RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

loosing signal

Reply
Old 05-03-2012, 04:32 PM
  #1
dkcollord
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: kuna, ID
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default loosing signal

can anyone help me, been flying for about a year now and have got quite good at it, but have one problem my planes keep loosing signal. and cant figure out why. first with my dx6i, now with my dx8, could my cell phone be the problem ? I usually have it close to me and now starting to think its the problem.
dkcollord is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 05:15 PM
  #2
Handiman
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Richland Hills, TX
Posts: 72
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

To give yourself a good chance to figure this problem out you need to think of everything that is occurring, what is around you, what is different, what has changed? It is very important that if you change something change only 1 at a time and give it a good test. Try and keep the scenario as close as possible to the exact same things each time.

For others to give you advice you need to give very accurate and specific information.

Have you read the manuals for the product you are using. A lot of the time a issue like this is a very simple, small item that is being over looked because it is something that you always have done or it seems like it wouldn't matter. 

And be willing to admit that it was something very simple to over look. We have almost all do it or will do it. It happens.

1st - What are the symptoms that you are having?

2nd - What have you tried?

3rd - what do you think it might be?

PS, I fly with my cell phone and about 10+ others within 20-50ft. More than likely not. I have a DX8 and 4 different receivers.
Handiman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 05:29 PM
  #3
wedreagle
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: covina, CA
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

Try range checking your receiver. I lost two planes with a receiver that lost signal after about 75 feet from the plane on the ground.
wedreagle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 05:32 PM
  #4
aussiesteve
 
aussiesteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: PerthWA, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,924
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

What is your exact switch on sequence?
Are the Rx lights flashing or steady when switched on and booted up?
Do you rest your Tx flat on the ground once switched on?
What is your exact bind method?
aussiesteve is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 06:14 PM
  #5
dkcollord
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: kuna, ID
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

it has hapened with 5 diff. receivers. ar500, ar600, ar7000 ar6210 and a ar6200. all bound and range checked flown . all lights on on rec. then batt unpluged radio shut off after a few min. while neighbor flew radio turned back on batt.pluged to plane range checked take off and then have a lock up. I have lost 2 bnf parkzones a 3dhs edge with about 30 flights on it then one lockup, and now my eflight 300 with about 18 flights on it.
dkcollord is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 06:28 PM
  #6
dkcollord
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: kuna, ID
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

yes i have set my radio flat on the ground, but not every time, will that affect it?
dkcollord is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 04:04 AM
  #7
karolh
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mandeville, JAMAICA
Posts: 6,221
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

Sounds like it's an intermittent problem as you get several flights in between and then it occurs again. Try using a different Transmitter and see if that makes a difference.

Karol
karolh is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 04:51 AM
  #8
dkcollord
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: kuna, ID
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

I just purchassed a new dx8 and had 8 good flights with it ,on two diff. planes now a glitch in the last one, the only thing i can think of is my cell is in my pocket right next to my radio when im flying
dkcollord is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 06:43 AM
  #9
jester_s1
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,082
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

Cell phones don't affect radios. I don't mean to bash, but threads like this about Spektrum equipment are so common that I'll never buy or recommend the brand. One common issue though is voltage at the receiver. If you'll make an extension that you can connect a multimeter to, you can check the actual voltage the receiver is getting under flight loads by manually flexing a control surface. With a little luck, you'll be able to induce a reboot and verify your problem.
jester_s1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 08:08 AM
  #10
Rodney
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FL
Posts: 7,713
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

About the only thing certain here is that it is NOT your cell phone causing the problem, that is nearly a technical impossibility. When you do your range checks, do it with the plane in the worst possible attitude, i.e. your transmitter antenna pointing at the plane and with the planes antenna pointing at the transmitter and, if any conductive items in the plane, have them between the transmitter and receiver antennas.
Rodney is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 08:23 AM
  #11
BuschBarber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

Borrow or buy a Spektrum Flight Logger and do some Range Checks with a friend holding the aircraft at different attitudes, in a 360 deg circle.
BuschBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 10:31 AM
  #12
pdm52956
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Levant, ME
Posts: 700
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

What kind of battery are you using at the rx and what is the voltage when this "signal loss" occurs?

