Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 203

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Bettendorf, IA
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Dx8 to futaba?

    I lost two planes in two weeks do to the lovely spektrum brownout. Selling my dx8 and going to buy one of the 8 channel futabas. I fly .40 and .60 size nitro planes. The $200 for the price difference is huge. I can't seem to find anything as far as reviews on the 8j. Thanks guys!

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Attunga NSW, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    2,264
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Dx8 to futaba?


    ORIGINAL: Fatam

    Β*I lost two planes in two weeks do to the lovely spektrum brownout. Β*Selling my dx8 and going to buy one of the 8 channel futabas. Β* I fly .40 and .60 size nitro planes. Β*The $200 for the price difference is huge. Β* I can't seem to find anything as far as reviews on the 8j. Β*Thanks guys!

    G'day Mate,
    If you use the same battery, & switch, with your Futaba radio, you will most likely have problems too.
    What were you using with the DX8, as far as battery voltage, switch & cable size from switch to RX.
    Were you using digital servos, & what are the symptoms of your crashes, caused by an Illeged brown out.
    "Brown out" means, not enough voltage to feed your RX & servos.
    Were you using telemetry during your flights? If so what was the RX voltage?
    So instead of blameing the radio, maybe you should look at the reasons why.
    If you lost 2 planes in 2 weeks, did you try to find out what happened to the 1st one.

    Cheers
    Good Flyin Mate. Keep Thyne Airspeed up, lest the ground arise & smite thee,
    Allan.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Bettendorf, IA
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Dx8 to futaba?

    thats not what i asked at all. if your not going yo help with my question then dont answer. i have been through each plane with a find tooth comb. running right batteries, switches, ect... even had the big shot check them out. so yes i have done my homework and am 110% over spektrums B.S. they have cost me a lot of money anf not just me but many othrr guys st my field.

  4. #4
    KRASHKOPTER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Coquitlam, BC, CANADA
    Posts
    88
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Dx8 to futaba?

    Found this....I'm just a noob up late and thought I'd post....hope this helps ya.
    http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1643680

    K
    MCPX, MQX, KDS-450C, HK-500GT, DX7S

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Attunga NSW, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    2,264
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Dx8 to futaba?

    G'day Mate,
    There are none so blind, as those that will not see.

    If everything is OK, then I wish you all the best with your new radio.
    Whatever you end up with.

    Cheers
    Good Flyin Mate. Keep Thyne Airspeed up, lest the ground arise & smite thee,
    Allan.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Siler City, NC
    Posts
    150
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Dx8 to futaba?

    I would like to have your DX8...... PM me
    Jerry

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Levant, ME
    Posts
    700
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Dx8 to futaba?


    ORIGINAL: Fatam

    Β*thats not what i asked at all. Β*if your not going yo help with my question then dont answer. Β* i have been through each plane with a find tooth comb. Β*running right batteries, switches, ect... Β*even had the big shot check them out. Β* so yes i have done my homework and am 110% over spektrums B.S. Β*they have cost me a lot of money anf not just me but many othrr guys st my field. Β*
    Kind of wondering something here...............you say you had "the big shot" check things out and then you say Spektrum has cost you and "many other guys at my field" a lot of money. So is the big shot one of those many other guys? What system does he fly?

    Not trying to be sarcastic, just curious if the right guy is checking it out for you since a "brown out" is a power issue.

    Good luck.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Bettendorf, IA
    Posts
    12
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Dx8 to futaba?

    no the club prezident runs futaba and the other guys had low volt issues. one was a kit trainer that lost everthing. next was a bnf eflight carbon z yak that lost everything after about 2 min into the maden.

  9. #9
    rmh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    , UT
    Posts
    12,605
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Dx8 to futaba?

    Based on your comments - it isn't the equipment which is the issue
    Unfortunately you have apparantly convinced yourself that the equipment is the issue.
    FWIW - the old "two minutes into the flight comment is a classic - which indictes all is well until power runs out
    I have setup way over one hundred of these Spektrum models - some for other fliers
    No problems such as you note.
    Whomever your expert is - you might do well to start over with someone who really understand power setups and rx application and positioning - .
    Libby is still watching you

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Visalia, CA
    Posts
    1,306
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Dx8 to futaba?


    ORIGINAL: rmh

    Based on your comments - it isn't the equipment which is the issue
    Unfortunately you have apparantly convinced yourself that the equipment is the issue.
    FWIW - the old ''two minutes into the flight comment is a classic - which indictes all is well until power runs out
    I have setup way over one hundred of these Spektrum models - some for other fliers
    No problems such as you note.
    Whomever your expert is - you might do well to start over with someone who really understand power setups and rx application and positioning - .
    And he can get another brand radio and no longer worry about receivers ultra sensitive to voltage, need for satellite receivers, tricky positioning of components, BNF stuff that has a high failure rate within a few flights (ask my local HS), tech support saying you didn't hold your tongue right, etc.

