RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Using one ch for aileron servos as opposed to using two

Reply
Old 09-23-2012, 04:02 PM
  #1
karolh
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mandeville, JAMAICA
Posts: 6,272
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Using one ch for aileron servos as opposed to using two

I plan on taking an old model out of storage and putting it back into service. It has one servo per aileron but uses just the lead from ch.1 which is split to power both servos, and this system has worked without a problem. Is there any significant advantage in having a dedicated ch for each servo e.g. ( Flaperon) over the present arrangement.

Karol
karolh is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 04:12 PM
  #2
A.T.
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Auckland, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 2,581
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Using one ch for aileron servos as opposed to using two


Quote:
ORIGINAL: karolh I plan on taking an old model out of storage and putting it back into service. It has one servo per aileron but uses just the lead from ch.1 which is split to power both servos, and this system has worked without a problem. Is there any significant advantage in having a dedicated ch for each servo e.g. ( Flaperon) over the present arrangement. Karol
Use of separate aileron servos permits the use of electronic rather than mechanical "differential", "Flapperons" and
if servos are close to centre of wing, negates "Flutter".

. Differential - Mechanical set-up - Correct Dutch roll and Drag.

. Flapperons or Spoilerons ?


. Flutter - Curing flutter by Ed Moorman

Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links
A.T. is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 04:18 PM
  #3
BuschBarber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 4,756
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Using one ch for aileron servos as opposed to using two


Quote:
ORIGINAL: karolh

I plan on taking an old model out of storage and putting it back into service. It has one servo per aileron but uses just the lead from ch.1 which is split to power both servos, and this system has worked without a problem. Is there any significant advantage in having a dedicated ch for each servo e.g. ( Flaperon) over the present arrangement.

Karol
Back when we had to use a Y Harness for such a setup, there were numerous instances where I encountered servo anomalies that were resolved by replacing the Y with a new one or one with 20-22ga wire. I stopped using them when JR introduced the Matchbox. I now use Channel Mixing where ever possible. Avoid using Y Harnesses and especially Reversing Y Harnesses such as for Dual Elevators or Dual Flaps.
BuschBarber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 04:27 PM
  #4
PDF
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Peabody, MA
Posts: 204
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Using one ch for aileron servos as opposed to using two

Hello,
If you use two servos and two channels, and happen to lose one channel you'll have chance of getting the plane back.
Pat
PDF is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:49 AM.