Have you checked it with a volt meter that puts a load on the battery?

Also, there have been numerous reports of issue with the AR500. I don't believe they even make it anymore but I could be mistaken. I've also heard of issues with the AR600. If it were me, I'd loose them to begin with.
pdm52956 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 04:14 PM
  #13
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,509
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

If you have a smart phone with WiFi enabled and it's talking to a hot spot, it isn't helping the situation. Cell phones belong on workbenches while you're flying. You can't use it while your out there. At least if it rings, somebody in the pits can answer it for you and tell them you'll call back after you land.

Are you flying equipment that has crashed?

Have you contacted Service and arranged to have your transmitter and receivers checked out?

How are you powering the receivers? What other equipment is in the aircraft? How tight are the linkages? You have a DX8, what's the telemetry telling you about the voltage when you wiggle the servos?

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 04:23 PM
  #14
dkcollord
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: kuna, ID
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

I have a older verizon phone, im guessing about 7 years old. All my batteries have a full charge.is their a receiver better then the other? I have a new 8000 that came with the radio, using it on my new hyperion yak, but have a new ar 6210, is that receiver ok for the eflight 300 when i rebuild it?
dkcollord is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 04:23 PM
  #15
dirtybird
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

I once saw a cell phone cause a crash.
This fellow was flying his airplane and his cell phone rang.
He set his transmitter down and answered the phone.
Meanwhile his airplane went sailing off into the blue.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 04:41 PM
  #16
BuschBarber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

Honestly, I have had a cell phone on my hip for years, at every event I have attended and every time I am at the flying field. Never an issue. I have never had the need to turn on Wireless Hotspot at the field. I am sure those using the iPhone and the STI module don't have anything in the phone disabled when using it on the flight line.

I have even answered a call while spotting for a friend, numerous times.
BuschBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 05:26 PM
  #17
essyou35
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central Midwest
Posts: 1,637
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

Dx8 always lose signal, get rid of it. I had massiv eproblems with mine and using dsm2 Rxs. This is a very common thing. I've barely had issued with dx6i though.
essyou35 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 05:53 PM
  #18
BuschBarber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal


Quote:
ORIGINAL: essyou35

Dx8 always lose signal, get rid of it. I had massiv eproblems with mine and using dsm2 Rxs. This is a very common thing. I've barely had issued with dx6i though.
I have used my DX8 with DMS2 and DMSX without any issues.
BuschBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 05:59 PM
  #19
Javier-RCU
 
Javier-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 267
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

Have you bluetooth active in yout cell phone while in flight?

Javier-RCU is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 06:04 PM
  #20
BuschBarber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Javier-RCU

Have you bluetooth active in yout cell phone while in flight?

Yes!! I use a Bluetooth headset while flying.
BuschBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 06:54 PM
  #21
lopflyers
 
lopflyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,520
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal


Quote:
ORIGINAL: dirtybird

I once saw a cell phone cause a crash.
This fellow was flying his airplane and his cell phone rang.
He set his transmitter down and answered the phone.
Meanwhile his airplane went sailing off into the blue.
Now, this is funny. You have to be really dumb to answer your phone while you are flying

lopflyers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 09:15 PM
  #22
essyou35
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central Midwest
Posts: 1,637
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

Unless it was a really hot chick.

Hot Chicks > Rc Airplanes
Quote:
ORIGINAL: lopflyers

Now, this is funny. You have to be really dumb to answer your phone while you are flying

essyou35 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 03:44 AM
  #23
skipper_gr
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 13
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

In an old Air Force term this sounds like a"short between the Headsets"
skipper_gr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 05:41 AM
  #24
miker49
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: new castle, DE
Posts: 79
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

you can't even enjoy a day of flying without your phone?
miker49 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 07:15 AM
  #25
dkcollord
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: kuna, ID
Posts: 8
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: loosing signal

Its not that, I have 80 acres out side my back door, with a mowed landing strip and fly almost every day. My wife has been sick for two years now and this is my chance to get away for a short time, but still be able to be " just a call away"
dkcollord is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:20 AM.