RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

airplane gyro updated

Reply
Old 09-05-2012, 05:35 AM
  #1
mvarzoni
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Santo Andre, BRAZIL
Posts: 198
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default airplane gyro updated

Hello folks!
I've been out of flying fields for a while, but now I'm back.
I would like to have a gyro on my 25% extra 300 rudder and maybe on ailerons too.
I've been searching on this forum and Google, but it is all old talking. I'm looking for something more up to date.
The gyro must have the turn off option via some spare channel on my Aurora 9.

Thanks!
M.
mvarzoni is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 05:40 AM
  #2
rc4flying
 
rc4flying's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hermitage, PA
Posts: 617
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airplane gyro updated

Look at the PowerBox "iGyro"
rc4flying is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 06:00 AM
  #3
mvarzoni
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Santo Andre, BRAZIL
Posts: 198
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airplane gyro updated

I thank you very much,but 500 buck on a gyro is just too much for my tight budget.
Do you know something more affordable?

Thanks
M.
mvarzoni is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 06:06 AM
  #4
motomike
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Savanna, IL
Posts: 39
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airplane gyro updated

The Eagle Tree Guardian is 3 axis and has an aux channel. It can be operated via a spare channel. It goes for $63 to about $75 from what I have seen. If you forsake the aux channel and turn off feature the Eagle A3 and the Orangerx three axis gyro are around $30 and $15 respectively.
motomike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 06:48 PM
  #5
mvarzoni
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Santo Andre, BRAZIL
Posts: 198
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airplane gyro updated

Motomike, thank you, that is exactly what I need.

But I have a question.
The Guardian has 3 axes and 3 channel.
Only one channel for the aileron, but I have two aileron servos on my extra 300.
How would I connect it?

M.
mvarzoni is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 04:18 AM
  #6
landeck
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sandy Springs, GA GA
Posts: 1,710
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airplane gyro updated

The AUX channel on the Guardian is used for the second aileron.

Bruce
landeck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 05:48 AM
  #7
motomike
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Savanna, IL
Posts: 39
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airplane gyro updated

Most recent MAN has review of the Guardian on page 70.

Mike
motomike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2012, 09:58 PM
  #8
mvarzoni
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Santo Andre, BRAZIL
Posts: 198
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airplane gyro updated

The device seems to be perfect, but could anyone tell me where I could buy one?
Nobody has it on stock.

M.
mvarzoni is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2012, 08:08 AM
  #9
motomike
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Savanna, IL
Posts: 39
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airplane gyro updated

Mvarzoni

I see that. If you go to Eagle Tree website the guardian is on back order and expected in late September. From what I gather if you wait until they show in stock, they will be gone before you can place the order. Same is true of Hobby King which has them for $63. might be worth ordering them to make sure you get in line. Otherwise, I see some EBay vendors have the A3 flight stab in stock for $24 to $45.

I know that if you get the Eagle Tree, there is a rather extensive manual possibly written by someone for whom English is their first language, which takes you through the set up as well as a tutorial on the unit. The Eagle Tree offers a lot of customization via your PC if you are so inclined. The Eagle Tree Guardian has a separate aileron channel. Eagle Tree has options for in flight adjust for gain and in flight switchable from 2d/3d/off. Eagle Tree has a presence in Washington state and a phone number where you can talk to a person. All of that is definitely worth something when compared to the other less expensive options.

How much difference there is between the $15 Hobby King Orange 3 axis flight stab, the $25 A3 and the Guardian in quality and performance, I don’t know but at $15 the orange unit has some pretty extensive forum discussion. That might be worth a try as well.

Good luck
Mike


motomike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 02:58 PM
  #10
verendrye
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Granger, IN
Posts: 29
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airplane gyro updated

Hi, I have two of these Guardian units which I need to mount upside down, as indicated in the manual as being OK. I have been unsuccessful in resetting level flight and trims via the "toggle" operation, even with many tries. The knob is being used as the gain control.
Both units work in the same way.

As a result (and in confirmation), the elevator moves in the wrong direction in 3-D, and in 2-D, it wants the ailerons to roll the airplane.

I must be doing someting simple wrong. The toggle, I presume, using a three position flight mode switch on a DX-8, is to go from 3-D to off to 2D and back thru off to 3-D. The center position turns the Guardian off. Any suggestions?

thanks...
verendrye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 05:21 PM
  #11
dirtybird
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airplane gyro updated


Quote:
ORIGINAL: verendrye

Hi, I have two of these Guardian units which I need to mount upside down, as indicated in the manual as being OK. I have been unsuccessful in resetting level flight and trims via the ''toggle'' operation, even with many tries. The knob is being used as the gain control.
Both units work in the same way.