    Certainly some modelers do themselves harm but when long time, very experienced modelers suffer the same mysterious Spektrum failures it generates many questions..

    Dick Tristao
    ModelGrafix
    Visalia, Ca.
    559 625-3590 Home/Office
    559 280-6559 Cellular

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Sanger, CA
    Posts
    225
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Dx8 to futaba?

    Richard
    Some ppl simply hear what they want to hear. Its pointless to try to reason with someone who is surrounded by "Big Shots" at a club field. They tend to not approach a problem from the standpoint of reason.
    I found its best to just stay the heck out of their way. The big problem is that many times they will band together and decide there should be a ban on a specific brand or product. At this point they generally dont want to listen to anything anyone else has to say. There is a specific psychology associated with this type of behavior. They have made their judgement. At this point the main focus becomes imposing their will upon others. Its a no win situation.

    To the OP.Whatever you choose will work fine for you if you use it properly.If you know what you want then simply compare the features and price.Best of luck to you.



  12. #12
    lopflyers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    1,492
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Dx8 to futaba?

    I'll give you $50 to take that piece of trash Spektrum Dx8 out of your hands
    Keep your wings level
    Club Saito Member #693

  13. #13
    5skyhawk172's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Posts
    135
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Dx8 to futaba?

    Have close to 1500 flights on a DX7.  Never any kind of problem at all.  Just make sure you use a 6 volt receiver battery.
    AMA 50764
    Private Pilot Single Engine Land
    1961 Cessna 172 Skyhawk N7445X
    My parents didn't put me in time out, they whooped my ass!
    Sig Kadet Brotherhood #5
    Sig Brotherhood #16
    Cub Brotherhood #160
    Glow Head Brotherhood #9

  14. #14

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Cape Town, SOUTH AFRICA
    Posts
    2,742
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Dx8 to futaba?


    ORIGINAL: rmh

    Based on your comments - it isn't the equipment which is the issue
    Unfortunately you have apparantly convinced yourself that the equipment is the issue.
    FWIW - the old "two minutes into the flight comment is a classic - which indictes all is well until power runs out
    I have setup way over one hundred of these Spektrum models - some for other fliers
    No problems such as you note.
    Whomever your expert is - you might do well to start over with someone who really understand power setups and rx application and positioning - .

    ah the usual sarcy , evasive, condescending responce from the peanut gallery. Try answering the question without trying to sell your magnetic personality.

    Fatam, you said you're looking into "one of the Futaba 8channel radio's" I completely understand the loss of faith in what you're holding in your hands and thats not going to allow you to enjoy the hobby.

    Ok firstly there is only one 8 channel at the moment and that is the 8J. The other radio, known as the 8FG is actually a 14channel radio but is sold with a R6208SB receiver that allows 8 PWM channels and 14 channels via S.bus.

    There is a $200 price difference yes and this is made up mostly of the following:

    The 8FG is FASST while the 8J is FHSS/S-FHSS
    The 8FG comes with a rechargeable NiMH battery and charger while the 8J does not come with batteries. You can either use 4x1.5V alkaline batteries or buy the optional rechargable battery pack and charger which narrows the price gap considerably.
    The 8FG uses an SD card to store aircraft set up and trim data while the 8J stores in internally probably in flash memory.
    The 8Fg is software updatable while the 8J is not. I'm not sure hwo many more updates the 8FG(S) will receive since the 14SG is effectively building on its platform.
    There is also more subtle programming and functionality differences which can be examined in more detail here:http://www.futabarc.com/systems/feature-compare.html

    Although the 8J is a very capable radio I'd be inclined to splash out the extra and get the 8FG. It is not currently telemetry enabled but RObbe in Germany has developed with Futaba a telemetry box and Rx (R6308SBT) that is designed to provide telemetry for the non FASSTest Futaba radios like the 8FG(S), 10C, 12FG, 12Z, and 14MZ. This box will not work with the 6EX and 7C currently.
    The 8Fg offers quite a lot of flexibility wrt to what it allowa you to do when setting up a plane, glider or helicopter. It does have a bit of a learning curve to it but mostly because it's language is different to other radio's. Its more mathematical in its logic stucture


  15. #15
    fly24-7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    North Aurora, IL
    Posts
    335
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Dx8 to futaba?

