RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Spektrum mr3000

Reply

Old 09-27-2012, 08:52 AM
  #1  
Jackal1983
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Preston, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 226
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default Spektrum mr3000

I'm having endless problems with this receiver. It's installed on just how spectrum state. I've fitted it in a balloon to give it added protection to the elements of the electric box. Usually just condensation but still I'm getting them fail. This will be my 2nd one this month.
It came up with an intermittent fault of everything going off. I tryed a few batterys and I've taken the switch out the system. Wiggle the wired around and the thing will jump into life again.
Im thinking its the pins breaking going into the receiver. No idea what's causing this because all the Rx wires are supported.

It will not bind know at all. I can get it to start flashing but it will not rebind.

The are pritty expensive to just break like this.

Jack
Jackal1983 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 10:18 AM
  #2  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,800
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum mr3000

I have several that are pre-production and work just fine. Mine do not get put in a balloon, they are left open in the hull.

I use servo tape to put them on a bulkhead so I have easy access to the connections if I need them, but out of the way.

I'm having a hard time understanding how you can put enough force on the pins to break them. Do you have things jammed into the hull or something? Is maybe a battery pack loose?

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 10:57 AM
  #3  
Jackal1983
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Preston, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 226
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum mr3000

Nope nothing jammed in the box at all ... the plugs just sit on the pins... The RX sits on a small bracket mounted on the side of the box with the kill switch sat next to it.
nothing is pushing on the pins at all......

Any onther reasons why it will not bind?
Jackal1983 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 12:33 PM
  #4  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,800
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum mr3000

If you don't have a good battery connection or corrosion in the antenna connector, those could be possible factors.

Can you attach a photo of your setup? Maybe it will suggest something.

Thanks.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 12:35 AM
  #5  
Jackal1983
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Preston, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 226
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum mr3000

Yep will do when ive got the new set up... Ive changed to a larger battery and struggling to get it in with everything else!!!
Can you buy new antenna wires?

Just wondering if any other spectrum rx can be used for boats? i need the kill switch so mr200 is out the question.

Kind regards

Jack
Jackal1983 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 06:03 AM
  #6  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,800
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum mr3000

MR300?
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 08:13 AM
  #7  
Jackal1983
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Preston, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 226
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum mr3000


ORIGINAL: AndyKunz

MR300?
No MR200

http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...rodID=SPMMR200


Jackal1983 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 11:54 AM
  #8  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,800
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum mr3000

(My bad, I didn't read it all and then typo'd).

What transmitter are you using?

The Marine line (MR200/MR3000) will bind to either a surface radio with Marine support, or to any Spektrum or JR DSM aircraft transmitter.

If you're using a stick radio, that means you have access to all the AR-series receivers as well. We sell a water-resistant air rx as well, the AR600C.

If you're using a pistol grip, then you have the choice of those two receivers, one of which doesn't have all the channels you want.

BTW, a balloon really doesn't add anything bug weight and hassles if you're using an MR3000. I had the rx made this way so I wouldn't need to use a balloon. All my old 75MHz stuff was water-proofed the same way as we did the MR3000.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 12:56 PM
  #9  
Jackal1983
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Preston, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 226
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum mr3000

Hi Andy,

Ive been using the DX7... Ive really enjoyed using it and its very simple and easy to set up... So ive just this weekend upgraded to the DX7S.
I was always under the impression the surface marine RXs have something in them that stops the water interfearing with the signal!!!


Looking at the AR600C looks a nice unit for another boat i want to fit a trim system to!!!!

Jackal1983 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 05:38 AM
  #10  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,800
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum mr3000

It's the RF protocol that is different. The MR protocol is the bridge between pistol and air radios because so many boaters use sticks.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 12:48 PM
  #11  
Jackal1983
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Preston, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 226
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum mr3000

Hi Andy,

Could you explain that last post. Does the AR600C have long Antenna? I like to have the Antenna outside the boats radio box!
I think i'll try an AR600C if can find one in the UK!!!

Jack
Jackal1983 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 01:14 PM
  #12  
AndyKunz
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: White Heath, IL
Posts: 2,800
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum mr3000

Here's a photo:

http://www.horizonhobby.com/products...iver-SPMAR600C

Pistols talk to SR and MR. Sticks talk to MR and AR. MR is the bridge that talks to both because so many boaters use stick radios.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 11:54 PM
  #13  
Jackal1983
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Preston, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 226
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: Spektrum mr3000

thankyou very much any for your help..
im going to try a AR600c..
Jackal1983 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service