RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Help! JR 8711's won't work with Futaba R7008rx!

Reply
Old 05-11-2012, 08:13 PM
  #1
jzuniga
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 524
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Help! JR 8711's won't work with Futaba R7008rx!

Hello,

This is my first post in this forum so I hope someone can help? I have a new Futaba r7008 rx (18MZ) and I am trying to set up a 35% Carden Extra that has all JR servos. All the servos are new, the plane has not flown and was being set up with JR 1222 and 9503 and I have recently switched to Futaba. Enough history, here's the problem: I set up a new Futaba SBD-1 to run the tail servos: rudder, and elevator through the sbd-1 to an sbus output on the rx. Reason being, not enough open pwm channels on the rx. The rest of the servos would be plugged into the rx's pwm (normal) outputs. So I set up the sbd-1 per the instructions and plug the rudder servos... so far so good. Then I plug the elevator servos and the servos all act crazy when I move the sticks and then the elevator servos quit! I unplug everything and then plug the elevator servos to any open channel on the rx and nothing? The rudder servos still work no problem, but I can't get the elevator servos to do anything? I tried everything and thought the servos went bad, but then I plugged the servos into my servo setting tool and they work fine? they just won't work on the futaba rx? Any ideas? ... I'll call the Futaba service center tomorrow... BTW, running a123 through a Fromeco Wolverine switch and have re-bind the rx several times!..
Thanks

Z
jzuniga is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 09:39 AM
  #2
TimBle
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cape Town, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 2,744
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Help! JR 8711's won't work with Futaba R7008rx!



Have you set the channels of the SBD-1 ?

If Yes, Which channels did you assign?

Do you have servo's plugged into the corresponding PWM channels on the Rx?

TimBle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 11:19 AM
  #3
jzuniga
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 524
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Help! JR 8711's won't work with Futaba R7008rx!

TimBle,

Thanks for the reply. Yes I set the channels on the sbd-1. Top wire: rudder (channel 4), middle wire: elevator (ch 2), bottom wire: ch 7 (to slave an elevator channel)
The rudder is actually driving two rudder servos via a y harness. The rudder servos are on a SWB self adjusting tray, that's why I have them on a Y harness. I don't know if that may have messed things up? If so, how do I reset everything? And why do the servos work on the YNT servo cycler? BTW, no servos were on the PWM channels when I tried to get it to work.

Thanks

Z
jzuniga is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2012, 01:12 PM
  #4
jzuniga
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Gig Harbor, WA
Posts: 524
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Help! JR 8711's won't work with Futaba R7008rx!

Mystery solved! As it turns out I think the culprits were the 36" long servo extensions (electronically filtered). Once I removed them from the equation the servos worked as advertised! The extensions are some futaba type with little electronic gizmos (technical term) in line. I believe the little gizmos/filters are the source of the problem. I'm running the 1100mm long sbd-1 extension to the tail and all should be good

Z
jzuniga is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 03:09 AM
  #5
TimBle
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cape Town, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 2,744
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Help! JR 8711's won't work with Futaba R7008rx!

They are indeedthe source of the problem. They are scrambling the digital signal from the SBD-1 decoder.
glad you found the fault becausethe next question was were the y-leads reversing or filtered type and are you using filtered extension.


neither works with the S-bus network or the SBD-1.
TimBle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2012, 10:17 AM
  #6
rmh
 
rmh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: , UT
Posts: 12,630
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Help! JR 8711's won't work with Futaba R7008rx!

Nothing strange about the problem- None of the 2.4 radios like the old filters and signal reversers etc..
rmh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:16 PM.