RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Want aural altitude telemetry

Reply
Old 06-07-2012, 03:49 PM
  #1
cjtyped
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Derby, KS
Posts: 332
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Want aural altitude telemetry

Mark my words, some day we will have to keep our planes below 500' agl. I really don't know WHY we need to go higher anyhow. But is t here any system of any kind that can TELL me while I am flying my altitude? I don't want to have to look away from my plane to see, and I don't want to have to rely on someone else reading for me while I am flying. Help?
Thank you inn advance.
cjtyped is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 03:54 PM
  #2
SkidMan
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 349
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Want aural altitude telemetry

The Spektrum telemetry can be set to alarm when you go above a programmed altitude either audibly or by "buzzing" the transmitter.
SkidMan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2012, 04:44 PM
  #3
Silent-AV8R
 
Silent-AV8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,308
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Want aural altitude telemetry

The new Futaba telemetry allows you to set both audible and vibration alarms for preset values. In addition, you can set it to announce the current reading continuously, every so many seconds, or when you pull a switch.

As far as flying above 500 feet, apparently you do not fly IMAC, pattern, soaring, or turbines. There are a fairly large number of people who do however, and for them a 400 or 500 foot altitude limits ends their area of interest.
Silent-AV8R is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 02:49 AM
  #4
JIMF14D
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: PATCHOGUE, NY
Posts: 954
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Want aural altitude telemetry

Yes, the HItec Aurora 9 system with the telemetry package and GPS will send speed and altitude to your TX. If you have the Hitec HTS-Voice system attached to your Tx then it will continously tell you speed and altitude.

Having recenlty got this TM stuff and flown the GPS in a HABU, Ithink you will 400+ feet AGL is very high and that people at your field are rarely flying that high.
JIMF14D is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 03:29 AM
  #5
cjtyped
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Derby, KS
Posts: 332
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Want aural altitude telemetry

I have all Hitec equipment, but only have the Eclipse transmitter. Can I use the telemetry with the Eclipse?
cjtyped is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 08:24 AM
  #6
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,580
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Want aural altitude telemetry

You Eclipse transmitter with a Spektrum module and STi would meet your request.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 11:38 PM
  #7
martiny1
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 3
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Want aural altitude telemetry

You need one of these: www.wireless-copilot.com
Youtube clip at : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C7QsVReZcnA

Gives you altitude callouts (voice) on demand and an overheight alarm.


martiny1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:18 PM.