RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Hitec Eclipse 7 change mode 1 to mode 2

Reply

Old 09-08-2012, 02:59 PM
  #1  
waynex
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wellington, , NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Hitec Eclipse 7 change mode 1 to mode 2



Hi there. My first post to RC Universe!

I didn't have the money to go 2.4GHz, nor did I want to, so I bought an Eclipse 7 radio second hand thisyearbut it was mode 1 not mode 2. Unlike othercomputer radios, you can't simply re-program the radio,it must be done manually, it seems. There are only two channels that need switching between modes 1 & 2- throttle and elevator. My radio is approx. 2002-2003 vintage.

I have some electronics experience so searched online forums on how to do a conversion. There is some helpful stuff, but nothing on exactly my problem. So, I went ahead anyway & the conversion worked!

So, if you have an old mode 1 Eclipse 7 and want to change to mode 2 (as well as having trims that work in sync with the sticks), here's how:

There are 3 stages to the process

  1. Remove the rear of the radio & lengthen the elevator and throttle cables so that they are long enough to switch left-right (some folk call these cables 'jumpers')
  2. Switch the ratchet mechanism for the throttle from one side to the other (a bit fiddly!)
  3. re-wire the trims to match
Have a look at the following Google doc link for pics & some more explanation: https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B_V...Hd2Q3hjc3hOQ0k

I hope that this is useful for someone who, like me, wants to stick with an old Tx!
-WayneX
waynex is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2012, 01:15 PM
  #2  
A.T.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec Eclipse 7 change mode 1 to mode 2


ORIGINAL: waynex Hi there. My first post to RC Universe!
I didn't have the money to go 2.4GHz, nor did I want to, so I bought an Eclipse 7 radio second hand thisyearbut it was mode 1 not mode 2. Unlike othercomputer radios, you can't simply re-program the radio,it must be done manually, it seems. There are only two channels that need switching between modes 1 & 2- throttle and elevator. My radio is approx. 2002-2003 vintage.
I have some electronics experience so searched online forums on how to do a conversion. There is some helpful stuff, but nothing on exactly my problem. So, I went ahead anyway & the conversion worked!
So, if you have an old mode 1 Eclipse 7 and want to change to mode 2 (as well as having trims that work in sync with the sticks), here's how:
There are 3 stages to the process
  1. Remove the rear of the radio & lengthen the elevator and throttle cables so that they are long enough to switch left-right (some folk call these cables 'jumpers')
  2. Switch the ratchet mechanism for the throttle from one side to the other (a bit fiddly!)
  3. re-wire the trims to match
Have a look at the following Google doc link for pics & some more explanation: https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B_VL9m33a0hLWHd2Q3hjc3hOQ0k
I hope that this is useful for someone who, like me, wants to stick with an old Tx!
-WayneX
A good .pdf, will add to others, which includean alternate method for the Eclipse:
. TX Mode change - Hitec Eclipse 7 - change Mode 1 <> 2
(if pictures do not show, download .pdf "Hitec Eclipse 7_DIY Mode Change_Pictorial"

undersub section "Transmitter - Change Mode 1 <> 2"
below
"Radio Systems, Accessories, Alterations and FAQ" at
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links

Alan T.
A.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 12:06 AM
  #3  
waynex
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Wellington, , NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 22
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Hitec Eclipse 7 change mode 1 to mode 2

Hi Alan

Thanks for the links, I've bookmarked them for future reference. You have agreatlibrary of topics.

I also went to that forum page in rcuniverse but the pics didn't work (gallery expired?). Your method, excellently illustrated in the PDF doc, looks more streamlined than what I did. I didn't see the black jumpers when I had my set apart, but I see them now in one of my camera pics.

The plusses for yourmethod seem to be that you don't need to cut & lengthenthetwowiresfrom the throttle/elevatorpotentiometers nor re-wire the trims. However, one of the rockers/sticks needs to be rotated 180 degrees whereas that is not necessary in the method I used. In both methods the ratchet mechanism needs to be swapped over.

Anyway, it's fun to try creative repairs!

I note we are both NZers (me in Wellington).

Regards,
WayneX

waynex is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service