As a result (and in confirmation), the elevator moves in the wrong direction in 3-D, and in 2-D, it wants the ailerons to roll the airplane.

I must be doing someting simple wrong. The toggle, I presume, using a three position flight mode switch on a DX-8, is to go from 3-D to off to 2D and back thru off to 3-D. The center position turns the Guardian off. Any suggestions?

thanks...
You are correct on the toggle.
If the unit causes the control to move in the wrong direction. Reverse the gain setting. See the manual. It discusses that.
A correct set up guardian makes flying about like driving a car. You don't need to keep the wings level. And if the elevator is correct you don't have to bother with that either.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 05:44 PM
  #12
verendrye
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Granger, IN
Posts: 29
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airplane gyro updated

Yes, of course, the elevator is easily reversed, but in the 2-D mode, the (inverted) Guardian insists that the aircraft is upside down, and tries to roll it to upright. Reversing the aileron would only make the roll from counterclockwise, to clockwise, or the reverse.

It was suggested to me that the one-toggle operation would fix it, but it doesn't.

thanks.
verendrye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 08:00 PM
  #13
dirtybird
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airplane gyro updated

What is your airplane attitude when you toggle it?
Call Eagletree.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 03:59 AM
  #14
verendrye
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Granger, IN
Posts: 29
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airplane gyro updated

Upright and level.

Eagle Tree advised me that the one-toggle would set things in order. It doesn't.

Thanks
verendrye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 05:38 AM
  #15
dirtybird
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airplane gyro updated

Do both units do that?
If so call Eagletree and rant.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 09:44 AM
  #16
verendrye
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Granger, IN
Posts: 29
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airplane gyro updated

Yes, the behavior is identical in both units, which were from different manufacturing runs.

Do you have units which you operate upside-down?

What sort gains ae you using? I mounted one in a 60-sized pulse (right side up so that the pots are not ascessible) and flew briefly this morning. I was conservative, with gains on all three set at 40, and only tried 2-D.

thanks
verendrye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 02:23 PM
  #17
dirtybird
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airplane gyro updated

I have never tried to operate it upside down.
My gains are set to maximum. I think its maximum. Its hard to see those little dots. I get a little oscillation in the elevator at times.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 02:35 PM
  #18
verendrye
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Granger, IN
Posts: 29
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airplane gyro updated

Thanks, your info is helpful.

verendrye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 02:45 PM
  #19
DougV
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Miramar, FL
Posts: 958
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airplane gyro updated


Quote:
ORIGINAL: mvarzoni

Hello folks!
I've been out of flying fields for a while, but now I'm back.
I would like to have a gyro on my 25% extra 300 rudder and maybe on ailerons too.
I've been searching on this forum and Google, but it is all old talking. I'm looking for something more up to date.
The gyro must have the turn off option via some spare channel on my Aurora 9.

Thanks!
M.
Here is another gyro: http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXCNFS&P=ML

Doug.
DougV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 05:45 AM
  #20
dirtybird
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airplane gyro updated

The Hobbyking unit came available but before I could get the order finalized (Its unbelievable the hoops you have to jump thru to pay for something on a credit card on an international order) the units were on back order again.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 06:22 AM
  #21
dirtybird
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airplane gyro updated

There is no information given on the tower unit. There appears to be no way to turn it on or off during flight.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 09:10 AM
  #22
dirtybird
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airplane gyro updated

I lost my test airplane today. The gyro had apparently shifted on its mount and I did not have enough control authority to get it straight.
lesson learned: Don't mount the gyro on velcro. Tie it down good.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 09:36 AM
  #23
sat2002ca
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: brampton, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airplane gyro updated

Try Futaba GYA350
GYA351
GYA352 any of these work !
sat2002ca is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 07:47 PM
  #24
dirtybird
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Tan Valley, AZ
Posts: 5,768
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airplane gyro updated

The only Futaba three axis gyro I find on the tower hobbies inventory is not available until some time this month. They have no information on it . They refer you to the Futaba web site. A search of the Futaba site does not locate any information.
It appears to be like the Hobbyking unit at three times the price.
dirtybird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 06:47 AM
  #25
BarracudaHockey
Community Moderators
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 21,807
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: airplane gyro updated


Quote:
ORIGINAL: dirtybird

I lost my test airplane today. The gyro had apparently shifted on its mount and I did not have enough control authority to get it straight.
lesson learned: Don't mount the gyro on velcro. Tie it down good.
hehe ya, don't tie it down though.

Two layers of 3m Outdoor mounting tape (gray tape, red backing). You dont want anything transmitting airframe vibration directly to the gyro sensor. You don't want it coming loose either
BarracudaHockey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:32 AM.