RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

help with wiring my reciver

Reply
Old 11-05-2012, 05:29 PM
  #1
joshrc110
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: conway, AR
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default help with wiring my reciver

sorry im new here and not sure if im even in the right spot.... but i need help..

im trying to use my e-sky fm 6 channel receiver and my emax cf2822 but i have no clue how to wire it... i also have a hk-hw20a esc.. can anyone help me with a diagram maybe?
joshrc110 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 06:12 PM
  #2
joshrc110
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: conway, AR
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: help with wiring my reciver

anyone please

joshrc110 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:31 PM
  #3
Aerocal
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sanger, CA
Posts: 427
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: help with wiring my reciver

Plug the 3 wires from the motor into the big wires on the ESC.Plug the servo lead from the ESC into the throttle channel on the Rx.If it runs backwards swap 2 of the motor wires.

Aerocal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:34 PM
  #4
joshrc110
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: conway, AR
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: help with wiring my reciver

thanks for the reply my wire coming from the esc is 3 wire and my throttle is 2 wire?

joshrc110 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:46 PM
  #5
harttvboy04
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Norwalk, CT
Posts: 104
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: help with wiring my reciver


Quote:
ORIGINAL: joshrc110

thanks for the reply my wire coming from the esc is 3 wire and my throttle is 2 wire?

http://www.castlecreations.com/produ...ro_wiring.html

That should do it

Best,

Chris

harttvboy04 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:49 PM
  #6
joshrc110
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: conway, AR
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: help with wiring my reciver

thanks once more iv followed that diagram to the T and un did the red wire from the esc lead so i have a 2 wire plug now one white wire and one black red is disconnected. when i plug it in to my throttle port the motor beeps and does not move?
joshrc110 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:55 PM
  #7
joshrc110
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: conway, AR
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: help with wiring my reciver

i tryed another motor and still nothing and i think the beeping is coming from the esc

joshrc110 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 08:08 PM
  #8
joshrc110
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: conway, AR
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: help with wiring my reciver

ok so when i plug in the esc to the battary i get 3 beeps like a lil song type beep beep beep ? but motor will not respond

joshrc110 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 08:24 PM
  #9
joshrc110
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: conway, AR
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: help with wiring my reciver

here are the pics of the components im using and im also using a 11.1v 800mAh 3 cell li-po battery..
im not getting any moving from any motors and when i plug in the battery i get a beep beep beep song like sound. but no more beeping after the start up
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Rw57390.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	17.6 KB
ID:	1818009  
Attached Images
  
joshrc110 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 11:19 PM
  #10
harttvboy04
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Norwalk, CT
Posts: 104
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: help with wiring my reciver

Reconnect that wire - it is supplying power to your rx. Be careful! Your system is not arming because it does not sense the throttle channel properly- check your TZ and make sure the throttle is all the way down and trim all the way back- if not go all the way up and trim up on throttle- if it arms then the throttle is reversed. Do this with no prop on to be safe!

best,

chris
harttvboy04 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 11:27 PM
  #11
Jefferey
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: , AK
Posts: 5
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: help with wiring my reciver

Follow these instructions :-
1. Mount the receiver with servo tape, away from areas of heavy vibration, such as the motor or main gear.
2. Wrap the antenna wire around the landing skids for best possible reception, and secure it with a zip-tie.
3. Connect the roll servo, located to the left of the main shaft, to channel 1 on the receiver.
4. Connect the pitch servo (usually mounted facing the tail) to channel 2.
5. Attach the ESC (electronic speed controller) servo lead to channel 3.
6. Connect the gyro and tail servo to channel 4 (they share one channel).
7. Plug in the last remaining swash plate servo to channel 6.
8. Wrap all wires to the model frame using zip-ties every few inches.
Jefferey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 05:15 AM
  #12
aghost
 
aghost's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Amarillo, TX
Posts: 1,194
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: help with wiring my reciver

Joshrc: The beeps are trying to tell you something. The ESC instructions should have a list of beep signals and what they mean.
aghost is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 11:21 AM
  #13
joshrc110
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: conway, AR
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: help with wiring my reciver

i fixed it i had to do the 4 in 1 hack and got it all working right but now im having an issue with my motor not spinning up to full speed?
joshrc110 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:08 PM
  #14
rgburrill
 
rgburrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Trumbull, CT
Posts: 1,698
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: help with wiring my reciver

I don't know what you mean by the "4 in 1 hack" or why you show two receivers in the photos but the wiring diagram above has a problem if you do not have a separate BEC.  That diagram shows your receiver power coming from the separate BEC instead of the BEC from the ESC - that is why you need to reconnect it - and get rid of the second receiver.
Also, the "ratings" on the HK ESC show 18 Amp max and 2-3S cells.  What that probably means is 18Amps at 2S and 12Amps at 3S (same wattage).  Your motor takes about 16Amp for max speed. so it will not quite get there with that ESC.
rgburrill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 01:23 PM
  #15
joshrc110
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: conway, AR
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: help with wiring my reciver

i had to do the 4in1 hack to my esky reciver that is in the pic.. it was for my heli but im scraping this all together and getting a new tx and rx
joshrc110 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 05:23 PM
  #16
Aerocal
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sanger, CA
Posts: 427
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: help with wiring my reciver

Glad to see you got it all basically going.The beeps you hear actually come from the motor itself.The ESC puts out pulse that makes the motor windings create sound.
If its not sending full power to the motor the ESC may need calibration.Double check the instructions for your specific ESC but calibration is generally done by powering it up at full stick.Then when you hear the tones it has recorded the full stick position so you immediately move the stick to low position and it will make some more tones then arm itself.Usually its a good idea to make sure the throttle trim is recentered before calibration so the ESC calibrates to a no trim low stick position.

You didnt say how many cells you are running this setup on.I have read that this ESC has a premature cutoff issue when running it with 2cell LiPo(2S).They work fine on 3S.
Aerocal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 05:53 PM
  #17
joshrc110
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: conway, AR
Posts: 30
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: help with wiring my reciver

ya its a 3s.. but im changing everything now to a new tx and rx witch is hitec optic 6 tx and hitec superslim rx but atm im having trouble gettin the tx and rx linked 
joshrc110 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:49 PM.