RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Servo compatibility question??????????????

Reply

Old 08-06-2012, 02:59 AM
  #1  
Turqui
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (139)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 167
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Servo compatibility question??????????????

Hi there, i got a bunch of items in a budle deal, i got a jt transmiter 9303, also a bunch of spektrum ar7000 receivers and a bunch of servos, so the question is:
I have many ds821 jr servos,also a bunch hitec and spektrum servos, the point is i only use futaba, will these servos futaba 2.4 compatible?
Can i use the ar7000 spektrum receivers with the jr 9303 or futaba transmiters 2.4?
Thanks.
Turqui is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 03:56 AM
  #2  
BuschBarber
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo compatibility question??????????????


ORIGINAL: Turqui

Hi there, i got a bunch of items in a budle deal, i got a jt transmiter 9303, also a bunch of spektrum ar7000 receivers and a bunch of servos, so the question is:
I have many ds821 jr servos,also a bunch hitec and spektrum servos, the point is i only use futaba, will these servos futaba 2.4 compatible?
Can i use the ar7000 spektrum receivers with the jr 9303 or futaba transmiters 2.4?
Thanks.
Most servos are compatible with any radio as long as you add the proper connectors. Some cut off the original connector and solder on the correct one for their Rx. Others buy a Universal adapter and use that. Spektrum receivers only work with JR/Spektrum DMS2/DSMX capable transmitters. They will not work with Futaba 2.4 transmitters unless the Futaba is capable of accepting a Spektrum module.
BuschBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 04:07 AM
  #3  
Turqui
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (139)
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 167
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo compatibility question??????????????

Thanks.
Turqui is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 05:59 AM
  #4  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,379
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo compatibility question??????????????

JR/Spektrum servos will plug right into Futaba.

Futaba servos need the index tab shaved off to fit into Spektrum recievers.

821's have some limitations with larger and gas powered aircraft so check what you're putting them in but when used in the correct application they are good servos.
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 09:39 AM
  #5  
SeamusG
Senior Member
 
SeamusG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Arvada, CO
Posts: 3,919
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo compatibility question??????????????


ORIGINAL: BarracudaHockey
821's have some limitations with larger and gas powered aircraft so check what you're putting them in but when used in the correct application they are good servos.
Are you saying that the amount of torque generated by the DS821's is insufficient for bigger models? Do ARF/RTF/Kit manufacturers specify the minimum required torque for the products?Or, is the owner on his/her own to get it right? Of course, this is an issue for ANYservo irrespective of the model or manufacturer. There is plenty of information about servo's speed and torque output as well as gear material, all characteristics that come into play when selecting the "right"servo.

SeamusG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 10:16 AM
  #6  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,379
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo compatibility question??????????????

Well, a manufacturer should specify torque requirements but thats not the issue specifically with the 821s.


•Manufacturer Warning: "Not recommended for planes over 1.20-size or helicopters over .30-size. Loads and vibration in larger models may cause premature failure of the servo, resulting in damage or injury to property and persons."
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 11:11 AM
  #7  
SeamusG
Senior Member
 
SeamusG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Arvada, CO
Posts: 3,919
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo compatibility question??????????????

Horizon surely does have the Spektrum DS821 specs as part of their product webpage.

DS821 Specs

SeamusG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 12:54 PM
  #8  
Rafael23cc
My Feedback: (6)
 
Rafael23cc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Junction City, KS
Posts: 2,955
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo compatibility question??????????????


ORIGINAL: SeamusG

Horizon surely does have the Spektrum DS821 specs as part of their product webpage.

DS821 Specs
It is a well documented fact that 821 servos fail in a specific fashion when used improperly and it has nothing to do with torque. BH has firsthand knowledge of that failure mode.

Rafael
Rafael23cc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 01:13 PM
  #9  
SeamusG
Senior Member
 
SeamusG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Arvada, CO
Posts: 3,919
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo compatibility question??????????????


ORIGINAL: Rafael23cc


ORIGINAL: SeamusG

Horizon surely does have the Spektrum DS821 specs as part of their product webpage.

DS821 Specs
It is a well documented fact that 821 servos fail in a specific fashion when used improperly and it has nothing to do with torque. BH has firsthand knowledge of that failure mode.

Rafael
Sorry - Imisunderstood BH's post.

Ihave 20 or so DS821's. Time to research and take steps to minimize the documented failures!

SeamusG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 06:37 AM
  #10  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 23,379
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo compatibility question??????????????

Just use them within the manufacturer guidelines and you will be fine.
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 06:46 AM
  #11  
SeamusG
Senior Member
 
SeamusG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Arvada, CO
Posts: 3,919
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Servo compatibility question??????????????

Off topic ..

BC - yea, did my homework and I even called my friends a Horizon Hobby tech support. All my stuff is well within the "manufacturer's guidelines".

Did ya ever wonder why Spektrum did NOT include DS821 servos in their DX7SE transmitter package? Could it have been because the target consumer group for the DX7SE were heli pilots and that the DS821 has very limited application in the heli world?

Tech tidbit: The short Spektrum servo arm screw is a 3 x 5 mm screw. I wonder what happens it you stuff a #4 screw into a 3 mm hole? Will it exacerbate the critical 821 problem? Yea, I know, mind numbing. [:@]
SeamusG is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service