID
    Posts
    8
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: loosing signal

    it has hapened with 5 diff. receivers. ar500, ar600, ar7000 ar6210 and a ar6200. all bound and range checked flown . all lights on on rec. then batt unpluged radio shut off after a few min. while neighbor flew radio turned back on batt.pluged to plane range checked take off and then have a lock up. I have lost 2 bnf parkzones a 3dhs edge with about 30 flights on it then one lockup, and now my eflight 300 with about 18 flights on it.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    kuna, ID
    Posts
    8
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: loosing signal

    yes i have set my radio flat on the ground, but not every time, will that affect it?

  7. #7

    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Mandeville, JAMAICA
    Posts
    5,905
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: loosing signal

    Sounds like it's an intermittent problem as you get several flights in between and then it occurs again. Try using a different Transmitter and see if that makes a difference.

    Karol
    When inverted always remember that down is up and visa versa

  8. #8

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    kuna, ID
    Posts
    8
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: loosing signal

    I just purchassed a new dx8 and had 8 good flights with it ,on two diff. planes now a glitch in the last one, the only thing i can think of is my cell is in my pocket right next to my radio when im flying

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Fort Worth, TX
    Posts
    4,752
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: loosing signal

    Cell phones don't affect radios. I don't mean to bash, but threads like this about Spektrum equipment are so common that I'll never buy or recommend the brand. One common issue though is voltage at the receiver. If you'll make an extension that you can connect a multimeter to, you can check the actual voltage the receiver is getting under flight loads by manually flexing a control surface. With a little luck, you'll be able to induce a reboot and verify your problem.
    No kid, I said break ground and fly into the wind!

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    7,272
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: loosing signal

    About the only thing certain here is that it is NOT your cell phone causing the problem, that is nearly a technical impossibility. When you do your range checks, do it with the plane in the worst possible attitude, i.e. your transmitter antenna pointing at the plane and with the planes antenna pointing at the transmitter and, if any conductive items in the plane, have them between the transmitter and receiver antennas.

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    4,754
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: loosing signal

    Borrow or buy a Spektrum Flight Logger and do some Range Checks with a friend holding the aircraft at different attitudes, in a 360 deg circle.
    Rich
    byronf16@gmail.com

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Levant, ME
    Posts
    700
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: loosing signal

    What kind of battery are you using at the rx and what is the voltage when this "signal loss" occurs?

    Have you checked it with a volt meter that puts a load on the battery?

    Also, there have been numerous reports of issue with the AR500. I don't believe they even make it anymore but I could be mistaken. I've also heard of issues with the AR600. If it were me, I'd loose them to begin with.

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    White Heath, IL
    Posts
    1,807
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: loosing signal

    If you have a smart phone with WiFi enabled and it's talking to a hot spot, it isn't helping the situation. Cell phones belong on workbenches while you're flying. You can't use it while your out there. At least if it rings, somebody in the pits can answer it for you and tell them you'll call back after you land.

    Are you flying equipment that has crashed?

    Have you contacted Service and arranged to have your transmitter and receivers checked out?

    How are you powering the receivers? What other equipment is in the aircraft? How tight are the linkages? You have a DX8, what's the telemetry telling you about the voltage when you wiggle the servos?

    Andy
    Andy Kunz - AMA 46063
    Spektrum Development Team

  14. #14

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    kuna, ID
    Posts
    8
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: loosing signal

    I have a older verizon phone, im guessing about 7 years old. All my batteries have a full charge.is their a receiver better then the other? I have a new 8000 that came with the radio, using it on my new hyperion yak, but have a new ar 6210, is that receiver ok for the eflight 300 when i rebuild it?

  15. #15

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    San Tan Valley, AZ
    Posts
    5,011
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: loosing signal

    I once saw a cell phone cause a crash.
    This fellow was flying his airplane and his cell phone rang.
    He set his transmitter down and answered the phone.
    Meanwhile his airplane went sailing off into the blue.
    dirty old men need love too.

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    4,754
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: loosing signal

    Honestly, I have had a cell phone on my hip for years, at every event I have attended and every time I am at the flying field. Never an issue. I have never had the need to turn on Wireless Hotspot at the field. I am sure those using the iPhone and the STI module don't have anything in the phone disabled when using it on the flight line.

    I have even answered a call while spotting for a friend, numerous times.
    Rich
    byronf16@gmail.com

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Midwest
    Posts
    1,215
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: loosing signal

    Dx8 always lose signal, get rid of it. I had massiv eproblems with mine and using dsm2 Rxs. This is a very common thing. I've barely had issued with dx6i though.

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    4,754
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: loosing signal


    ORIGINAL: essyou35

    Dx8 always lose signal, get rid of it.* I had massiv eproblems with mine and using dsm2 Rxs.* This is a very common thing.* I've barely had issued with dx6i though.
    I have used my DX8 with DMS2 and DMSX without any issues.
    Rich
    byronf16@gmail.com

  19. #19
    Javier-RCU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    259
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: loosing signal

    Have you bluetooth active in yout cell phone while in flight?

    When you know the paradise?... When you lost it!

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    4,754
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: loosing signal


    ORIGINAL: Javier-RCU

    Have you bluetooth active in yout cell phone while in flight?

    Yes!! I use a Bluetooth headset while flying.
    Rich
    byronf16@gmail.com

  21. #21
    lopflyers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    1,472
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: loosing signal


    ORIGINAL: dirtybird

    I once saw a cell phone cause a crash.
    This fellow was flying his airplane and his cell phone rang.
    He set his transmitter down and answered the phone.
    Meanwhile his airplane went sailing off into the blue.
    Now, this is funny. You have to be really dumb to answer your phone while you are flying

    Keep your wings level
    Club Saito Member #693

  22. #22

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Midwest
    Posts
    1,215
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: loosing signal

    Unless it was a really hot chick.

    Hot Chicks > Rc Airplanes
    ORIGINAL: lopflyers

    Now, this is funny. You have to be really dumb to answer your phone while you are flying


  23. #23

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    13
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: loosing signal

    In an old Air Force term this sounds like a"short between the Headsets"

  24. #24

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    new castle, DE
    Posts
    65
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: loosing signal

    you can't even enjoy a day of flying without your phone?

  25. #25

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    kuna, ID
    Posts
    8
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: loosing signal

    Its not that, I have 80 acres out side my back door, with a mowed landing strip and fly almost every day. My wife has been sick for two years now and this is my chance to get away for a short time, but still be able to be " just a call away"


Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:15 AM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.