RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Standard JRDS821 servos on 6v?

Reply
Old 07-16-2012, 02:13 PM
  #1
LargeScale88
Thread Starter
 
LargeScale88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 1,151
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Standard JRDS821 servos on 6v?

Hello everyone. Just had a quick radio question as I'm switching all my 4.8 receiver batteries to 6v. The servo rating is for 6v, but when fully charged, the battery is around 6.2 to 6.5 volts give or take, am I going to cook the servo when its a little above like this? I'll be running 4 of these servos total in the airplane.

Thanks

Jason
LargeScale88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 03:31 PM
  #2
Pilot232
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Peoria, AZ
Posts: 134
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Standard JRDS821 servos on 6v?

821's are all I use. I run them on A123's (fully charged they can reach 7.2 volts, the same as a five cell NIMH pack, no regulatr required). Enjoy.
Pilot232 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 04:05 PM
  #3
LargeScale88
Thread Starter
 
LargeScale88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 1,151
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Standard JRDS821 servos on 6v?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Pilot232

821's are all I use. I run them on A123's (fully charged they can reach 7.2 volts, the same as a five cell NIMH pack, no regulatr required). Enjoy.
Thanks for the response, looks like I have nothing to worry about!

Jason
LargeScale88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 04:33 PM
  #4
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,750
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Standard JRDS821 servos on 6v?

What kind of plane? Those servos have some limitations
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 04:53 PM
  #5
cygnet
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary Alberta, AB, CANADA
Posts: 392
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Standard JRDS821 servos on 6v?

I run mine on 8.4 volts unregulated done it for years know problem.
cygnet is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 03:50 AM
  #6
LargeScale88
Thread Starter
 
LargeScale88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 1,151
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Standard JRDS821 servos on 6v?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: BarracudaHockey

What kind of plane? Those servos have some limitations
Just a .60 Pheonix models edge 540. Not doing any 3d, more pattern style aerobatics than anything.

Jason
LargeScale88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 03:40 PM
  #7
Jetdesign
 
Jetdesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, OH
Posts: 7,054
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Standard JRDS821 servos on 6v?

Awesome servos. They are the new standard for 'standard' servos, in my opinion.
Jetdesign is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 07:09 AM
  #8
rowdog_14
 
rowdog_14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Austell, GA
Posts: 820
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Standard JRDS821 servos on 6v?


Quote:
ORIGINAL: gaRCfield

Awesome servos. They are the new standard for 'standard' servos, in my opinion.
x2 even my basic 40 size plane has these servos. Great servo at a great price.
rowdog_14 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:05 AM.