    There's a 8J review in one of the recent issues of Model Airplane News or Fly RC. Can't remember which one. Also a review on rcpowermag.com. Basically, TimBle hit the main points above. You get a lot more flexibility with the 8FG. If you don't want to pay the added cost, get the 8J. You won't have a problem finding a buyer for the DX8.
    Never underestimate the importance of altitude...

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Levant, ME
    Posts
    700
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Dx8 to futaba?


    ORIGINAL: TimBle

    I completely understand the loss of faith in what you're holding in your hands and thats not going to allow you to enjoy the hobby.

    I'll agree in that I can understand the concern on the OP's behalf but to loose faith in a radio. although you can't identify the cause of the "accident", is beyond me. Personally I would want to know before trashing something. That's only fair.

    There is a difference in brown out and "signal loss" and to confuse the two is a sign that the person might just not have a full understanding of it to begin with. In the event of the infamous brown out, the radio didn't do it so why loose confidence in the brand of equipment?

    To each his own. I fly both the subject brands and haven't had any issue from either. I certainly wish the OP the best of luck regardless.

    Happy flying boys!

  17. #17
    rmh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    , UT
    Posts
    12,605
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Dx8 to futaba?

    ORIGINAL: Dick T.


    ORIGINAL: rmh

    Based on your comments - it isn't the equipment which is the issue
    Unfortunately you have apparantly convinced yourself that the equipment is the issue.
    FWIW - the old ''two minutes into the flight comment is a classic - which indictes all is well until power runs out
    I have setup way over one hundred of these Spektrum models - some for other fliers
    No problems such as you note.
    Whomever your expert is - you might do well to start over with someone who really understand power setups and rx application and positioning - .
    And he can get another brand radio and no longer worry about receivers ultra sensitive to voltage, need for satellite receivers, tricky positioning of components, BNF stuff that has a high failure rate within a few flights (ask my local HS), tech support saying you didn't hold your tongue right, etc.

    Certainly some modelers do themselves harm but when long time, very experienced modelers suffer the same mysterious Spektrum failures it generates many questions..

    Having setup hundreds (really) of Spektrum models for myself and others - I have yet to find a mystery -
    had two failures -one a battery the other - - a linear BEC in a low power ESC unit. Each took some careful digging around but mysteries are just that - until you resolve the cause - you can't really blame any component .
    If you like another brand and feel it is a fix - have at it - There is nothing mysterious about these things once you do your homework.
    Libby is still watching you

  18. #18

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Holly Springs, NC
    Posts
    63
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Dx8 to futaba?


    ORIGINAL: Fatam

    I lost two planes in two weeks do to the lovely spektrum brownout. Selling my dx8 and going to buy one of the 8 channel futabas. I fly .40 and .60 size nitro planes. The $200 for the price difference is huge. I can't seem to find anything as far as reviews on the 8j. Thanks guys!
    I'm a sport flier and upgraded to the 8J about 1 month ago. For me personally it is a fantastic radio. The receivers in the S-FHSS line by Futaba are very well priced compared to the other big brands. The 8J or the 8FG either way are winners.

    Good Luck


  19. #19
    clearblue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Urbana, IL
    Posts
    115
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Dx8 to futaba?

    I have had the very same ordeal with the spektrum brown out! I lost a G.S. P 51. DX 7 / AR 7000 RX. I talked with the head of product support, person to person at Horizon the next day. He asked for all my RX’s, So went home pulled all my RX’s, And they replaced everyone of them No charge. Great product support, right? They said it could have been my carbon prop cutting down the signal? Could have been a brown out, Or the type 7000 I had could take up to 8 second to re connect if the signal was lost? trust me, you don’t have eight seconds flying 90 MPH at less that a hundred feet up! I flew this plane for two years with a ton of flights in over three states. I never once didn’t feel 100% in control. then one day my bird was on her back hunting the ground at 90 MPH. It was back to smaller than kit size in mere seconds! I do find it questionable that they β€œ Spektrum” are on their 3rd or 4th generation of how the transmitter talks to the receiver. I’ve read a bunch of online articles and forums about this. I came to the conclusion to change over to Futaba. I purchased a 10CAH 2.4 Faast system. I have been flying on this Fasst set up all year now and So far so good! So Fatam, I came to the same conclusion you did! Fatam, I Switched.
    Oh No dear, I\'\'ve had that for a while!

  20. #20

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Modesto, CA
    Posts
    30
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Dx8 to futaba?

    Fatam,
    Iam not convinced. Could you post some detailed information? What makes you suspect the two plane crashes were related? Or due to a "brown out"?

