RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Anyone running Futaba 14Z receiver on A123?

Reply

Old 09-07-2012, 09:52 AM
  #1  
coronabob
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Friendswood, TX
Posts: 453
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Anyone running Futaba 14Z receiver on A123?

I am getting a PMI voltage regulator to operate my 2.4GHz 14Z receiver on A123. Anyone has any experience with doing this? The specs for the receiver says 6V max and A123 puts out over 7V. Thank you.
coronabob is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 10:12 AM
  #2  
DadsToysBG
My Feedback: (35)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bowling Green, KY
Posts: 2,497
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone running Futaba 14Z receiver on A123?

The battery will only show 7v for a very short time, then drop to 6.6v. I see no problem using the battery without a regulator. Dennis
DadsToysBG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2012, 12:30 PM
  #3  
Silent-AV8R
 
Silent-AV8R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,308
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone running Futaba 14Z receiver on A123?

I now run ONLY A123/LiFePO4 packs. I do not use a regulator. It is not the receiver you need to worry about, but rather the servos. In general, if your servos can run on 6 volts they will be fine with LiFe/A123. I do not use any regulators.

I have run these batteries on almost every receiver Futaba makes and all have performed flawlessly.
Silent-AV8R is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 07:54 AM
  #4  
coronabob
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Friendswood, TX
Posts: 453
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Anyone running Futaba 14Z receiver on A123?

AV8R,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I have 5 packs of A123 cells. I have used them to set up my Futaba receivers that run mostly Hitec servos. I have not flown any of my planes on A123. Maybe I am too much of a chicken.

The Hitec servos all work fine as well as some other brands. I stupidly bough quite a few JR 125, 126 metal gear servos which are crappy in my opinion. The early JR 125 would not work beyond 4 cell NiCd/NiMh batteries let alone A123.

I will fly unregulated A123 on Futaba PCM receivers first before trying them on my 14Z. Thank you again.
coronabob is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service