    - Allan B
    Cub Brotherhood #180

  21. #21
    rmh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    , UT
    Posts
    12,605
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Dx8 to futaba?


    ORIGINAL: clearblue

    I have had the very same ordeal with the spektrum brown out! I lost a G.S. P 51. DX 7 / AR 7000 RX. I talked with the head of product support, person to person at Horizon the next day. He asked for all my RX’s, So went home pulled all my RX’s, And they replaced everyone of them No charge. Great product support, right? They said it could have been my carbon prop cutting down the signal? Could have been a brown out, Or the type 7000 I had could take up to 8 second to re connect if the signal was lost? trust me, you don’t have eight seconds flying 90 MPH at less that a hundred feet up! I flew this plane for two years with a ton of flights in over three states. I never once didn’t feel 100% in control. then one day my bird was on her back hunting the ground at 90 MPH. It was back to smaller than kit size in mere seconds! I do find it questionable that they β€œ Spektrum” are on their 3rd or 4th generation of how the transmitter talks to the receiver. I’ve read a bunch of online articles and forums about this. I came to the conclusion to change over to Futaba. I purchased a 10CAH 2.4 Faast system. I have been flying on this Fasst set up all year now and So far so good! So Fatam, I came to the same conclusion you did! Fatam, I Switched.
    Carbon prop problem?
    frankly your story is a bit over the top-
    Libby is still watching you

  22. #22

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Warren, MI
    Posts
    49
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Dx8 to futaba?

    Hi,

    I had to compare too, I upgraded from 72 Hitec Flash 5 last year. I was looking at the same radios...along with Spektrum. I ended up with the 7c. I only fly 4-5 channel using .40 aircraft. I am VERY happy. Installed LiFe TX battery and enjoy the FAAST technology.

    I did not want to spend too much on a radio and I dont need features. The radio transmitter models will be updated sometime and I will spend the money on the next generation of radios. Until then...I am happily keeping my 7c. I have 6 planes/RX's and never had a problem.

    Clear skies to all of you.

    Good luck!

    PD

  23. #23
    clearblue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Urbana, IL
    Posts
    115
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Dx8 to futaba?


    ORIGINAL: rmh


    ORIGINAL: clearblue

    I have had the very same ordeal with the spektrum brown out! I lost a G.S. P 51. DX 7 / AR 7000 RX. I talked with the head of product support, person to person at Horizon the next day. He asked for all my RX’s, So went home pulled all my RX’s, And they replaced everyone of them No charge. Great product support, right? They said it could have been my carbon prop cutting down the signal? Could have been a brown out, Or the type 7000 I had could take up to 8 second to re connect if the signal was lost? trust me, you don’t have eight seconds flying 90 MPH at less that a hundred feet up! I flew this plane for two years with a ton of flights in over three states. I never once didn’t feel 100% in control. then one day my bird was on her back hunting the ground at 90 MPH. It was back to smaller than kit size in mere seconds! I do find it questionable that they β€œ Spektrum” are on their 3rd or 4th generation of how the transmitter talks to the receiver. I’ve read a bunch of online articles and forums about this. I came to the conclusion to change over to Futaba. I purchased a 10CAH 2.4 Faast system. I have been flying on this Fasst set up all year now and So far so good! So Fatam, I came to the same conclusion you did! Fatam, I Switched.
    Carbon prop problem?
    frankly your story is a bit over the top-
    Over the top? Call Mr Pool at Horizon! Plus why do you think they make a AR 9310 or 9300 " carbon Fuse" RX ???? Ya, I made up the whole story, NOT!
    Oh No dear, I\'\'ve had that for a while!

  24. #24
    rmh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    , UT
    Posts
    12,605
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Dx8 to futaba?

    Carbon prop - -you mentioned - not carbon fuselqge -a BIG difference .
    also the rx setup you mentioned -long reboot-goes back a number of years . 3rd fourth generation protocol?
    I missed a couple of those As for the stories on line - some are as fanciful as Snow White
    Your story is simply too full of holes to be acceptable .
    Libby is still watching you

  25. #25

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Browns Mills, NJ
    Posts
    74
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Dx8 to futaba?

    There is a recall on certain DX8's. Go to their website and check the code on your radio. I good friend at my club lost a plane and almost another. He sent theTX in and the findings from the inspection found a faulty RF board in the TX. Another flyer at my club is having some of the same issues, but I have not heard what has come of his problems with his DX8. I personnally use a DX6 and have had no problems with it, but for my prized and expensive airframes I rely on Futaba. I guess I am a little bias, but I have been using Futaba scince 1990 and have never had an issue.Anyway keep your wings level.

    Buzz


Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:13 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.